Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Wossy Is A Great Writer!
Brilliant!!! Loved the story and the fab ending too! The artwork is great too. Reminiscent of Alex Toth crossed with Al Wiliamson. Buy a copy today!
Published 3 months ago by LongJohn

versus
11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Gangsters v vampires v aliens.
A nice concept with some cracking art from Edwards but the problem is that there are too many ideas floating about which ultimately harm the overall story. The first chapter is dialogue heavy which sets the scene for the coming events and is easily the most interesting part of the story. Alas as the story moves on it becomes slightly run of the mill and cliched. Set in...
Published on 9 Sep 2011 by godzilla78


Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Gangsters v vampires v aliens., 9 Sep 2011
By 
godzilla78 (northern ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Turf (Hardcover)
A nice concept with some cracking art from Edwards but the problem is that there are too many ideas floating about which ultimately harm the overall story. The first chapter is dialogue heavy which sets the scene for the coming events and is easily the most interesting part of the story. Alas as the story moves on it becomes slightly run of the mill and cliched. Set in early 20th century New York, the story picks up with a new gang on the block. This gang hail from Eastern Europe and plan to take the city and ultimately the country for themselves. Whilst the gangsters bootleg booze, the new guys want blood. Add into the mix sibling rivalry and a mysterious vampire god, the eastern Europeans plan to make big, big changes. This is only part of the problem as more unexpected visitors arrive in New York only this time they are from another world. But maybe they may just be part of the solution and not the problem and might just be able to help turn the tide.

So all in all the story features many, many interesting ingredients which unfortunately becomes part of the problem with just too many things going on which dilutes the initial impact. The final page possibly gives a hint of things to come should there be a sequel but Ross has already shot down this idea as just a little bit of mischief. It's a bright and positive start for Ross's comic writing career but just a tad cluttered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wossy Is A Great Writer!, 17 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Turf (Hardcover)
Brilliant!!! Loved the story and the fab ending too! The artwork is great too. Reminiscent of Alex Toth crossed with Al Wiliamson. Buy a copy today!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Aliens in a Noir horror? And guess what? It works!, 26 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Turf (Hardcover)
When I first came across this book I thought that whoever came up with combining prohibition-era states, Transylvanian vampires and aliens from outer space must have overdid it. But the drawings seemed interesting enough so I decided to pick it up and confirm my suspicions. And I was proven so wrong. We follow a story of a mob boss who in time of desperate need turns out to be the true heroe in a world where moral rules seem to be a thing of the past. He finds out that his only ally and friend is a visitor from another world who crashed on Earth while running away with some stolen goods. Great action, very cool lines (although I must admit this drawing styl might not please anyone). Definite recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars No where near as good as I wanted it to be., 20 Jan 2014
By 
L. Durbin (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Turf (Kindle Edition)
I really wanted this to be good but I'm afraid I did not find it so. The story failed to engage and although the art was intriguing it did not support the story. I found it too murky and unlear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining, but, weak on characterisation, 22 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Turf (Kindle Edition)
An entertaining read with a colourful story. If you like the period of "gangster New York" you will love this, however, the characters are underdeveloped and the book suffers from this. It's a great looking book and the story is cool so I would not discourage others from reading this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Woss can write, 3 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Turf (Hardcover)
Well I didn't know what to expect from Ross, and the plot seemed convoluted when I heard a bit about it before this hardback release. knowing that Ross was well versed in comics, as well as obscure vampire movies didn't necessarily fill me with confidence, but none the less I thought I would give this one a go. And well hell if it aint pretty good!

Ross knows his artists and Edwards was the perfect choice, getting stuck into the period setting with gusto; he drops one too many backgrounds for my liking, and some of his color selection can be garish at times, but all in all, seriously good. The captions come thick and fast initially, and the background information can be dense, yet Ross pulls it off. The characters are easy to differentiate, with many harboring different motivations from one another, despite having mutual enemy's. The vampires are quite politically complex, which can be confusing at times, but being confused a little is preferable to being bored. And these's plenty going on here to keep the boredom at bay, with alien plots intermingling with prohibition era gangster shenanigans, and bloodthirsty vampires to boot. Mr Ross has done well his first time out, who would have thought a t.v. personality would be such a great writer, and in a serious not comedic sense.

Keep them coming Mr Ross!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wish it was longer..., 23 Oct 2011
This review is from: Turf (Hardcover)
I'd heard about this graphic novel, when Jonathan Ross was a guest on the Chris Moyles Breakfast show. How he discribed the plot was in typical J.R. humour and knowing that he has a real love for the comic genre and Sci-Fi, I thought i'd buy it.

I was not disappointed. This really is a great Graphic Novel. Imagine throwing these movies into a blender, The Untouchables, Interview with a Vampire, District 9, then pouring the mix between the covers of a hardback. That kind of sums up what you get with Turf.

If I had to complain, at a push, I wanted it to be longer as it was such an addictive read that I got to the end quickly, but that's no bad thing! Also, the artwork style was a little too rough at times. Looking at Gregori at the start and how he is drawn at the end, it looks like two different characters. But, this doesn't really distract from the story and overall, the look and style is excellent.

I would recommend this book for any Sci-fi, Jonathan Ross fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Jonathan Ross on comfortable turf ..., 9 Oct 2011
By 
Tony "mezzaninedoor" (GREAT YARMOUTH, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Turf (Hardcover)
Having followed this in Clint I will be buying the collected edition. I'm a sucker like that.
It's difficult to review this as it has great art and plenty of really good ideas, it also mines some familiar comic book tropes as well but overall it is a success and really feels filmic when read as a whole.
For a first effort it makes me want to see more of Jonathan Ross writing and obviously it would be cool to see where his imagination might go with a post modern superhero.
Also worth pointing out that I enjoyed it because of the ideas and storytelling even though I'm bored of vampires.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Runs out of steam, 12 Oct 2011
By 
H. R. B. Smith "H-extra" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Turf (Hardcover)
The initial idea, and artwork start so well, the story builds, but you start to notice that the artwork is less than inspiring, in fact by the end its a problem, this is also what happens with the story which had started so tight becomes a joke, this is a vanity project and i wouldn't be conned into buying and more
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars beginner's luck?, 21 Oct 2011
This review is from: Turf (Hardcover)
not bad rossy, story abit of everything but good and the art work is dandy, yes i will buy his next adventure
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Turf
Turf by Tommy Lee Edwards (Hardcover - 9 Sep 2011)
£15.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews