Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magical and much more.
Seldom if ever can so much valuable knowledge have been packed into such a strikingly original and attractive form. As others have commented, its appeal will span generations, but at the same time will excite and inform children of all ages. The simple, often amusing illustrations have a distinctive charm of their own and will draw otherwise reluctant young minds towards...
Published 7 months ago by Bluecashmere.

versus
9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars THERE ARE SIGNIFICANT ERRORS IN THIS BOOK.
It's a beautiful book, however, so far, we've found it's amalgamated Spain with Portugal and called all of it Spain. Poor old Portugal, historically a most significant land, has been omitted and its map is plastered with references to Spain. The book cannot, thus, be relied upon as an educational tool. We're wondering what other errors we'll find.
Published 10 months ago by John Duerden


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magical and much more., 20 Nov. 2014
By 
Bluecashmere. (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Maps (Hardcover)
Seldom if ever can so much valuable knowledge have been packed into such a strikingly original and attractive form. As others have commented, its appeal will span generations, but at the same time will excite and inform children of all ages. The simple, often amusing illustrations have a distinctive charm of their own and will draw otherwise reluctant young minds towards the more serious content. Yes, it is true, that not every country is covered, but this is not "The Times Atlas", but a great introduction into a world that may well be largely new and in this form certain to enchant. Quite Special.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Maps, 10 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Maps (Hardcover)
This must be the fourth copy of this book I have bought for presents. I am thrilled with it. Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must have book for any bookshelf, 4 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Maps (Hardcover)
Beautiful illustrations and lots for little ones and adults to look at. I love the fact the drawings show what can found in each country and it's quite humorous as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A stunning piece of work, 13 Nov. 2013
This review is from: Maps (Hardcover)
I bought this book for a friend's daughter. It is a stunning piece of work; a perfect educational tool that is fun and well as factual.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely charming and must have book!, 17 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Maps (Hardcover)
Definitely worth 5 stars; this book of hand-drawn maps will delight both old and young. Each map has small pictures and details about the country that will surprise and delight. I bought this as a present, but keep going and dipping in. Quirk drawings, splendid detail, suitable for everyone from 5 - 105!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!, 17 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Maps (Hardcover)
Bought this Map book for my 4yr old daughter- she loves it and I know it will be something which grows with her. It's so beautifully illustrated- a real treasure. Since my first purchase I've bought 4 more for other children and recommended the book to friends!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Maps, 22 April 2015
By 
S Riaz "S Riaz" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Maps (Hardcover)
This is a huge book – and is, undoubtedly, the best atlas I have come across for children. Each map is beautifully drawn and contains not only geographical features, but places of interest, facts, personalities and animals in each country. The double pages at the front of the book combines a map of the world with a contents page. The map of the United Kingdom, for example, has all the rivers and cities you might expect, along with animals, from the red fox to the legendary Loch Ness Monster, famous people, both fictional (Alice in Wonderland and Sherlock Holmes) and real (The Beatles and William Shakespeare), famous buildings and even British traditions, such as afternoon tea and Sunday roast dinners! Although the drawings appeal to young children, there is enough detail that this is also a perfectly useful book for older children too. As your child grows, they will simply notice different things; but the drawings will always entrance. There is so much to explore and enjoy and this is such a lovely resource that I have brought copies as presents again and again. There is also an accompanying “Maps Activity Book” by the same authors, which is well worth buying as a companion volume to this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous - But no map or Ireland for my Irish Children!, 17 Dec. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Maps (Hardcover)
This is a lovely lovely book of maps. I am pleased with it. I am a bit disappointed though because there is no map of the republic or Ireland and my children are Irish, we live in Ireland. Other than that though I would recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A bookshelf must-have!, 6 Oct. 2014
This review is from: Maps (Hardcover)
This book is a hit in our house. My 6 year old studies it for ages and loves the illustrations showing all the different details for each country. The size is a big plus but it loses a star as it doesn't include every country.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gorgeous gift, 23 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Maps (Hardcover)
A beautiful, detailed book and a great Christmas gift for a young boy who is very curious about the world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Maps
Maps by Daniel Mizielinski (Hardcover - 1 Oct. 2013)
£13.60
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews