Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent overview for those new to mental health
This is extremely useful if you are new to mental health. I recommend this as an essential textbook to all my students going on placement or new practitioners starting work in this field. It provides an accessible overview of most of the key issues in mental health rather than being diagnosis-focussed as many texts are. This is the sort of book I wish had been available...
Published on 5 Nov 2005 by Katrina Bannigan

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars general overview
This is a basic but up to date over view of current issues affecting mental health survivors and practitioners. Can point you in a further direction for investigation or research. Easy to understand for beginners but lacks any real depth. Its main short fall for me was the lack of an index at the back however the chapters are short enough to scan through for information.
Published on 7 Feb 2011 by psychsu


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent overview for those new to mental health, 5 Nov 2005
By 
Katrina Bannigan (York United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This is extremely useful if you are new to mental health. I recommend this as an essential textbook to all my students going on placement or new practitioners starting work in this field. It provides an accessible overview of most of the key issues in mental health rather than being diagnosis-focussed as many texts are. This is the sort of book I wish had been available when I was a student.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No Longer Lost in the Minefield of Mental Health!!, 2 Feb 2011
This review is from: Key Concepts in Mental Health (SAGE Key Concepts series) (Paperback)
I'm currently on my first placement as a student social worker and was struggling due to my complete ignorance around everything to do with mental health. I first borrowed this book from the university library and was so impressed that I ordered a copy on here instantly. It's not a weighty tome packed full of complex concepts and lengthy debates. What you get is a compact, informative and accessible little book with summaries of the basic theories and areas of contention in contemporary mental health. I am finding it invaluable in developing a basic knowledge of relevant issues and would recommend it hightly,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Informative, 16 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Key Concepts in Mental Health (SAGE Key Concepts series) (Paperback)
Very readable. Everything is broken down into short chapters, which suits readers with short attention spans like myself. The writer gives several perpectives on each topic. Lots of further readering references at the end of each chapter, which is more useful than putting it all at the end of the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A sound guide to mental health and mental Iillness., 12 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Key Concepts in Mental Health (SAGE Key Concepts series) (Paperback)
An easy to read introduction for students that explains in simple terms the approaches to mental health and mental illness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars GOOD FOR STARTING POINT, 18 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Key Concepts in Mental Health (SAGE Key Concepts series) (Paperback)
Have read several works by Pilgrim, often in partnership with Ann Rogers, and always found them incisive and intelligent with regard to mental health. This is very much a primer, containing short summary chapters on a variety of mental health subjects such as recovery, forensics and the like. Each chapter is short and basically a summary of the debates in these specific areas. They serve more as an opener to deeper reading, with each chapter finishing with recommendations to literature on a deeper level. Similarly, the chapters can be used for revision purposes.
The only caveat is that mental health theory and research moves on rapidly, so, like any work, aspects can become outdated fairly rapidly. However, I found it useful with regard to revising for an Open University mental health course, and recommend it as a condensed read to refresh wider reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, can relate to normal life and easy to use., 13 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Key Concepts in Mental Health (SAGE Key Concepts series) (Paperback)
Easy to use, complements the OU Psychology course I am doing. It is easy to understand and to pick out the specific subjects you need. Enjoyable and not too technical yet interesting for educated person. Can relate to normal life and the stress everyone feels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great, 1 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Key Concepts in Mental Health (SAGE Key Concepts series) (Paperback)
This is alo useful ofr looking at what the health services does and who does what roles. It came very quickly . I was suitably impressed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very Interesting, 29 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Key Concepts in Mental Health (SAGE Key Concepts series) (Paperback)
Excellent course material for those interested in Psychology or health and social care studies. Helped me with research for a university course.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Purchased this for my daughter who is studying A-level psychology, 28 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Key Concepts in Mental Health (SAGE Key Concepts series) (Paperback)
The fact that this book had David Pilgrim's name on it persuaded me to buy it above others. Whilst daughter has only skimmed through it I thought that it was a good broad introductory text into the realms of mental health from a highly credible author with a critical perspective. Would recommend to others studying mental health as part of an a-level /first year undergrad course. It will probably end up on my own bookshelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Key Concepts in Mental Health, 7 Feb 2013
By 
Mrs. A. Harris (Derby, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Key Concepts in Mental Health (SAGE Key Concepts series) (Paperback)
Pilgrim is very good at grasping the important essence of a subject and writing up the concepts in a very readable fashion. Excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Key Concepts in Mental Health (SAGE Key Concepts series)
Key Concepts in Mental Health (SAGE Key Concepts series) by David Pilgrim (Paperback - 13 Nov 2009)
19.90
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews