Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars has a lot of information
The author has managed to dig out all sorts of information. And has also noticed that it is possible that Elizabeth was not only "the mother of the King's son" but followed that with a daughter. Just a few quibbles. And one may have nothing to do with the author, which is that the cover picture is of a little girl called Anna Meyer, which Holbein drew in 1525 before he...
Published on 11 Aug. 2012 by cosmicelk

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bessie Blount - one of the most accomplished women of her time - no rather a typical royal mistress
The author concludes that Bessie Blount was "one of the most accomplished women of her day" (page 288). Quite a statement for a woman largely forgotten. Does this book justify such a conclusion?

Well, the author tries very very hard to support her point, but fails to deliver the arguments. She list Bessie's family connections in length, but she would have been...
Published on 11 May 2012 by Amelrode


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bessie Blount - one of the most accomplished women of her time - no rather a typical royal mistress, 11 May 2012
By 
Amelrode (Vilvoorde) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Bessie Blount: Mistress to Henry VIII (Hardcover)
The author concludes that Bessie Blount was "one of the most accomplished women of her day" (page 288). Quite a statement for a woman largely forgotten. Does this book justify such a conclusion?

Well, the author tries very very hard to support her point, but fails to deliver the arguments. She list Bessie's family connections in length, but she would have been the case for many other members of the gentry. She was not part of the peerage. Her beauty brought her to the King's attention and she became his mistress in the sense of his bedfellow. She was no mistress-en-titre and had no influence. She became the mother of his son, a living son and this was prove that the King was able to produce a living son; so the blame for being without an male heir felt to his Queen Catherine of Aragon. So the general view at the time.

Bessie was quickly discarded, not badly treated at all, married off well and well treated. But that was all. She was in touch with her son, but not at all a major factor in his life. The author makes much about the little signs of royal favor and even more about the fact that she could have been the future King's mother if Henry VIII would have made their son heir. Well, she claims that is one of the big what ifs of history. But it was not and Henry VIII had a high regard for legimate royal blood. With her son's death she more of less disappeared form general history, living the life of a typical wife of two peers of the realm. There was nothing extraodinary about it.

The book gives a wealth of information about Bessie, her family and her two marriages after the end of her affair with the King. I enjoyed learning about these, but they expose excatly who she was and I found it sad that the author tries to make so much more out of her than she really was. Why is this necessary? All this does not support her sweeping conclusion that Bessie Blount was "one of the most accomplished women of her time", trying to put her on an equal footing with Anne Boleyn or Margret Beaufort. No way... She had rather the "career" of a typical mistress - King's mistress, pregnant, discarded, but married off well.

For me this book is a pretty mixed bag: lots of interesting information about Bessie, but the authors tries to make more out of it than really was. So I settle for 3 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 29 Jan. 2014
This review is from: Bessie Blount: Mistress to Henry VIII (Hardcover)
I thought I was going to learn a lot about Bessie herself, but that wasn't so. Really, all I now know is that she was accomplished, pretty, mother of Henry Fitzroy and maybe her daughter was also the daughter of Henry VIII. Elizabeth Norton has done a sterling job in researching just about everything about Bessie's life, but there is very little to find beyond the bare bones. So instead of a biography we have endless padding of lists and lists of 'who's who in Tudor England': relations, friends, land, marriages. It's confusing and largely not about the central subject, who remains in the shadows.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars has a lot of information, 11 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bessie Blount: Mistress to Henry VIII (Hardcover)
The author has managed to dig out all sorts of information. And has also noticed that it is possible that Elizabeth was not only "the mother of the King's son" but followed that with a daughter. Just a few quibbles. And one may have nothing to do with the author, which is that the cover picture is of a little girl called Anna Meyer, which Holbein drew in 1525 before he travelled to England. Has nothing to do with Elizabeth Blount.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Bessie Blount, 25 Oct. 2013
By 
Mrs. D. Hickman (Gornal Wood Dudley West Midlands England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I found that it was not all about her and thats what I wanted. Interesting though about all her family
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars bessie blount by Elizabeth Norton, 17 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bessie Blount: Mistress to Henry VIII (Hardcover)
Very informative. some times too many dates and names.Information about Bessie blount herself vague not due to the fault of Elizabeth Norton, lack of historial evidence even on her son Henry , duke of richmond. Perhaps this information is for a later book. Still written in an excelent maner. Enjoyable and would recomend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Too many dates, 10 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book I tried and tried but there is so many dates, I kept looking for the story. Sorry not for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bessie Blount: Mistress to Henry VIII
Bessie Blount: Mistress to Henry VIII by Elizabeth Norton (Hardcover - 14 Nov. 2011)
£25.00
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews