Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best blade books I have read
Having read many books on the development and typology of swords, I have finally found one that not only has fantastic information, but is a cracking good read as well. Mike Loades has taken his considerable passion and knowledge of the sword to create a work that enables everyone to gain an understanding of it's development, and the men who used them. The perfect mix of...
Published on 28 Jun 2011 by M Cazey

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not really impressed with it
I am myself, historian, sword collector and enthousiast. As such I am constantly on the lookout for new sources that can give me insight into manufacture, use and history of swords from various era. And it is during that search that I stumbled upon this book. Without much further research, I bought it, it did have a quite a few good reviews so I didnt think it could be a...
Published 1 month ago by Oliver


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best blade books I have read, 28 Jun 2011
This review is from: Swords and Swordsmen (Hardcover)
Having read many books on the development and typology of swords, I have finally found one that not only has fantastic information, but is a cracking good read as well. Mike Loades has taken his considerable passion and knowledge of the sword to create a work that enables everyone to gain an understanding of it's development, and the men who used them. The perfect mix of historical background, evolution of design and anecdotal experience, this book is a must read for anyone interested in the most widely used weapon in history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cant Put it Down, 22 Oct 2010
This review is from: Swords and Swordsmen (Hardcover)
Every so often a book comes along that is historically accurate, far ranging and exciting. Swords and Swordsmen is such a book, great value for money, I found it almost impossible to put down.
The pictures are qulity and unique the narrative easy to understand, it is a book that swept me along, lost all track of time.
Thouroughly recommendable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Swords and Swordsman - absoluteley outstanding!!!!!, 7 Dec 2010
By 
L. K. D. SULLIVAN (Warwicks. U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Swords and Swordsmen (Hardcover)
Mike Loades writes with decades of experience in weaponry behind him, and the sword sings through his pages. The history, manufacture and usage of weapons are explained with vivid accuracy, a quirky humour [ Just try the section on the combats between backsword and rapier, especially when Spaniards are involved!], but above all, a lyrical awareness of combat weapons that at times gives a real insight into the past. He describes how a replica viking sword , forged traditionally, flickers a dragon tongue of light along the blade as condesation clears on a cold morning.
My only complaint is that I couldn't put it down and read it non-stop to the break of a bleary dawn! This is destind to become definitive in the study of historic weapons and swordplay.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Once you open it..., 3 Dec 2010
This review is from: Swords and Swordsmen (Hardcover)
Since starting university, I've found the idea of picking up an academic book to sometimes be a bit of a challenge, and something to dread. I've come across books that bog me down with statistics, that waffle on and do a thousand words when one hundred will do. Swords & Swordsmen, is nothing like that. From the first chapter on, it's drawn me in and kept me engaged, and driven me to want to research more into these weapons and into the people that used them with a constant enthusiasm that seems to almost bounce off the page along with illustrations that really get the point across. I'd recommend it to anyone with an interest in weaponry, or... hell, an interest in history in general. 10/10!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A short review - I'll come straight to the point, 3 Nov 2010
This review is from: Swords and Swordsmen (Hardcover)
I have read it and it is a great book. The author's enthusiasm for the subject comes through on every page and the anecdotes of Mike's personal experience with the weapons sets it apart from other history books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Inspiring Work, 23 April 2011
This review is from: Swords and Swordsmen (Hardcover)
This book is a comprehensive and compelling guide to the history of swordsmanship and warfare. I cannot recommend it highly enough to both the student of the sword and the casual reader. Its pages are populated with some familiar and some less familar characters whose lives are interwoven with a sweeping narrative of broader events, perfectly encapsulating the individual's experience in the heat of battle. What really leaps from the page is the author's obvious knowledge, experience and enthusiasm for the subject with many appropriate and entertaining anecdotes. This book goes beyond the detail usually covered in military history books right down to the nitty gritty details of combat - how the swordsman might move his feet or flick his wrist etc. As an avid enthusiast of all things military and historical, all I can say is that this is the book I have always wanted to read! From cover to cover it is informative, entertaining and most of all in keeping with the spirit of the subject. I am sure the individuals mentioned in the book would be honoured that their actions and deeds are recounted with such fondness and admiration.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A real page-turner!, 3 Nov 2010
This review is from: Swords and Swordsmen (Hardcover)
It is probably rare for a book that deals with what to many must be an unknown and specialist subject, namely swords in their various forms, to be so accessible and satisfying. This is a book that invites the reader into the subject, regardless of prior knowledge, and rewards with delightfully painted character studies of a number of historical figures and the swords they wore. This is the great strength of the book that it places what are too frequently museum artefacts into the hands, lives, and destinies of their owners. The broader canvasses place his various characters in their time and capture some significant episodes but the sweat stained hilts and chipped blades are never far away. Here is the sword that may well have been worn by Henry V amidst and against the "very casques (t)hat did affright the air at Agincourt..."; here that of General George Armstrong Custer whilst leading the 7th Michigan Cavalry at Gettysburg. This book will undoubtedly be for many a springboard to further reading, appetites whetted by the characters Loades introduces us to; but for others it will simply be that those glass enclosed museum pieces speak a little louder of their form, their function and their romance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Academic reference and easy read, 3 April 2011
By 
K. Neale (Somerset, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Swords and Swordsmen (Hardcover)
A friend lent this to me and I was anticipating a dry, dull, academic book - quite the opposite. It really is well written and so easy to pick up on page 1 and difficult to put down until the end. For specific reference, it can also be read by dipping into specific chapters, however the story of swords builds through the book.
There is just enough background information on armour, techniques and general life through each section to help put the swords themselves into context and this helps build understanding.
Very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Excellent Read, 16 Feb 2011
This review is from: Swords and Swordsmen (Hardcover)
This book is a fantastic resource for anyone wishing to learn about the history of sword making and metallurgy. Mike has structured the book into chapters surrounding the development of iconic historical swords which allows each sword to be examined in the social and military context of its particular time period. I really enjoyed reading the authors thoughts on fighting techniques and overall weapon effectiveness, shield design & manufacture and the form and function of body armour. An excellent read and a must for any weaponry enthusiast's bookshelf! 5*
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Swords & Swordsmen - a revelation, 28 Dec 2010
This review is from: Swords and Swordsmen (Hardcover)
This new book by one of the worlds foremost experts on the use of arms and armour is a revalation. Rather than just add to the plethora of books on the history of the sword, of which there are many excellent volumes, Mike Loades has taken the decision to personalise the subject by selecting certain classes of swords from over the millenia, weapons which have been associated with certain nations and famous people in particular. Bravo Mike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Swords and Swordsmen
Swords and Swordsmen by Mike Loades (Hardcover - 21 Oct 2010)
£26.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews