Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars38
4.5 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 September 2010
The War of Light has erupted in the universe.

The Green Lantern Corps now face opponents (and allies) of the rest of the light spectrum - Red rage, Blue hope, Orange avarice, Yellow fear, Violet love and the mysterious Indigos. There is an imbalance of light, and the prophecy of the blackest night has come to pass. The dead have risen. The Black Lanterns want your Life. Death wants his due.

I should begin by saying that the Blackest Night story is the culmination of many of the plot lines that have been running in the Green Lantern and Green Lantern Corps series. While it can be enjoyed by itself, if you want to fully appreciate the epic scale of the event you would need to read the Green Lantern Corps and Green Lantern tie ins. (Though you would find the main story perfectly fine by itself).

One of the complaints directed towards the core series is that it lacks characterisation on many of the core characters. Particularly Hal Jordan and the Green Lantern Corps. They were not mistakenly omitted. They were covered in their own series, which tie directly into each issue of the 8 part series (and fill the gaps in between too).

For those completists that want the FULL story:

Begin with the frankly incredible Green Lantern: The Sinestro Corps War (Vols. 1 and 2)

Then move onto the "Official Preludes to Blackest Night"

Green Lantern: Rage of the Red Lanterns
Green Lantern: Agent Orange
Green Lantern Corps: Sins of the Star Sapphire
Green Lantern Corps: Emerald Eclipse

As for the Main story:

Blackest Night
Blackest Night: Green Lantern
Blackest Night: Green Lantern Corps

With respect to the main story - the order of reading is the above, issue by issue. I.e. Part 1 of Blackest Night 'continues' in Green Lantern and then Green Lantern Corps.

I must admit thats a hell of a lot of reading. But each volume is amazing. The writing is superb, plenty of action, plenty of characterisation, plenty of plot twists, and the art in every volume is beautiful. I was aware of this reading order beforehand and thought it worth sharing.

This blockbuster series is highly recommended. I loved it. I hope you do to.
99 comments|91 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The nine-issue mini-series (numbered #0-8), forming the main series of Blackest Night, is collected as Blackest Night TP – other volumes featuring sub-sets of the heroes and their interaction with the Black Lanterns are also available.

This is the latest in DC’s ‘big events’ calendar, and carries on from the Sinestro Corps War and the subsequent spectrum of Lantern Corps, with back-ties to a number of past big events, and a spectacular resolution (or reset) to bring the Silver Age back to the centre-stage, with yet more resurrections, but this time with a reason, and a promise that this is the last of them (unless they realise that they have forgotten someone, I suppose).

At the end of the Sinestro Corps War, the Anti-Monitor’s body was dumped on a planet in the forbidden space sector 666, and a black lantern grew around it. Here it is revealed that a being named Nekron has used it to power a corps of Black Lanterns to raise dead – or at least the physical remains of – people who were related to superheroes. This volume collects issues 0-8 of the main series of Blackest Night – other volumes featuring sub-sets of the heroes and their interaction with the Black Lanterns are also available.

The various Lantern Corps form a spectrum that can overpower the Black Lanterns, but the big secret that the Guardians of the Universe have been keeping is that there is a White power available, and the various Corps are the spectrum that makes up the white light. The Black Lanterns know where the White power has been hiding since it created the universe – and you can probably guess which planet it is on…

The story here is the initial Black Lantern attack on Earth, the gathering of forces, and the fight-back. It begins with a team-up story of the Flash and the Green Lantern, renewing their friendship, and ends with the White light resurrecting a number of currently dead heroes. During the course of the story we discover that Nekron claims to be responsible for the previous resurrections of Superman, Wonder Woman, Green Arrow, Green Lantern and the Flash, and others, and tries to convert them to Black Lanterns – succeeding with some of them. Eventually, his claim is disputed and he is defeated, but with a cost – resurrection of dead heroes!

The artwork is up to the task of depicting the action, as is the writing. For myself, the successive big events with skies crowded with characters and world- or even multiverse-shattering epics mean very little to me, as the writers have to come up with something bigger each time. Hopefully, now that the universe has been re-established and reset yet again, things will calm down…
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2010
In my humble opinion as a long time fan of Geoff Johns, this is by far his greatest work yet! It totally brings into focus the DCU icons Green Lantern and The Flash and cleverly overshadows the usual trinty (Batman, Superman and Wonder Woman), who all appear as supporting characters.

I'm not going to give away any spoilers here, but if you're a fan of G.L. then you will be more than satisfied with this next chapter in the mythos; and if you're a casual fan, you will simply love the exciting DC drama that unfolds in John's cinematic style.

The artwork of Brazilian artist Ivan Reis is outstanding, particularly the full spread shots, and the superb creative team is completed with Oclair Albert and Joe Prado.

Take my work for it people...Buy it...Read it...Love it!
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2015
I wanted to read Blackest Night because I have an uncommon soft spot for DC's big crossover events and I had heard this was a good one. In that I was not disappointed.

Blackest Night is, as the cover would suggest, very much a Green Lantern story, despite the involvement of a huge cast of characters from across the DCU. Personally, I've never really been into the Lantern Corps stories so the lore was mostly new to me. Kudos must be given to Geoff Johns for presenting such dense lore in an easily understood way without being reductive or hurting the story.

The premise here is basically that the Black Lantern corps, who are fuelled by death, are trying to kill everything in the universe and are recruiting dead heroes and villains to aid them in that goal. As with all crossover events, the deeper your knowledge of the DCU continuity, the more value you'll get from Blackest Night, with numerous references to other stories and some relatively minor characters given important roles in the story. That said, the central thread of the plot is easier to follow and I found it enjoyable. I also enjoyed the colourful and detailed artwork.

Unfortunately and again, as with all crossover events, the greatest detractor from the story is the pacing, as the story moves at breakneck pace in order to give as much of the huge cast as possible something relevant to do. I also found it odd how some major players in the DCU barely make an appearance. It's good that not all stories revolve around the same characters time and again but it's strange to see huge figures like Superman and Wonder Woman almost anonymous in the story, seemingly only present to add raw power to proceedings.

Overall, I enjoyed Blackest Night. It's one of the better crossovers I've read, with some great moments, both small and big, and a plot that holds together despite its many strings. Worth the price of admission.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2011
The dead are rising, the lantern corps face the annihalation of their homeworlds and possibly the whole universe. If it's the lantern corps you are looking for and the complete main story then get the 3 main books *Blackest night, Green lantern, Green lantern corps*.
Blackest night concentrates on the super heroes of earth with Hal Jordan being the main character in this tale.
It's safe to call Blackest Night as a success as a universe event. It never looses touch with its plot, and never grows too big for itself. As the gripping tale progresses, our love for each character grows. Geoff Johns succeeds in making us fall in love with the characters he has not only revamped but brought to new levels.
The blackest night comic series is a throughly enjoyable experience with beautiful artwork by Ivan Reis really brings those characters looks, expressions, physique to a standard unmatchable. His depiction of the villain 'Black Hand' is brought to life with his sketches of the grusomely dark character.
Extras include covers by various artists such as the legendary Jim Lee which make the separations between comics a joy to look at, and early character designs by Reis give insight as to how he brought them to life. With a thrilling storyline and overall amazing creation by Geoff Johns that will change the whole of the DC Universe, the blackest night is incredible bring on the brightest day!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2013
This is what Green Lantern has been leading to since writer Geoff Johns first revitalised/brought back former fan favourite Hal Jordan!
All too often these types of stories have a great "shadowing"/ lead up - but have little pay off, I thought that Geoff Johns successfully avoided this trap as each chapter ramps up the action.

Although this is a Green Lantern cross over, this is really a DC Universe event - with many other heroes & villains caught up in events when the Black Rings begin falling & the dead arise!

This unfortunately marked the end of my ongoing collection, as I've been fed up with the constant tales of heroes & villains returning from the dead, but at least here there is some explanation for this in the DC Universe as such resurrected heroes as Superman, Wonder Woman & Green Arrow are soon possessed by the Black Rings as well.
What a great bookend & the end of the DC saga for me,( I still collect the "old" stories though, to back fill my library).

So this one really does have it all - zombie heroes & villains, most of the DC cast, personal events & army like battles & outstanding art work which is always a joy to look at, as is it makes me feel that I can enjoy the book twice, having read it & then looking back at the action panels.

A must buy recommendation!

Cheers
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2011
I've always had a bit of a soft-spot for GL, and always thought that he's been criminally under-used by DC in the last 10-or-so years. So, this book then - I could spend the next fifteen minutes writing and gushing about this collection of comics - I could say how Geoff Johns has literally picked me up by the scruff of my neck and smacked me round the face with what he's had the balls to do to the DC universe with this storyline. I could also rave about Ivan Reis' pencils, and about how, when you see the first two-page spread you think 'That is possibly the most awesome panel I have ever seen in all the comics I've read', you are then taken aback when, seven pages later, you say EXACTLY the same thing again, then again, and again!!!!

The obligatory cover collection in the back is also there, along with some artwork and possibly the best bit - the 'directors commentary' - where Geoff, Ivan and the letterer (can't remember his name, and my hardback is now with the fourth person I've lent it to!) go over their favorite bits, in order. Top-tip - BUY THE HARDCOVER. This collection deserves nothing less.

Johns has spectacularly repositioned GL as one of DC's main characters through this piece of work, and what a bloody great job he's done of it, too. Welcome back, Hal Jordan!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2014
Geoff John's always manages to present great, bold, succinct characterizations of often well known characters, and this story gives that in spades. while featuring some of his common favourites there are a few different and sometimes obscure characters but Johns manages to present them so well you become attached quickly. Reis brings strong, defined cinematic artwork, which is perfectly suited the story, balancing emotion and action with appropriately placed eye popping splashes. The story does a great job of wrapping dark goth tones to a galaxy wide superhero event.
The only problems with this issue is sometimes it becomes a bit too blockbuster with the amount of colours on page becoming a bit painful to look at, and the story feeling a bit squashed in. Also for people unfamiliar with the characters and comics history attached it may become bewildering as some of the story heavily involves past character threads and plots. These are all explained within the book but sometimes a bit difficult to understand and may then lack the desired emotional impact.
Overall an exciting and interesting character filled, horror tinted adventure!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2011
Blackest Night is a mess of fighting and jumble of characters that becomes increasingly confusing. The Art is impressive throughout but doesn't help with understanding exactly whats going on. I was excited by the ending(LIVE) but even that excitement lessened by the last couple of pages. It's probable that this book makes more sense if you read all the companion volumes which I haven't.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2013
Let's get it out of the way. For all people who haven't read Blackest Night, This is the first Novel you need to buy. (There's so damn many on Amazon, it's a nightmare sifting through them)

Immense, simply that. This story took twists and turns I didn't expect. It pushed boundries and social faux pas regarding death and it never gets too big for the authors. (Marvel's Atrocious Civil War for instance). Blackest night stays consistent throughout and has it's funny moments to alleviate from all the morbid tones of the story (See Larfleeze's Oath)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)