Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ground breaking new study
Few battles can have been so written about or, on the face of it, be as well known as the battle of Stalingrad. It is our ostensible familiarity with the events on the Volga in the autumn and winter of 1942 that makes this new book on the battle the more remarkable. Michael K. Jones, already recognised as one of the most innovative of current military historians from his...
Published on 17 May 2007 by David Grummitt

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A fine book, but not flawless
Having read the book I feel it is over-hyped and has too many 5 star reviews.

A good read in its own right and it does tell the story from a welcome Soviet respective. But it should have been called:

Stalingrad: Voices of the surviving Red Army veterans. How the Red Army endured the battle of Stalingrad.

For that is what it is, the...
Published on 10 May 2012 by Gisli Jokull Gislason


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars stalingrad, 27 Nov 2013
This review is from: Stalingrad: How the Red Army Triumphed (Paperback)
Brilliant book, ground level accounts of what happened, and I came away thinking 'My God, how did the Russians turn this around, from being pushed to rivers edge on the banks of the Volga to Mamayev Kurgan being overun. Gripping stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An interesting and informative volume., 26 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
While I have read a lot on this subject , I found it contained material new to me . It was well written and easy to follow.The style and scholarship of the author impressed me enough to add two further titles by him to my kindle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read, 22 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stalingrad: How the Red Army Triumphed (Paperback)
Interesting view of the infamous battle.
Lots of revisions of previous books, following interviews with veterans.
Particularly concentrates on psychological factors - morale, leadership styles etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Useful account of the battle that saved the world, 23 Mar 2010
By 
William Podmore (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Stalingrad: How the Red Army Triumphed (Paperback)
Michael K. Jones, an experienced writer on battles, has written a fine account of Stalingrad, the battle that saved the world. It is based on eyewitness testimony, interviews with veterans of the battle, and the 62nd Army's war diary and combat journals.

Stalin's directive number 227, issued on 28 July 1942, said, "Every commander, soldier and political worker must understand that our resources are not unlimited ... To retreat further would mean the ruin of our country and ourselves. Every new scrap of territory we lose will significantly strengthen the enemy and severely weaken our defence of our Motherland. ... Not a Step Back! This must now be our chief slogan. We must defend to the last drop every position, every metre of Soviet territory, to cling to every shred of Soviet earth and defend it to the utmost."

Lieutenant Anatoly Mereshko, a key member of 62nd Army's HQ staff, said, "Order 227 played a vital part in the battle. It opened the eyes of the army and the people, and showed them the truth of the situation facing the country. It led to the famous slogan at Stalingrad: `There is no land for us beyond the Volga.' We were no longer just fighting for a city. It inspired us to fight for every metre of ground, every bush and river, each little piece of land. Order 227 brought an incredible ferocity to our defence of Stalingrad."

Machine gunner Mikhail Kalinykov said, "To be honest with you, there was considerable uncertainty about the fate of the city - whether we could hold it or not. And yet, after Order 227, we felt that we had to hold out at Stalingrad regardless of that uncertainty - somehow, we had to make our stand there. You see, the soil was now precious to us, and we had to defend every metre of it. It was our promise to the Motherland."

As against Anthony Beevor's vicious lies (in his book Stalingrad) about 62nd Army's commander, Lieutenant-General Vasily Chuikov, Jones shows the qualities of Chuikov's leadership - his toughness in command, his distrust of blueprints, his democratic method of work, his trust in the ordinary soldier, his listening to his soldiers, his leadership by example, his courage (his HQ was always in or near the frontline), his decisiveness, his clear and direct orders, his high demands on both himself and his soldiers, and his ability to motivate his troops. Interestingly, Jones claims that on 14 October 1942 Khrushchev briefly sacked Chuikov. Stalin reinstated him at once.

The Nazi lie was that the Soviet Union won only because of its greater numbers of men and munitions. At Stalingrad the opposite was the case. The Red Army was hugely outnumbered and outgunned and the Nazis also had total command of the air. Yet the Nazis lost - because the Red Army had a better strategy, better tactics (especially in street-fighting) and higher morale.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interested in the Eastern Front? This is a must buy, 5 Feb 2011
An excellent book delving into the minds of the red army as they are forced to defend Stalingrad against impossible odds. Many quotes from soldiers and commanders alike, which until recently have been censored.

If you are interested in this period, or in fact war books, then this must be on your ''to buy now'' list.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Stalingrad: How the Red Army Triumphed, 26 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stalingrad: How the Red Army Triumphed (Paperback)
glad I got it, haven't finished it yet, tells the story as it was, a very interesting read. GET IT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I enjoyed it!, 24 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stalingrad: How the Red Army Triumphed (Paperback)
A very good book which I enjoyed reading! A very good account of a pivotal battle in Ww2 on the Eastern Front
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stalingrad, 25 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Probably the best book ive read about Stalingrad. It really takes you into the heart of the battle. Micheal K Jones is a terrific Author. Well researched, loads of detail, eye witness accounts. What the Red Army soldiers went through is staggering yet they prevailed. Absolutely brilliant i highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 22 Aug 2012
This review is from: Stalingrad: How the Red Army Triumphed (Paperback)
A very interesting and detailed historical account of the battle for Stalingrad.
Easy to read, some of these types of work can be heavy going however this book I did not want to put down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Stalingrad: How the Red Army Triumphed
Stalingrad: How the Red Army Triumphed by Michael K. Jones (Paperback - 21 Jan 2010)
13.30
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews