Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


40 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thoroughly objective biography
I'm pretty sure that a lot of people like me became interested in Saladin after watching Kingdom of Heaven. While there are quite a few books out there that are written about him, I chose this one because it had the most pages!

However, I am absolutely glad that I purchased this book. Like any good book that is a biography, the elements should not only consist...
Published on 18 Jun 2009 by Mr. M. Hassan

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A jumpy history
I found this book quite confusing. I struggled to keep track of the characters as the story jumped from one city to another. I may read it again when I have more time and see if I can keep up with it more.
Published 5 months ago by DCheyside


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

40 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thoroughly objective biography, 18 Jun 2009
By 
Mr. M. Hassan (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Saladin: Hero of Islam (Hardcover)
I'm pretty sure that a lot of people like me became interested in Saladin after watching Kingdom of Heaven. While there are quite a few books out there that are written about him, I chose this one because it had the most pages!

However, I am absolutely glad that I purchased this book. Like any good book that is a biography, the elements should not only consist of what the candidate had done in their life but, more importantly, how the situation at their time puts into context the significance of their achievements.

You'll appreciate how Saladin was 'destined' to achieve what he had, by reading about his genealogy and how the events of his family helped direct Saladins' life. The book then goes into great detail about Saladins' political life, and when coming towards the end of his life, how he was truly loved by everyone - friends as well as his enemies.

The author uses simple language that never compromises on detail: this is the definitive book on Saladin, the Hero of Islam.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 43 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An excellent volume!, 6 Jun 2007
This review is from: Saladin: Hero of Islam (Hardcover)
Saladin was without a doubt a most extraordinary man and a key character in the Muslim world in the late 1100's. So famous was he for his actions then, that now, several hundred years later, his achievement are legendary and he is still revered by thousands the world over!

This excellent and very readable volume written by a specialist in this period of world history cleverly provides the reader with a fascinating insight into the life and times of this most remarkable man and describes how, as a brilliant soldier and battlefield commander, he rose to power in an area that included Egytpt, Palestine and Syria.

The name Saladin often brings shivers down ones spine, however as this book proves, he was a chivalrous leader who also enjoyed a unequalled political skills and an enviable reputation for mercy after his conquests.

This well written volume includes some excellent black and white photographs and copies of period drawing, maps and paintings. There is a valuable notes section, a glossary of Arabic terms and a detailed bibliography, making it a valuable addition to any ancient history enthusiasts library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a tremendous biography, 15 Aug 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Saladin: Hero of Islam (Hardcover)
most biographies are bought for reference rather than read for pleasure. This one fits into the second category as well as the first.
Highly readable, well researched, an exceptionally good overview of the life and indeed the times of one of the greatest leaders of Islam, one known and admired in the West as much as in his own land.
Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A refreshing look at the crusades, 27 Aug 2011
By 
Mr. A. Mcgregor "Alex" (Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Saladin: Hero of Islam (Paperback)
After years of popular literature and movies that romanticise the Templar Knights and the crusades in general, I wanted to get a more detailed look at the man who ended the era. Whereas most books about the crusades will briefly talk about Saladin, and most will acknowledge the fact that he often showed mercy when his enemy slaughtered their victims, few touch on the huge obstacles he had to overcome to even get in the position as the leader of Islam.

This book does a great job at describing a man who had to fight very hard to achieve greatness. But apart from charting his rise, it also exposes some of his weaknesses; Saladin like all of us wasn't perfect, and this biography doesn't attempt to hide it.

I have read several books on this era now, and while the many unfamiliar titles and names sometimes made it a little hard to follow (hardly the fault of the book!), I thoughroly enjoyed it and would recommend it to anyone interested in the Crusades or the Middle East in general.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good narrative, 15 Dec 2010
This review is from: Saladin: Hero of Islam (Paperback)
The book provides an excellent narrative of the life and military expeditions of this great general and warrior. I strongly recommend it to anyone who wishes to know more about this man and the politics of that era and time.
However the only downside is that sometimes the narrative can get a bit confusing as you have to juggle with numerous characters at one time and there is no glossary page at the beginning or end of the book detailing who each of the main characters are but once you've got your head around who's who then its a good read. Another thing the author failed to mention is the way Saladin cleansed the city of Jerusalem with rose water when he captured it in 1187 in stark contrast to the crusaders upon their entry to the city in 1099 where they massacred thousands of the city's inhabitants to the extent that the blood flowed in the city. Its a minor detail i know but still its a nice thing to have mentioned. But all in all a great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It Brought Tears to My Eyes!, 12 Oct 2010
By 
Abdulla M. Al Qasim (Bahrain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Saladin: Hero of Islam (Paperback)
From the very first chapter in the book I was touched to the pit of my soul by this great man and his legacy to the point of near tears. Upon reading the final chapter about Saladin's death, my tears broke free despite my great efforts at the sad death of this extraordinary man and his life long wish to perform the Haj (pilgrimage to Mecca) but dying before that.

As for the book itself, I felt that if one wanted to get a brief insight as to who this extraordinary man was, one simply has to read the first and last chapters to realize that. The rest of the book details his ascendancy to power and his climatic legacy. The author uses both Islamic and European references to chronicle Saladin's legacy, as reassurance of accuracy, the author did quote Baha-Din Bin Shadad who was Saladin's biographer and most reliable source into his life (which buy the way is a somewhat difficult book to obtain due to the very high demand).

I must warn readers despite the author's great research into the subject and knowledge of Islam, there are some misconceptions and general mistakes when it comes to understanding and interpreting certain actions or teachings of Islam. The most notable of which is in the very first chapter where the author attributes Saladin's more than noble treatment of the captured Christians once he had captured Jerusalem. The author attributes his noble and benevolent generosity to his personal character and failed to realize that this was due to Saladin's strict observance of the rules of war dictated by Islam (a counter argument would naturally be that few others were as he was when they were the victors in war, true but just because some people don't follow the rules doesn't make the rules wrong, it simply means that certain people disregarded the rules). Also, the author makes the assumption that the Koran is the ONLY source of Islamic teachings, it is true that it is the primary source but it is complemented by the teachings of the Prophet Mohammed peace be upon him, which never contradicted the teachings of the Koran, but simply emphasised the intricacies. An example of such an instance is where the author states that Muslims were angered by the fact that a statue of Saladin was carved in his memory and that there is no prohibition in the Koran against statues, but did the author refer to the teachings of the Prophet peace be upon him for the intricacies? It is obvious that he has not, the matter is discussed as clear as day. It is for this reason, and this reason alone, that I have given a four star rating instead of a full five.

Other than that, the author does a great job of revealing many little details on how Islamic culture influenced Europeans during the middle ages, even down to personal hygiene (funny story in the book about that one) I laughed out loud trying to imagine the scene at that time! Also, one of the most emotional moments for me was when Saladin mobilized his army when he head that the Franks had attacked the pilgrims on their way to Mecca, despite agreements not to do so (because back then agreements with the infidel Muslims were void, whereas Saladin honoured his word even with infidels because it was dictated by the teachings of Islam and not out of personal characteristics), and how outraged he was at such an act.

One of THE MOST emotionally stirring books I have ever read about what has got to be ONE OF THE GREATEST men in history. I hope that readers will take into account the points I have listed above about the author's misinterpretations or misconceptions when reading this book which I strongly recommend for anyone who is curious about that era and this truly outstandingly great man.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yes he is a hero, 23 April 2012
This review is from: Saladin: Hero of Islam (Paperback)
Masha'Allah this biography of Salah ad-Din lives up to its high reputation for thoroughness and fairness. I feel inspired and moved by this great warrior's humanity. No wonder even his enemies respected him and western history books, often antagonistic towards victorious non-European warriors (Attila, Genghis Khan, and others), have been kind to him. The author is a great chronicler. This exciting book was hard to put down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great read, truly revolutionary, 23 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A fantastic insight into a great and endearing man who's actions could be creditable as a lost quality of today amongst future leaders. His generosity and his brilliance not only in intelligence but warfare have clearly made him a hero of not just the Islamic culture but the world over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Islamic paragon., 6 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If only the crusaders had been as honest in their dealings with the muslims,as Saladin was with the Christians,there might not be such a large middle-east problem.recommend this book for a thoughtful sight into history from a moslem point of view.Allah Akbar
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very interesting, 31 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very informative depicting the true character of Saladin. A legend of the past and a lover of his creator. A real hero.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Saladin: Hero of Islam
Saladin: Hero of Islam by Geoffrey Hindley (Paperback - 18 Feb 2010)
9.09
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews