Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Wargaming Compendium
Its sad I know, but I can say that I bought my first wargames figures on 1st January 1974. They were Hinchliffe ECW pikemen; so I have seen a fair number of books, magazines, figure ranges, fads, periods and what might reasonably be termed "tribal allegiances" come and go. One thing that the Hobby has lacked is a reference work that will be of value to anyone...
Published 19 months ago by Stephen Sumption

versus
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Digital Edition is Good Value
Henry Hyde writes in the conversational style of 'Old School' Wargamers such as Charles Grant senior and Donald Featherstone and is easy to read. He clearly has a passion for, and deep knowledge of, the subject.

Has he provided 'something for everyone' as has been suggested in earlier reviews? The answer is 'Yes' although there is more in this book for the...
Published 14 months ago by CLBJ


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Digital Edition is Good Value, 22 Jan. 2014
Henry Hyde writes in the conversational style of 'Old School' Wargamers such as Charles Grant senior and Donald Featherstone and is easy to read. He clearly has a passion for, and deep knowledge of, the subject.

Has he provided 'something for everyone' as has been suggested in earlier reviews? The answer is 'Yes' although there is more in this book for the newcomer to the hobby than the seasoned veteran. For this reason I might be cautious about paying list price for a paper copy and I wonder whether newcomers would feel the same.

Where the book comes into it's own is the fact that I was able to buy it as a e-book (discounted to boot!). Whilst there were some issues with the layout of some pictures and diagrams, these were frustrating but not insurmountable and can be rectified with relative ease should the publishers wish. This was the cause of the mid range rating for the book.

What did work were the annotations and hyperlinks which took you to the intended locations. As a reference guide this book has more to commend it than you may think and I would recommend the digital version for this extra functionality that additionally increases the books appeal to a wider audience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Wargaming Compendium, 2 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wargaming Compendium (Hardcover)
Its sad I know, but I can say that I bought my first wargames figures on 1st January 1974. They were Hinchliffe ECW pikemen; so I have seen a fair number of books, magazines, figure ranges, fads, periods and what might reasonably be termed "tribal allegiances" come and go. One thing that the Hobby has lacked is a reference work that will be of value to anyone involved or interested in wargaming that is of general application , rather than "period specific", yet not so broad brush as to be of little use. This book provides, in one place, an exceptionally useful and helpful source of information for anyone interested in the hobby whether they are just mildly interested or have been involved for some time. It is not only the individual chapters on collecting armies and choosing periods or scale that are interesting and useful but the "Resources" chapter which will help the reader to track down figure and terrain manufacturers. Overall this is a book that I have already used for reference and will undoubtedly do so again. One for the Christmas list, if you haven't already bought it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's all in there!, 6 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wargaming Compendium (Hardcover)
I've been waiting for this book for a while and now that it arrived it didn't disappoint. You can see that the guy is not only an incredibly knowledgable and well-connected wargaming afficinado but also a competent graphic designer because the book looks current and pleasant through and through. The writing style is rather smart and casual; certainly not a dry read, and if you heard the author talk about the subject you can easily imagine him speaking the words written in the text. It is a very UK-centric work but then if you are familiar with miniature games you are used to that.

There are chapters to cover almost every aspect of wargaming in such a way that it's basic (as in "not getting lost in a certain aspect or detail") but thorough. In this regard it's as much the one-stop, go-to collection of wargaming concepts as can get. It certainly does what it says on the tin - it's a compendium. If you will you could think of it as a collection of actually useful articles from a loooooong run of a wargaming magazine. And I think I'm not too far off given that the author is the editor of Miniature Wargames. Still, it's all original content, compiled for the book especially with original photos and illustrations even.

I think it's not meant to be read in one go (even though a few very nice days could be spent doing so) but rather than that you go to a specific chapter for reading up on specific purposes. I tried to read the whole thing from beginning to end but didn't manage to do so because I got distracted by the gorgeous pictures.
I think that it's very handy for newcomers to the world of miniatures wargaming just as much as it is to people who just want to take a peek beyond the big "mainstream" GW/PPP/Battlefront games. People who have been into wargaming for a while will also find some food for thought and interesting infos along with some outstanding bits.

It's just a complete work covering all the aspects of this glorious hobby. It even goes into miniatures photography and blogging about your little lead soldiers. Overall, well worth the wait, well worth buying if you're just in the slightest interested in miniatures wargaming.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must For All Wargamers, Young and Old, 6 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wargaming Compendium (Hardcover)
This book was eagerly anticipated but the product more than lived up to my expectations. It is a quality product, in both look and feel, and a must have for wargamers of every age, experience and ability. It will be viewed as a wargaming classic with the likes of Featherstone and long after Mr Hyde has shed his mortal coil.

Definitely, undeniably, it would be more useful to beginners but its actually nice to have everything in one book for us veterans and there is stuff in there about painting figures, making terrain and scenery and even some rules plus lots of other gems. It is a veritable fountain of knowledge.

I rationalised it as I spend up to £20 on rules that I might or might not play, here is a useful book which I will dip into for years to come. A no brainer really for me. I've read the book cover to cover and it now sits by my bedside to be dipped into when my wargaming enthusiasm might wane.

Inspirational, at times witty, but essential.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent book, 27 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wargaming Compendium (Hardcover)
I have not enjoyed a book about wargaming so much, since discovering Donald Featherstone and the 'Airfix' book range in my local library some 40 years ago. I would spend many happy hours studying those books as a 12 year old and now I have the book that will allow me to obsess once again (although now, as a fifty-something obsessive). An absolutely beautiful book that will be a source of reference for years to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent book for understanding the hobby, 6 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wargaming Compendium (Hardcover)
First thing I noticed was that this book was a lot bigger than I was expecting for the price, even the retail price. It is a sheer joy to read. Mr Hyde approaches his subject as a work of love, communicating the history (although from a mostly UK pov), the fashions, and the sheer pleasure of a hobby that might seem inexplicable to outsiders.

The writing style is very clear, and straightforward and manages to treat the reader as an intelligent human being. He has managed to steer the difficult path of having a book that will be of interest to newcomers as well as old hands.

In this book you can find out what has been done before, and why, and what the strengths and drawbacks were. There are lots of quite superb photographs so that you can always dip into this again for the sheer pleasure of the visual experience.

The book itself is of good, physical quality and I think that this will be one of the books people refer to in years to come when talking about the classic works on the subject
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Featherstone for the current generation..., 3 Aug. 2013
By 
This review is from: The Wargaming Compendium (Hardcover)
Henry Hyde's labour of love fills a gap in the literature - returning to the books of the 1970s and 1980s which attempted a comprehensive introduction to the hobby of tabletop miniatures wargaming. This is a beautifully crafted effort to describe the current gaming scene and one which has paid off handsomely, well laid out and covering almost everything you could think of that the beginner would need to know (as well as some stuff which I didn't know, even as an old hand). With an admitted UK focus it covers gaming in the digital age and includes some excellent photos, as well as a brand new horse and musket rule set. Every gamer should put this on their wish list, and if you have even a passing interest in gaming with miniatures this would be the perfect introduction to the hobby.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More than pleased., 5 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wargaming Compendium (Hardcover)
I'll be honest and say I only brought this book as I had some vouchers I needed to spend. Another member of my club recommend this book , so I thought I would give it a shot.

I am very glad I did. This title has something to offer anyone interested in wargaming, wether just starting out or having gamed for years. Even my first flick through had convinced me, that I will be coming back to this book again and again.

It truly does cover every aspect of the hobby and is pitched at just the right level.

If you know someone into wargaming you have just found their Christmas present. If you're the one into wargaming, make sure you tell Santa.

The only potential issue is some of the prices quoted in the text will know doubt become out of date at some point. Nothing that a second edition will not fix.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Very Good Book About Wargaming, Particularly for the Beginner, 7 April 2014
By 
JWH (East Midlands, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
There is much to like about this book. Physically, the hardback is a thing of beauty, being very well designed and full of excellent pictures of wargames in progress, model soldiers and model terrain (I have the first Kindle edition too and there were several formatting problems in that; the hardback is magnificent though). It genuinely does contain pretty much everything that someone who wanted to get started in wargaming would need to know, particularly wargaming based upon historical conflicts rather than fantasy or science-fiction. It features an explanation of what the hobby is and how it has developed over time. It contains brief explanations of each of the 'periods' of history and their appeal for the gamer. It describes in some detail how to make many of the different kinds of terrain that one could want to create a battlefield to fight over, then it describes how a beginner might start to assemble and paint and base some appropriate models. The book contains a number of different rules: a set of 'duelling' rules set in the Roman period for gladiatorial combat; a set of skirmish rules set in the 'Wild West', and a full set of battle rules for the 'horse and musket' period (about 1685 - 1850 or so). These rules appear to be reasonably comprehensive, and on read through only, seem clear enough to follow and easy enough to use. They seem to me to resemble Rick Priestley's 'Black Powder' rules to some extent. There is also a set of campaign (i.e. the conduct of the 'war' on a map between miniatures battles being fought on a tabletop) rules included and they look very good. All these rules are well-illustrated and explained, so an enthusiastic reader should be able to follow them unaided.

The book then rounds up all the aspects of wargaming not covered so far: naval and aerial games, role-playing games (the combat orientated ones), pulp wargaming, multi-player games and solo wargaming. This latter is covered in some detail and as a large numberof miniature gamers end up playing at least some games solitaire, then this was a very wise authorial decision. The author is clearly a skilled photographer too and goes into some detail about how to photograph miniatures to their best advantage. The book is then rounded off with a summary of the online and other resources out there to help the wargamer to obtain models and reference material.

The book is very well written and the author always comes across as both knowledgeable and enthusiastic. It seems designed to replicate the spirit of many of the wargames 'classics' from the 1960s and 1970s and in those terms, the writer has done an excellent job and this work matches up very favourably to those volumes, particularly as inspiration for the beginner. Where the book is less good is for the more experienced wargamer - there will be relatively little in here for that reader's benefit as he or she will already be aware of much of this kind of content. If the reader has subscribed to Battlegames magazine, then the reader will have seen some of this content before. On the other hand, if you haven't been a long-term subscriber to one or more of the wargaming magazines or have pursued this hobby without much input from outside, then this book is a very good repository for lots of key knowledge and techniques. I'd recommend this book wholeheartedly to any beginners who have just taken up, or are considering taking up, the hobby. It is recommended as an interesting and useful book for more experienced gamers, although not quite as vital for those.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars well worth the wait, 27 July 2013
By 
M. Hobbs - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wargaming Compendium (Hardcover)
I've had this book on preorder for an absolute age after hearing the author describe his ideas for the book on a podcast, it arrived a few days ago and I've spent a fair amount of my free time since then absorbed in it.

Wargamers are often describes as sad geeky people with no idea of social etiquette, but Henry shows the world that some wargamers are erridite and able to engage with the wider world with style. The style of writing in this book is informal but clever, it is an easy read and the thing that comes across is the passion Henry has for the subject.

I am only 50 odd pages into the 500+ that make up this weighty volume, however I did spend a long while going through it just looking at the pictures and scanning the contents before I settled down to a serious read. since then I've found it hard to put down, it really is that absorbing.

If you are a wargamer or someone just interested in finding out about the hobby, then I recommend you buy it. However if you have no interest in the hobby and think wargamers are a bit odd then you doubley must buy it as it'll show you that the hobby is worth a second look
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Wargaming Compendium
The Wargaming Compendium by Henry Hyde (Hardcover - 17 July 2013)
£22.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews