Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A visual hurricane, 23 Feb 2011
By 
Parka (Singapore) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Sucker Punch: The Art of the Film by Zack Snyder (Hardcover)
Length:: 1:51 Mins

This art book is way thicker than I expected. It's 256 pages in a wide format hardcover. Nice.

Zack Synder's previous films (300, Watchmen, Legend of the Guardian) have a thing for CGI and this latest one is not exception.

This art book (and film) is like a pop culture hurricane. There girls with guns and blades, robots, orcs, castles, machine gun welding giant samurais, dragons, zombies, orcs, castles, theater and brothel. All these are from the vivid imagination of the lead, Babydoll.

The visuals in the book is a mixture of photos and art. There aren't much character art for the girls with the exception for Babydoll which has more (but in manga style). The art is various (few) alternate costumes. What you have is lots of stunning photography that ranges from the I'm-cute-and-I'm-in-an-asylum look to the I'm-going-to-kill-you-with-my-gun-and-dark-eye-shadows portraits. I like the idea large two-page portrait but unfortunately the photos aren't sharp enough at that size.

There are more art for other characters, such as the awesome samurai who likes big guns, Meka (yes, a mecha), soldiers, knights, a generic looking dragon, robots, zombies and orcs who look like cousins from their LOTR counterpart. Other art includes the sets like the castle, the mental institution, cathedral, city and Japanese temple. There are also miscellaneous stuff like the flying bomber and weapons (few). Most of the art looks digitally created.

Commentary is rather sparse other than the captions. Zack Synder seems to be the author. It would be better if there were more insights on the art which is what is lacking.

Overall, the book is a very decent art companion and is well worth the price.

(There are more pictures of the book on my blog. Just visit my Amazon profile for the link.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome artbook, 14 April 2011
By 
This review is from: Sucker Punch: The Art of the Film by Zack Snyder (Hardcover)
When the package arrived from Amazon I first thought that it was a different book because I hadn't expected it to be so big and thick! It's a really nice artbook, beautiful photos and great concept drawings and paintings. The book is divided into chapters of just characters, monsters, Behind-the-scenes and so on, that makes it easy navigate. Even if the movie isn't as good as this book promises, I'm one happy customer, because at least I got a great artbook.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars awsome!!!!, 24 Mar 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sucker Punch: The Art of the Film by Zack Snyder (Hardcover)
loved this book. if you are a art or fashion student, or just luv films, you gonna want/need this book.
every page is full of the exciting footage and screen shots from the film, with various concept designs that will keep you inspired through out.
only down side, the book reveals how the films ends.

frelling awsome, cant wait ta c the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you love the film you must get this book, 29 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sucker Punch: The Art of the Film by Zack Snyder (Hardcover)
Sucker Punch is one of my all time favorite movies. It needs watching a couple of times before you really get the message. Having watched the movie I just had to have this book. I am so green with envy that I do not share the graphics skills of the artists involved in its creation. This book gives fresh insights into the movie and its production. Anyway, I gave it 5 stars because that is what such a beautiful book deserves. I would recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very nicely done., 22 Feb 2013
By 
RexBo (Netherlands) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sucker Punch: The Art of the Film by Zack Snyder (Hardcover)
The layout, the pictures and the print quality are very good. I think that Sucker Punch was an underrated movie, I absolutely loved it. The book does a good job of capturing the different styles of each chapter in the movie. I was expecting more pictures of the girls though, but it's a good publication in any case.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great quality book, 31 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sucker Punch: The Art of the Film by Zack Snyder (Hardcover)
Packed with nice art and photos combined with nicely designed graphic layouts, good size book for the cash, get it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sucker Punch, 3 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sucker Punch: The Art of the Film by Zack Snyder (Hardcover)
Wow, What a Great book,Plenty to keep You interested in, it's very colourful, well worth the money. If you haven't seen this film, go see it.. I give top mark's on this book. !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply gorgeous, 28 Mar 2012
By 
P. M. Egan (Tamworth) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sucker Punch: The Art of the Film by Zack Snyder (Hardcover)
Such a beautifully visual book of a stunningly visual film. It provides a great insight to the creativity behind the film. Maybe I am biased because of the lead girls, especially Amber; but I am but a man.
One puzzle is that the inside cover says the book sleeve should have been signed by the Zack Snyder, but there was no sleeve when the book arrived - strange.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Sucker Punched!!, 10 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sucker Punch: The Art of the Film by Zack Snyder (Hardcover)
This sucker was punched by the book. But in a really terrific way. The lay out is amazing, the photo's beautful and background information nice to know. For me the visual part, as in the movie, is a definate pearl to own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars quick, 21 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sucker Punch: The Art of the Film by Zack Snyder (Hardcover)
bloody hell what more can I say I ordered it then it was here very quick and well packed would buy again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sucker Punch: The Art of the Film by Zack Snyder
Sucker Punch: The Art of the Film by Zack Snyder by Zack Snyder (Hardcover - 17 Jun 2011)
£24.30
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews