Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well writtenb and informative.
Having been brought up in an age of heavy engineering, and the steam locomotive, I feel, a great affinity to George and Robert. Now engineering is so specialized that there is little opportunity to "think outside the box", which is exactly what these two men did! George was definitely an intuitive engineer, with very little formal education, whereas Robert's education...
Published on 1 Mar. 2011 by Thomas W. Taylor

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very disappointed
My husband was very disappointed when on receipt of this book it promptly fell to pieces!! He did not get the chance to read any of it. Woild like to order another but very wary in case it does the same.
Published 19 months ago by Sue Severne


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well writtenb and informative., 1 Mar. 2011
By 
Thomas W. Taylor (Barrie, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: George and Robert Stephenson (Paperback)
Having been brought up in an age of heavy engineering, and the steam locomotive, I feel, a great affinity to George and Robert. Now engineering is so specialized that there is little opportunity to "think outside the box", which is exactly what these two men did! George was definitely an intuitive engineer, with very little formal education, whereas Robert's education was more along classical lines in which he was taught to think, rather than remember formulea which seems to be the function of most higher learning today. George had the vision, Robert took the vision and made it work. This book tells how it was, and inspite of all opposition, great advances were made in the fields of railway and civil engineering not to mention the development of the locomotive as a means of motive power. They made a tremendous contribution to the engineering profession. This book describes their trials and tribulations, their successes and failures,and is a MUST for anyone contemplating a career in mechanical;, structural or civil engineeering. I am a Chartered Engineer, a Member of the Institution of Mechanical Engineers, - George's picture is still on the front of Certificate!
Thank you Tom Rolt for putting it all together is a very readable, and informative book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very disappointed, 3 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: George and Robert Stephenson (Paperback)
My husband was very disappointed when on receipt of this book it promptly fell to pieces!! He did not get the chance to read any of it. Woild like to order another but very wary in case it does the same.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tom Rolt, 11 Nov. 2013
By 
Stret "Jes" (The National Forest) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: George and Robert Stephenson (Paperback)
As usual brilliant biography by Tom Rolt. Very much enjoyed the book enjoyed a great deal about early railway engineering
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Content good, quality of printing and binding poor, 3 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: George and Robert Stephenson (Paperback)
The content was fine but the book was badly bound and the first section fell out. In the first section about six pages were not printed i.e. blank sheets. I should have returned it but wanted to read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, readable book but . . ., 6 Mar. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: George and Robert Stephenson (Paperback)
An excellent history of father and son which has answered a question I've had in my mind since I first visited Chesterfield (crooked spire) parish church. ie: How did George Stephenson come to be buried there? A very readable book, even though obviously written before the end of steam traction (quotes like "this continues to be standard practice today").
BUT I had to return my first copy as a section of pages fell out as I reached page 20. Amazon promptly replaced it but I'm now reaching the end of the replacement with crossed fingers that it doesn't fall apart again. The cover has already become detached.
I've reduced the star rating to 3 because I expect even a paperback to stand up to at least 2 readings. Perhaps it's an arguement in favour of the Kindle over the traditional technology!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars information that changed the world., 9 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: George and Robert Stephenson (Paperback)
Great book,very good service,what a tale.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars George & Robert Stephenson, 1 Jan. 2010
This review is from: George and Robert Stephenson (Paperback)
Excellent book. Full of extremely useful information in getting to know George Stephenson in particular as he is sitting on one of the branches of my family tree.

Very pleased with the speed between ordering and delivery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

George and Robert Stephenson
George and Robert Stephenson by L.T.C. Rolt (Paperback - 16 Mar. 2009)
Used & New from: £27.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews