Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential Reading, 19 Mar 2007
By 
C. Groome (Chertsey, Surrey, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I am studying for an MSc in Neuroscience, Language and Communication at UCL and this book is essential reading for anyone studying in that area. It is clearly written and explains everything really well, so that even complicated concepts don't confuse!! Great book :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good introduction, 7 Feb 2009
For any psychology student (Masters or Undergraduate), this is a comprehensive, well-structured first approach to the field. Examples are coherent and illustrations greatly help understanding the sometimes difficult context.

A good basis for dissertation research too, this book is a classic and highly regarded amongst scholars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ward. Cognitive Neuroscience, 19 Jun 2011
This review is from: The Student's Guide to Cognitive Neuroscience, 2nd Edition (Paperback)
A comprehensive introduction to the subject. Ward explains even the more complex concepts concisely and makes excellent use of examples in the literature. I'm beginning a masters in this subject in September and reading this has been a huge help, his recommendations of further reading at the end of each chapter are well chosen and by reading this you already have the tools to understand them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, informative, enlightening!, 12 Nov 2011
This review is from: The Student's Guide to Cognitive Neuroscience, 2nd Edition (Paperback)
N.B. A quick summary of my opinion can be found at the end of this review!

This book was recommended reading for a MSc module on the brain and brain imaging, and I decided to "try it out" using a library-borrowed copy to make sure I wouldn't waste my money if I bought it. After reading a few pages, I was convinced it was worth the money.

Ward is very good in presenting the key information in an attractive and interesting way, without being patronising or leaving out vital details. Every potentially complicated word is clearly defined in glossary tables on each page, and information is accompanied by useful and clear diagrams, which really helped me personally to understand what was written on the page. Ward also applies the information to case studies and at the end of each chapter provides a summary, example essay questions to test what has just been learned, and references to further reading, should the reader wish to follow up the topic discussed.

All in all, I would not only recommend this book to students, both undergraduate and postgraduate, but also lecturers looking for a clear and detailed way of presenting key facts to students (there are also "Online Instructor Resources" free of charge to accompany the book for instructors wishing to use the textbook for their course) and indeed anyone who has an interest in cognitive neuroscience or quite simply how the brain works.

Summary:
Positives - Accessible, interesting, informative, descriptive, attractive presentation of information
Negatives - Hardly any! Perhaps not recommended for anyone who already has a firm understanding of most concepts of cognitive neuroscience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must have on your reading list, 7 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Student's Guide to Cognitive Neuroscience, 2nd Edition (Paperback)
I'm current doing a master in the Psychology of Education. Not coming for a psychology background, this book has greatly helped me with my neuropsychology units.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good Price for Study Book, 31 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Student's Guide to Cognitive Neuroscience, 2nd Edition (Paperback)
I chose this book for my daughter as it is on her very long university reading list. With text books generally being very expensive, this was the best price for a new book I could find. It's nice to feel that you've saved a bit of cash on an expensive item!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 18 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Student's Guide to Cognitive Neuroscience, 2nd Edition (Paperback)
Brilliant! New book and worth reading, However the price is a little bit high. Fast delivery and best quality. Worth buying finally to say.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Highly accessible foundation in cognitive neuroscience, 3 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book was very useful to me as a psychology undergraduate with a keen interest in neuroscience fields of research through my second and third years on the course. It is not very detailed, as is understandable given the broad scope of the subject, but has nevertheless provided a highly accessible reference point for understanding the context of research papers within and beyond the realms of my course.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Buy this book over food, 16 Nov 2012
This review is from: The Student's Guide to Cognitive Neuroscience, 2nd Edition (Paperback)
This is the single best introduction into the world of psychology you will ever, ever find. It covers the biology, the research methods, the cognitive and neuropsychological methods.

I admit that it does ignore the behavioural method a bit but this is essentially a book on cognitive neuroscience so the fact it lulls you into expecting so much from it is only a testiment to how good it is.

If you only ever buy one book through your entire first year this is definitely the one to get (not advised to buy only one book though)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very Useful, 27 Jun 2012
This review is from: The Student's Guide to Cognitive Neuroscience, 2nd Edition (Paperback)
Very useful introduction to Cognitive Neuroscience.
Particularly helpful, though short, explanation of fMRI and it's uses.
I feel that some areas, however, were a bit basic.

Would recommend to final year undergraduates or postgrads.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Student's Guide to Cognitive Neuroscience, 2nd Edition
The Student's Guide to Cognitive Neuroscience, 2nd Edition by Jamie Ward (Paperback - 4 Jan 2010)
£34.08
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews