Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
623
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 August 2013
An amusing account of a police officer's lot. Well written with several laugh out loud moments and a few cringe worthy ones as well. Well worth a read.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 July 2014
Within the first five minutes this book had me laughing out loud. An honest, humorous and intelligent read with lots of interesting facts thrown in the mix, ( I didn't know what a chapeaux was either, I'm glad I'll never live in a hat ;)....) Taking for granted the ridiculous reasons for being called to an emergency, this book was a real eye opener whilst still managing to be upbeat. Well done John Donoghue, a book that can be re-read and still be as funny.

Pamela McMaster
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2012
A really great insight into just what kind of morons our poor police force have to deal with. This book is well written and keeps you interested and focused all the way from start to end with humour and believable truth. Thanks for sharing with us John!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2014
I loved this book so much, some great stories about policing on the front line, it will have you in hysterics! Highly recommended!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2013
absolutely loved this book, it had me laughing from start to finish. would definitely recommend to anyone with a sense of humour.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2014
This book gives a real insight into the police force and its officers. Written with lots of wit, comedy and a fair sprinkling of sarcasm for good measure, it's a real page turner! Five stars all round.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2014
You always think a book isnt going to really make you laugh out loud when someone else says its funny but i was so wrong! There are some real pearlers in here that had me laughing for hours afterwards. This is a real gem!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2014
A year in the working life of a front line Police Officer.
No one told me it would be that funny! The very first page had me laughing out loud and it didn't stop there!
What would win in a fight between a badger and a baboon? was the question asked (and duely answered)

I LOVED this book, I wanted it to go on and on, the laughs came every chapter, there were some very touching moments too.
Highlights for me were 'Butternut bloody squash' and the woman in the queue for food using her handbag in a novel way :)
You just have to read this :)

I will just say, pay no heed to the mean spirited 1 star reviews, a lot of them seem to be about a completely different book. Buy this one and enjoy!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2014
John Donaghue manages to convey the ridiculous nature of the human condition very well with his brief forays into incidents experienced as a front line policeman.
Having a little experience of humanity in all its (sometimes bizarre!) glory, I would recommend this to anyone with a sense of the ridiculous, or just as an affirmation that actually you're really quite normal in comparison!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2014
A great insight into the humour required within the police force. Laugh out loud moments on every page. A must read.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)