Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funny and surprisingly touching
This is a most unusual book. I suppose you would call it semi-autobiographical. It is the life and adventures of an ordinary 'Bobby on the beat' on a nameless part of England.

Much of the the content is screamingly funny as the author recounds a whole series of absurd tales of his dealings with daft criminals, strange colleagues, recalcitrant dogs and all...
Published on 29 Jan. 2010 by William Battersby

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars good read
a good read with a clever insight into what happens on the streets for a police officer. would recommend to you
Published on 17 Feb. 2013 by leymine


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funny and surprisingly touching, 29 Jan. 2010
By 
William Battersby (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Prisoners, Property and Prostitutes: And Other Things Beginning with P (Paperback)
This is a most unusual book. I suppose you would call it semi-autobiographical. It is the life and adventures of an ordinary 'Bobby on the beat' on a nameless part of England.

Much of the the content is screamingly funny as the author recounds a whole series of absurd tales of his dealings with daft criminals, strange colleagues, recalcitrant dogs and all manner of the human flotsam and jetsam that a Policeman has to deal with.

But it is more than just a set of 'funny stories'. The author clearly wrestles with the dilemmas he is faced with as he tries to do an honest job in a very difficult role.

Thoroughly recommended as a highly amusing and original work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Truth About Policing, 17 Dec. 2010
By 
brendanstallard (lilburn, GA, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Prisoners, Property and Prostitutes: And Other Things Beginning with P (Paperback)
As a retired police officer, I am regularly asked "What's it like, in the Job?" I am always reminded how impossible it is to answer that question to someone who has never been "in." I think people expect it to be all running around, guns firing left and right, murders every two minutes.

It isn't that.

What it is, is this book. Every serving and retired officer will recognise this life. The same frustrations, the same idiotic paperwork regime, and the peculiar rank structure. Oh, the legions of the mad, who were on every street corner, and in the stations, when I was serving.

Tom Ratcliffe manages to show the job in an honest light, with plenty of tales of scrapes which made me laugh out loud. He leavens these with genuine touches of decency and goodness, which show an enormous empathy for the public.

A fine book, if you want to know about real police work, read this!

brendan stallard
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very entertaining, 9 Feb. 2010
By 
J. Evans (Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Prisoners, Property and Prostitutes: And Other Things Beginning with P (Paperback)
A clever mix of humour and insight into "real life", I thoroughly enjoyed this book and found it difficult to put down, as did my teenage son who could be heard guffawing out loud as he read it! It has the authentic feel of putting you in the centre of what is happening and there is no sense of the story being embellished for better effect. The author gives a highly articulate insight into regional Police work in its gritty reality, both inside and outside the Police station, whilst managing to see and convey the funny side of his colleagues' mannerisms and behaviour, and retaining a good humoured non-judgmental attitude towards some of the less acceptable activities which he encounters as an inevitable aspect of his job. A must for anyone who thinks life in the Police is "as seen on TV". I look forward to the sequel - I can't believe there isn't more where this came from!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An insight of a "Bobby's" job, 24 Feb. 2010
By 
Bill Berry (Lancashire, England.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Prisoners, Property and Prostitutes: And Other Things Beginning with P (Paperback)
Tom Ratcliffe provides the reader with a well written, candid and hilariously witty insight of his life as he joins the Police Force, taking the reader through his early years as a probationer Constable to becoming a seasoned Bobby.
He offers thought-provoking comments, as he recounts his experiences of the public, colleagues, mentors and the organisation.
Tom also recalls some of the tragic incidents he attended during his service on the frontline, he shows great empathy and gives the reader a taste of the emotion and the "get on with it attitude" not often witnessed outside "The Job".

I couldn't put the book down such is the way it is provocatively written, apart from, that is, when I found myself laughing out loud, which was quite often!

As others have stated, a sequel is a must.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quite simply Superb, 26 Aug. 2010
This review is from: Prisoners, Property and Prostitutes: And Other Things Beginning with P (Paperback)
Upon starting this book, i couldn't put it down, extremely funny, yet sensitive and balanced at the same time a pleasing trait not often exhibited by author's in such subjects as this. Tom really provides an insight into the workings of a grassroots Police Officer from the mid eighties, a time of continuous change both in the methods of Policing and Public expectations and perceptions!
Knowing a little of Tom's career I was left wanting much more of the same particularly his thoughts and observations since the millenium to the present time in other words part deux!
A truly brilliant read, gripping and persistently being tantalised with what was just around the corner!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read!!! :)), 20 Dec. 2010
This review is from: Prisoners, Property and Prostitutes: And Other Things Beginning with P (Paperback)
I came across this book purely by chance. Having previously read books about the police from 'undercover' writers, and enjoyed them, I decided to buy this.
I was instantly hooked in the first chapter, and loved it from then on. The first chapter gives a really good insight to how things may look to us as civilians and how we perceive an incident, but then how it really is, and what really is going on and how its being dealt with by the police. This is an angle I have never come across before in one of these books, and I found it to be such an eye opener. The book then goes on to the the story of how the officer came to join the police, and his following career.
This isn't a book whinging about how it really is in the police, and how they are so misunderstood etc, but a humorous story of this officers career, and the people (goodies and baddies!!), that he has met in this time.
This may also sound silly, but I felt like I was being told this collection of stories by a friend, rather then just reading a story. I could almost hear the mans voice telling the stories, rather then just feeling that this was an unknown persons life story.
I really really did enjoy this book, so much that I have also bought it as a Christmas present for a friend!, and I will continue to recommend this to anyone!
I look forward to the next one!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 18 Feb. 2010
This review is from: Prisoners, Property and Prostitutes: And Other Things Beginning with P (Paperback)
A good book and entertaing read. As an ex police officer I can relate nicely to the subject matter. I have experienced much the same thing as Tom and can see how he left out the more sordid and seedy goings on to keep it entertaining and not to turn peoples stomachs .
Thoroughly enjoyable and a sequel would be good .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant read, 8 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I found the book easy to read and both amusing and informative. I read a lot of Police related books and this really has to be one of the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 8 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A good Insight in to policing but left me wanting more in all a good read with some funny stories
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars prisoners,property and prostitutes, 19 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A true to life and humourous insight in the real world of an everday PC.Makes you laugh out loud.Excellent read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Prisoners, Property and Prostitutes: And Other Things Beginning with P
£8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews