Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (43)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars She helped above and beyond the call of duty - many times over
Judy was indeed a most extraordinary dog by whatever standards - even by human standards - that one cares to judge. Born in the mid-thirties, she spent most of her life among troops aboard ships. In the West, we think of WW 2 as starting in 1939, but it seems that Japan started aggression against China a little earlier - and Judy was on board from quite early on...
Published 3 months ago by Amazon Customer

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars judy -what a story!
A Wonderful and incredible story. Couldn't put the book down until I had finished reading it. Excellent reading. Highly recommended.
Published 4 months ago by Joan Hulley


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars She helped above and beyond the call of duty - many times over, 29 Jun 2014
By 
Peter Durward Harris "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Judy was indeed a most extraordinary dog by whatever standards - even by human standards - that one cares to judge. Born in the mid-thirties, she spent most of her life among troops aboard ships. In the West, we think of WW 2 as starting in 1939, but it seems that Japan started aggression against China a little earlier - and Judy was on board from quite early on.

I learned a lot of things from this book. I didn't know that troop ships habitually had animals (not always dogs) on board, partly to keep up morale but also because some animals could perform other useful tasks. Those other tasks mean that dogs are often chosen as the on-board animal, but other animals have sometimes been chosen instead. It seems that the people who selected Judy were particularly fortunate in their choice. As I know from following horse racing, a potential owner can choose from young animals on whatever criteria they like, but it's no guarantee that the chosen animal lives up to expectations. Judy far exceeded expectations, ending up as a champion, with a medal equivalent to the Victoria Cross to prove it.

The author tells Judy's story and how effective she was at warning troops of impending danger, discussing various incidents in which risked her life for them, as well as other incidents in which the troops risked their lives for her, It seems that both dog and troops were willing to take these risks because each was heavily dependent on the other. The troops quickly leaned to take Judy's barking seriously, especially when it was incessant. She even fooled the enemy once after realizing that her own men were in danger from the Japanese. In a desperate effort to distract the enemy, she resorted to incessant barking, perhaps implying that a tiger was nearby. However, Judy was lying just to cause a distraction. I didn't think dogs were clever enough to think that way.

Through it all, Judy came through to have a peaceful retirement with her master in Tanganyika (now Tanzania), after saving many lives by alerting troops to danger or diverting enemy attention. Yes, Judy helped above and beyond the call of duty - many times over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A story not to be missed., 26 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A brilliant book, telling a poignant story of hope and courage and the unique bond between man and dog under extreme conditions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Personal memory of Judy, 1 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
When I was about five, I was taken to London by my Mother and walking down Oxford Street we were stopped by the PDSA and asked if they could take a photograph of me with this dog, , which happened to be Judy, I have always wanted to get more details of her as I knew only that she was a war dog .
I still have that Photograph and I am very proud of it ,Judy was an old lady by this time but she still had a sparkle in her eyes
Thank you Mr Lewis for for this most memorable book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Judy: A Dog in a million. A brilliant read., 16 Jun 2014
I have just finished reading this harrowing yet at times uplifting story of trust, faith and camaraderie between a wonderful dog and so many men. Damien Lewis has done a thorough job researching, in fact I have ordered one of the books he used to find out more about what these poor POW's endured at the hands of the Japanese during WWll. A wonderful book, as good as his other best seller, War Dog.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An inspiration, 21 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A wonderful book. Judy certainly deserved her medal. She definitely was a dog in a million.
Once in a lifetime a dog comes into your life that is special and unforgettable. Judy saved so many lives because of her courage in a horrendous situation. Loyalty is an amazing thing. God bless you beautiful girl.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars judy -what a story!, 22 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A Wonderful and incredible story. Couldn't put the book down until I had finished reading it. Excellent reading. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars review, 20 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Still reading it but it is so inspirational I love it, very worth buying and I will probably read it a few times over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Difficult to put down, 24 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A lovely book about a very special dog - for history & dog-lovers alike. I don't normally read books of a historical nature but being a dog-lover was drawn to this & thoroughly enjoyed & found it difficult to put down. Obviously sad & shocking in places it is a heartwarming story as the title says.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Being the owner of an English Pointer I was keen to read this book. I must say how amazed I was at this dogs story and the rapport she had with these poor prisoners of war. By the end Iwas reduced to tears. A true tale of surviival by all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A book that will appeal to readers of all ages, 9 July 2014
A moving, inspiring tale that is even more fascinating because it is based on truth. An informative and exciting narrative, Damien Lewis has constructed passages that seamlessly blend his descriptive talents with fact. It's truly a story to get lost in - highly recommended for all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Judy: A Dog in a Million: The Heartwarming Story of WWII's Only Animal Prisoner of War
Used & New from: £11.94
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews