Customer Reviews


62 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


36 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Refreshing and compelling introduction to some important subjects
As someone who thinks she knows a bit about economics but on occasion feels woefully uninformed, this book is exactly what I was looking for. It is interesting, readable, witty in places and pitched at just the right level - being informative without being patronising. Most importantly it covers all those crucial topics I kind of thought I knew about but didn't really,...
Published on 27 Oct. 2009 by SpikeMilly

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A mishmash.
Like many reference books, “50 Economics Ideas…” meant to familiarise the reader with a selection of “must-known” concepts of economics. I found the ideas ranged from pretty simple ones (e.g. supply and demand rule) to quite complex (e.g. government deficits), which simply could not be covered in a 2-page length essay.

The book...
Published 1 month ago by Lola


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

36 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Refreshing and compelling introduction to some important subjects, 27 Oct. 2009
This review is from: 50 Economics Ideas You Really Need to Know (50 Ideas) (Hardcover)
As someone who thinks she knows a bit about economics but on occasion feels woefully uninformed, this book is exactly what I was looking for. It is interesting, readable, witty in places and pitched at just the right level - being informative without being patronising. Most importantly it covers all those crucial topics I kind of thought I knew about but didn't really, and occasionally ended up feeling slightly clueless in conversations whilst others waxed lyrical about crunches, markets and all the `isms' (insert protection, multilateral, capital etc as required).

At last I can properly understand all those slightly baffling economic phrases that the papers are littered with - stagflation and quantitative easing trip off my tongue. Hurrah! And most importantly I can now play those irritating conversationalists who pretend they know stuff at their own game.

Its clear and concise and easy to dip into. I'm very interested but I'm afraid I don't have time to go digging into massive tomes. I know these are big subjects and there is a lot more to read but as an introduction this is just perfect. Thank you Mr Conway for a refreshing and compelling introduction to a tricky but topical subject!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Current issues explained simply -, 25 May 2010
This review is from: 50 Economics Ideas You Really Need to Know (50 Ideas) (Hardcover)
A really useful book. Simple but not simplistic. Worth passing on to younger people who want to understand issues.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A friendly companion, 28 Oct. 2009
This review is from: 50 Economics Ideas You Really Need to Know (50 Ideas) (Hardcover)
Conway really knows a thing or 50 about economics. The joy of this book though is that whilst it helps 'tick things off' which anyone with half an eye on current affairs and the world around really ought to know, it does so in a chirpy snappy manner which helps to instil a sense of confidence to reflect on, and converse about, ideas which might hitherto have seemed impenetrably esoteric. Moreover, it imparts a great deal of enthusiasm for the subject matter and I feel encouraged and equipped to gain a more comprehensive and in-depth understanding of these key principles of economic theory and analysis.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent primer, 8 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I would recommend that anyone starting a degree or any course / qualification in economics reads this first, and then refers back to it when clarification of a principle is required.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Economics beats Philosophy, 29 April 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 50 Economics Ideas You Really Need to Know (50 Ideas) (Hardcover)
I bought 50 economics ideas having bought the philosophy equivalent a few months ago. I'd rate philosphy 7/10 and this one 9. the ideas are very carefully chosen and the author has that rare ability to take a relatively sophisticated concept and *translate* it into something easily and enjoyably digestable for the layperson.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A mishmash., 15 Mar. 2015
By 
Lola (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: 50 Economics Ideas You Really Need to Know (50 Ideas) (Hardcover)
Like many reference books, “50 Economics Ideas…” meant to familiarise the reader with a selection of “must-known” concepts of economics. I found the ideas ranged from pretty simple ones (e.g. supply and demand rule) to quite complex (e.g. government deficits), which simply could not be covered in a 2-page length essay.

The book does not give any dazzling insights. I doubt you will be able to be a part of dinner conversation that revolves around Keynesianism after having read the book. Chapters offer very short introduction to subjects on which tomes and tomes of studies were written. By all means, you can start with “50 economics ideas…” but don’t stop with it, if you are interested in economics.

I also noticed a few mistakes (grammatical as well as factual)!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lucky Dip, 11 Nov. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 50 Economics Ideas You Really Need to Know (50 Ideas) (Hardcover)
This is a clever series, based on the principle that, with articles only four pages long, no-one is going to get bored. Free to dip in and out of the short chapters, the reader never feels they have `lost the thread' of any complex narrative.

This book briefly looks at such concepts as inflation,unemployment; sovereign debt, budget deficits,exchange rates; bonds, banks, money markets; globalisation,GDP, boom-and-bust; comparative advantage;keynesianism,monetarism.

For my level of understanding, I found that some explanations were perfectly pitched, some redundant, and some beyond me. You may well find a similar pattern . With the daily papers as full as ever of economic riddles, it's good to master at least some of the jargon
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A useful guide, 5 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have read a number of the other books in the '50 Ideas....' series and as with the others this is a really useful guide to some fundamental Economics subjects, which as a layman I knew little about, but wanted to know more of. The topics are well selected, considering the current economic situation, and well explained in a short and concise manner. Not always the most exciting of topics (hence the 4 stars) but a very useful book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ah! So that's why....................., 8 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I enjoyed this book very much - economics isn't easy for us non boffins to get a grip of but this book is very readable and the sequence is logical. A whole raft of ideas that hadn't occured such as 'why price rises / inflation/ unemployment are all necessary' You might not agree with it ( a Marksist friend is still near apoplexy at the ideas)but you WILL learn loads of stuff
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very helpful!!!!, 7 July 2012
If you have no idea about economics, numbers, finance etc, this is a great book for you!! I bought this two years ago when I was studying a MA in International Relations! I was struggling with economics, and finally decided to buy this book to speak the same language with the professor! To say the truth, finally my non-mathematical brain got something!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

50 Economics Ideas You Really Need to Know (50 Ideas)
50 Economics Ideas You Really Need to Know (50 Ideas) by Edmund Conway (Hardcover - 3 Sept. 2009)
Used & New from: £2.59
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews