Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
14
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
4
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Rhianna Pendragon is the secret child of King Arthur and Queen Guinevere, so secret that even she doesn't know who her parents are. She has been raised in the fairy realm of Avalon but has always dreamt of visiting the world of men. When Merlin arrives in Avalon with Arthur's body it looks like Rhianna will get her wish. Arthur was killed by his nephew Mordred but there is a chance he can be saved - if Rhianna can find the Sword of Light and bring it back to Avalon.

Rhianna sets out for the human realm to search for the sword with her friend Prince Elphin and their magical horses. They aren't the only ones searching for it though and Mordred is determined to do whatever it takes to stop them. He can't risk Rhianna taking control of the Knights of the round table and becoming accepted as King Arthur's heir. Mordred will stop at nothing to claim Camelot and it is up to Rhianna to make sure that doesn't happen.

Although I don't read many children's books I couldn't resist Sword of Light, I've always loved the legend of King Arthur so was looking forward to reading Katherine Roberts' take on it. It was great to see characters we already know and love alongside new ones like Rhianna. She is a strong heroine and I loved the friendship between her and Elphin. It's nice to see how much they care for each other and how they always stand together to fight.

Add in magical horses, knights and a dragon and you have a magical tale full of adventure that is hard to put down. This is the kind of story I would have absolutely loved as a child and still thoroughly enjoyed even as an adult. I'd definitely recommend Sword of Light and I'm looking forward to reading the next instalment of the Pendragon Legacy when it comes out later this year.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2012
I really enjoyed this one. Katherine Roberts has created a world that it's a great pleasure to get lost in. Familiar elements of the Arthur stories are woven seamlessly with the new inventions and children will delight in Rhianna's adventures. It's a treat to see a female protagonist in this kind of novel and, as you can see from the cover, this is not a 'girly' book. I would happily give it to a boy or girl to enjoy.

Rhianna is a fabulous character. At the opening of the book, she doesn't know who she is - she's simply the only human in Avalon, allowing for some 'odd one out' feelings to be explored. As a girl, she faces difficulties in persuading others that she can play an active role in protecting her heritage. She's feisty and determined, in keeping with her unruly red hair, and this can lead her into rashness but she also - sometimes - shows signs of wisdom and cunning in dealing with her enemies.

Her best friend, Prince Elphin of Avalon, accompanies her on her journey into the mortal realm. He is calm and gentle and, as a fairy prince, has magical abilities. He makes a good contrast to Rhianna and allows her a young friend and ally in the uncertain world of mortals, in which she mostly has to deal with adults who (of course) assume they know best.

No review of this book is complete without a mention of the fairy horses ridden by Elphin and Rhianna. These are a brilliant addition, increasing the magic and enchantment in the story, as well as providing the Avalonian pair with more allies. Child readers will love them and dream of their own magical friends, I'm sure.

Overall, this is a tightly-written, classic quest tale with engaging characters and a well thought out premise. There are going to be four in this series, and I will definitely be looking out for the others as they are released.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2012
This is the first book in a new series called The Pendragon Legacy. I'm a massive fan of stories which are set in Arthurian England and I absolutely adore all the legends and tales about King Arthur and his court. I'm always on the lookout for new books on this subject so I was thrilled when I discovered this title.

Katherine Roberts expertly weaves Arthur's story and that of the Knights of the Round Table, Merlin, Mordred and co with a new character, Rhianna Pendragon. Rhianna is the secret child of Arthur and Guinevere who was taken to Avalon by Merlin when she was a baby to protect her from those who don't wish to see an heir to the throne. She also happens to be the only hope against the evil Mordred who is being helped by the wicked Morgan Le Fay. Rhianna isn't alone though, she has her best friend Elphin by her side who is the Prince of Avalon and has a fair share of magic of his own to help guard her. I loved the friendship between Rhianna and Elphin and the fact that they would do anything for each other. I wonder whether the friendship they share will blossom into love later in the series.

The story is tremendously exciting and follows Rhianna's quest to find the Sword Excalibur, the Lance of Truth, the Crown of Dreams and the Holy Grail. Rhianna meets innumerable obstacles along the way but she never gives into defeat and makes a worthy heroine. I would have liked to have seen Rhianna meet Guinevere, but I assume this is being saved for the next book, as is our first encounter with Lancelot who is mentioned but never actually seen in person.

Set in a lost age of chivalry and magic, 'Sword of Light' combines wonderful storytelling with an engrossing tale of Knights, Kings, Queens and Princesses. I found the legend of King Arthur coming alive before my very eyes and I loved every second of reading it. Katherine Roberts has breathed new life into a story which many people are familiar with and for those who aren't, then she's introduced a whole new readership to King Arthur and all the characters of legend. I look forward to getting my hands on the sequel as soon as it's out!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2012
After a lapse in releases, Katherine Roberts has finally made a comeback with The Pendragon Legacy, giving children a new insight into the realm of King Arthur.

When Arthur is slain by his evil cousin Mordred, all hope for the Knights of the Round Table seems lost. Saxons have gathered outside Camelot in an attempt to seize the kingdom (under Mordred's command) and Merlin has lost his spirit in the mists of Avalon, during a crossover that went horribly wrong.

But little does Mordred know, King Arthur and Queen Guinevere had a daughter; a red-headed girl with the heart of a lioness. News of the Pendragon child throws Mordred into a wild panic and his fears of being overthrown entirely take shape: 'Arthur had no daughter! We would have known. [...] Where is she? She must die!'

Rhianna Pendragon is no wimpy damsel. Upon her faithful mist-horse called Alba, she seeks her father's sword, which has been dropped into a lake, protected by a water creature named Nimue. Determined and brave, she defies orders from Arthur's honourable Knights and continues on her quest for the Four Lights. Only they will stand against the darkness and coax her father's soul back into his body at the healing caves of Avalon: 'If Mordred gets his hands on all four lights, both our worlds fall into the dark, and the heroes in our caverns will sleep for ever, their souls lost to Annwn for all time. Do you accept this quest Rhianna Pendragon...?'

Robert's easy flow of words sends the reader bobbing along on waves of contentment. Full of magical elements and bold, young characters to root for, it bears all the enchantment of a fairytale and all the excitement of a good hero story: 'It seems the tales I've been hearing about you are true. You're braver than I thought you'd be...'

There are no long-winded retellings of the legacies we've all grown familiar with, such as Arthur's sword being pulled from the stone and of his companionship with Lancelot and Merlin. But history is subtly infused in Rhianna's journey, as she learns the truth about her identity. This predominantly makes The Sword of Light an entirely new adventure; one that children will no doubt be begging for more of. Roberts never fails to entertain as her Branford Boase award for her first novel Song Quest demonstrated in 2000. Book 2 - The Lance of Truth - couldn't come fast enough.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2012
Sword of Light is an exciting fantasy novel which takes Arthurian legend and carves out for it a whole new journey. This is the Pendragon Legacy.

Rhianna Pendragon is the daughter of King Arthur and Queen Guinevere. But she did not grow up in the mortal world of men. She grew up not knowing her true identity in the land of Avalon, where the fairies live. She was the only human permitted to live there and she dreamt of what it would be like to visit the world of men. Rhianna's best friend is the Prince of Avalon, Elphin. They are a great pair and share a loyal bond.

The story begins with Rhianna and Elphin in Avalon racing their fairy horses. Their fun is interrupted by the arrival of the wizard Merlin. He appears in a boat through the mists to bring Arthur's body to heal in the crystal caverns of the fairy King's palace. But in order to return to health, Arthur will need the magic power of the Sword of Light - Excalibur. Only a person of Pendragon blood can wield the sword and so Rhianna must travel to Camelot and with Merlin's aid retrieve Excalibur from the Lady of the Lake. On her journey Rhianna is accompanied by Elphin and his magic harp and some endearing characters she meets along the way.

The quest, of course, is not as easy as it first appears. The Saxons are waging a war against Camelot and they are under the influence of the Dark Knight Mordred. Injured by Arthur in his final battle, Mordred is determined to take Excalibur for his own. He too is a Pendragon. The story is full of exciting twists and turns. It is full of heroic, chivalric knightly deeds and honour.

This is the book that I've been desperate to add to the school library. All those fans of the TV show Merlin will love this. It takes Arthurian legend and creates a new generation of mythology. The Sword of Light is a story which will enchant readers young and old and have them cheering for the just and valiant future of Camelot. It's fantastic, so accessible, full of delightful magic and is all carried off by a fiery heroine in a man's world. I loved it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2014
I adore this fantasy book,magical,fantasy twirling and superb description and cliff-hangers!You must read this spellbinding book,magical Merlin,evil Mordred,Rhiannas new maid who was Morgan Le Fay's (Morgans mother dead) maid and has a ugly pentacle scar on her cheek,Knights of the round table,Queen Guinevver,Elphin( Rhiannasbest friend who can use magic with his harp)anx a lot more!
You have to read this (if you dont then u will mis out)!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 October 2012
I've always enjoyed reading about the legend of King Arthur, so I was quite excited to receive a copy of Sword of Light by Katherine Roberts.

This is a King Arthur story with a twist, as Arthur's secret daughter takes centre stage. Rhianna Pendragon's parentage has been kept so secret that even she doesn't know who her parents are. She has been raised in the magical realm of Avalon, but always knew that she was different to those there. When Merlin arrives in Avalon with King Arthur's body it is up to her search for the sword of light and bring it back to Avalon to save Arthur.

Rhianna sets out for the human world with her best friend Prince Elphin and two magical horses. However, there is someone else also searching the sword of light and Rhianna and Elphin find themselves trying to reach the sword before the evil Prince Mordred gets there.

I really enjoyed reading this book, it is quite fast paced and keeps you wanting to find out what will happen to Rhianna and Arthur. I am looking forward to reading the next instalment in this series and would highly recommend this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2012
This sets off at a gallop, with a spine tinglingly gruesome introduction to the villainous Mordred as he lies badly wounded after his battle with King Arthur, and plotting revenge against his cousin. It keeps up the pace throughout - there's plenty of action to keep you turning the pages and maintains a plausibility in its characters throughout: there are no unbelievable superheroes here, but very believable, flawed people who undertake heroic tasks.
It's a big, chunky looking book, but not an awkward size to hold: the print is large, it feels nice and looks great - I especially love the creepy looking font used for the chapter titles in those chapters which are about Mordred - and the maps are lovely.
As an adult I thoroughly enjoyed this (and will be buying a copy for my godson) and I know that when I was nine or ten I would have loved it even more.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2012
My eldest daughter discovered Katherine Roberts a good few years ago, devouring her Song Quest books and then the Seven Fabulous Wonders (especially the Great Pyramid Robbery) - this one has now entranced my youngest (who's nine) who absolutely loved Rhianna Pendragon and her elven horse. The book starts after the death of Arthur, when it turns out he has a secret daughter, brought up on the Isle of Avalon. Rhianna's a feisty heroine, and with an assorted cast of friends and a few of King Arthur's knights, as well as the occasional appearance of Merlin, she has to try and get the sword Excalibur before Mordred can get his hands on it and completely destroy Arthur's legacy. There are twists and turns aplenty, and the characters really grow on you as it proceeds - there are lots of nice humerous touches and a few moments of real tension. I'd say its perfect for reading to 7-9 or for older children (9-12) to read themselves. We're both really looking forward to the next one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2012
A great book for fathers and sons to read together. An exciting story to keep boys (and girls) enthralled and looking forward to the next chapter
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.