Customer Reviews


55 Reviews
5 star:
 (40)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic fiction debut from this author
Kal has always had a strained relationship with her mother Elena but she never really understood why so when Elena dies it leaves Kal with a whole lot of unanswered questions. Whilst clearing through some of her mother's things she comes across some postcards that her mother had received annually from someone called Susannah, someone she'd never heard of before...
Published 6 months ago by Sharon

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars One I wish I'd missed...
The main character in this book – Kali – you soon come to realise - is a complete idiot. She drags an 18-month old baby from the UK to Canada on a mere whim – she hardly ever appears to feed the baby or changes his nappy and she repeatedly leaves him alone in a strange house, she’s always too scared to 'move' the baby in case she wakes him –...
Published 22 days ago by Mrs. Sally Ann Cossey


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic fiction debut from this author, 16 Feb 2014
By 
Sharon (Wiltshire) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Missing One (Paperback)
Kal has always had a strained relationship with her mother Elena but she never really understood why so when Elena dies it leaves Kal with a whole lot of unanswered questions. Whilst clearing through some of her mother's things she comes across some postcards that her mother had received annually from someone called Susannah, someone she'd never heard of before.

But that's not the only thing on her mind as she suspects that her husband might be in contact with his ex so she needs some time to herself to think things through but what she does next could seriously cost her more than she could ever imagine.

Kal decides to head off on a spur of the moment journey to Vancouver with her toddler son Finn to try and piece together the mystery that was her mother's life...

What follows is a gripping tale full of intrigue as we discover the truth about the life that Elena had kept hidden from Kal for all those years through recollections of her time in California in the 1970s. It didn't help Kal's journey of discovery that her father wasn't exactly forthcoming with answers when she tried to ask him about her mother or that Susannah was not quite the person she thought she was either.

I really felt for Kal who felt like she was losing her mind and beginning to wonder how much of what she's known about her mother was true and how much was fiction.

From the very first page I was drawn in hook, line and sinker and constantly found myself wanting to pick this up and read even when I should really have been doing other work! Through the descriptive writing you get a real feel for the rugged landscape and all the ensuing drama that unfolds, there is simply no other way to describe how I felt about this book than to say I loved it.

A fantastic story from Lucy Atkins, I cannot wait to read more books from her in the future.

I received a review copy of this eBook from the publisher via NetGalley.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow! What a powerful book!, 6 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Missing One (Kindle Edition)
I had no idea what I would be reading about when I first picked up this book - at first I thought it was just going to be another romantic betrayal novel. The author draws you in right from the start, and despite her lengthy descriptive technique which at times I found a little too 'lengthy' she did create a suspense which ultimately made it very challenging to put the book down. Another plus was the whales - my love of Orca's gave this story another dimension for me. Although many readers, like myself would have worked out the secret from her past quite early into the book this does not spoil the final outcome when everything is revealed as there are still a few twists & turns along the way - right until the very end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved this book, vivid, atmospheric, gripping., 17 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Missing One (Paperback)
I havent read a novel so quickly in years- the author had me gripped from the beginning. Loved the detail about being a mum to a toddler, the physical and emotional angles. Thinking again about the story- I'm still there driving from the airport and on the stormy coast of Canada. Cant wait for the author's next book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars One I wish I'd missed..., 30 July 2014
By 
Mrs. Sally Ann Cossey "Sallyann" (Wiltshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Missing One (Kindle Edition)
The main character in this book – Kali – you soon come to realise - is a complete idiot. She drags an 18-month old baby from the UK to Canada on a mere whim – she hardly ever appears to feed the baby or changes his nappy and she repeatedly leaves him alone in a strange house, she’s always too scared to 'move' the baby in case she wakes him – so she leaves him in danger. She books flights to Canada online – but, then can’t remember when the return flight is – didn’t she print off the tickets?!? She waits till her own mother is dead from breast cancer before she decides she needs to know everything about her and why she was so distant from her. She believes her husband is cheating on her – but, won’t let him talk or explain or anything – you’d think she would have learnt a lesson from her mother dying with things left unsaid. She’s completely unstable and incredibly nave – and (lucky for her) appears to have a bottomless pit of a bank account.

The ridiculous situation she finds herself in is entirely of her own making. She doesn’t realise she’s pregnant – even though it isn’t her first pregnancy – she drinks whiskey – then remembers that she’s pregnant. She doesn’t realise she’s being drugged…she’s really quite reckless and irresponsible and probably one of the most irritating characters I have ever had the misfortune to read about – god help her children and her husband (I’d divorce her, get custody of Finn and the unborn baby and run for the hills), and her father (whose pretty annoying himself) and her sister…

In case you’re wondering, I did finish the book – but, only because I was bored and had nothing else to read. It is way too long, overly and unnecessarily descriptive – blah, blah, blah – it goes on and on…and you get more and more annoyed with this stupid woman - and the ending is quite unbelievable!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Booktrail set in Vancouver Island, Canada, 30 July 2014
By 
thebooktrailer (Whereever a book takes us) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Missing One (Paperback)
The setting – Vancouver, Vancouver Island and the Broughton Archipelago
The story of Kali, a woman whose mother has just died of cancer, is going through a difficult time. Having sorted through her things, she finds some postcards which were sent from the same woman on the same day each year. So, she tracks her down to a remote Canadian location. But why is this strange woman so fixated on Kali’s small son Finn.

What she finds out and what happens on her journey to the island is compelling stuff and you are drawn into her emotional and physical journey and the many obstacles she comes across. I often wanted to shout NO!! as she made one bad decision after the other or meets someone and seems naive about the motives of others. But the sympathy for what she gets herself into and why soon makes its appearance. And then some.

Her father has kept an important fact from her in order to protect her, yet it ends up putting her in the gravest danger -

"It is too late to make amends but it is not too late to understand."

As Kali will find out – sometimes that which we keep secret inorder to protect others is the very thing that can destroy us.

The setting – the location of this novel is as central a part of the novel as the story of Kali and her quest to find out the truth. The writing takes you there so cleverly and is so evocative of the archipelago and the sea mist. You can almost taste the salt on your tongue as you read…..

This for me is where the book really excels as I have done so much research on the subject of Orca whales and their natural habitat since reading this novel, anyone would think I am a scientist in training. I am in awe of these creatures and did not know how much suffering we put them through, how they rule the ocean, how they look after their young. In this way, Kali’s journey to protect her son is not unlike the orca we meet in a Seapark early on the book – and its distress in trying to protect its baby. Two mothers desperately putting their own child’s protection above their own. Strong instinct no matter who or what you are.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Certainly worth a read, 8 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Missing One (Paperback)
Definitely a page turner but being a mum myself I did find myself getting a little cross with the main character!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good read!, 7 July 2014
By 
This review is from: The Missing One (Kindle Edition)
This is a really good read. The attention to detail in this book is very good. You can easily picture the characters along with the scene. The story is also very gripping. Highly recommend this book and will be looking for more by this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Family secrets !!, 5 Feb 2014
By 
David H J Ashdown (Wales) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Missing One (Paperback)
An excellent story about how family secrets can lead to tragedy if left untold as Kali embarks on a trip from UK to British Columbia to discover secrets left untold after her mother's death. She is suffering from the trauma of her mother's death as well as the suspicion that her husband is having an affair and makes a snap decision to drop everything and take off with her infant son Finn to try and discover why she and her mother never saw eye to eye. The story is gripping and tense as she arrives in Canada on her voyage of discovery - it only gets a bit unbelievable towards the end but is still worth reading if for no other reason than to teach you not to be too secretive with " family skeletons in cupboards ". Secrets no matter how awful are better shared.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic read! couldn't put it down..., 13 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Missing One (Kindle Edition)
You can't help but turn every page! A great read. Lots of page turning events to keep you reading. Fan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good book!, 11 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Missing One (Paperback)
Really good read. Highly recommended!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Missing One
The Missing One by Lucy Atkins (Paperback - 16 Jan 2014)
2.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews