Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning!, 21 Oct. 2010
This review is from: The Art of Hammer: Posters from the Archive of Hammer Films (Hardcover)
A lovely, large format book showing 100s of the beautiful designs used for Hammer films. It covers the full life cycle of Hammer, and not just the horror films.

Examples are used from various countries, so you can see the different ways the films were depicted across the world.

Pleasingly the posters are presented on a high quality paper too, whereas some titles of this nature don't do the artwork justice, using cheap matt paper.

A must have book for horror and film art fans in general!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hammer, horror, hotpants, 20 Nov. 2010
This review is from: The Art of Hammer: Posters from the Archive of Hammer Films (Hardcover)
Genre fans are always in safe hands with Marcus Hearn, and this lavish full colour 'does-what-it-says-on-the tin' visual history of Hammer's art doesn't disappoint.
The book provides a fascinating visual documentation of the film studio while simultaneously reflecting changes in marketing promotion (and gimmickry), shifts in public tastes, and a considerable diversity in artistic styles.
From the fifties, where the posters reflect Hammer's burgeoning reputation for the innovative, lurid and shocking, through to the seventies where the imagery is increasingly 'sexed up' with buxom beauties and ever-grislier threats, all bases are covered, and many of the posters will still inspire readers to check out the films for themselves.
Often intriguing are the more obscure images for Hammer's (perhaps neglected) psychological thrillers, from the US poster for Taste of Fear/ Scream of Fear (clearly inspired by Hitchcock's ground-breaking promotion for Psycho) to Crescendo and The Anniversary. And always curious are Polish and Japanese variants - for Poland's One Milion Years B.C. a cartoon dinosaur chomps on a caveman, taking the place of the iconic image of Raquel Welch in her fur bikini. Worth noting too that 'The House of Horror's' repertoire wasn't limited to that genre - thus a gurning Blakey from the movie version of On the Buses nestles up against the sexually threatening Hands of the Ripper.
There's much artwork and imagination here to satisfy both poster collectors and fans of the studio, plus some dramatic, bold and plain silly promotions. For the 'space western' Moon Zero Two (a film apparently coupled with The Bugs Bunny Show) we are enticed by the sight of 'the fabulous Go-Jos dancing on the moon' (Kubrick singularly failed to realise such visual opportunities in the previous year's 2001); audience members are promised their own beards to sport during screenings of Rasputin - The Mad Monk; while Dracula A.D. 1972 proclaims 'The Count is back, with an eye for London's hotpants... and a taste for everything'. (The stunning Italian variation of the poster for the latter film - the book's cover - fascinatingly re-casts Lee's Dracula as an anti-heroic Bond figure.)
Highlights, in other words, are numerous and need to be seen on the printed page. Where else can you witness 'White hot terror! Cold, clammy fear!', 'The terrifying lover - who dies - yet lived!', and - most fittingly - 'The greatest blood-show on earth!'?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the magic lives on, 14 Aug. 2011
By 
Wayne Allen (wa uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Art of Hammer: Posters from the Archive of Hammer Films (Hardcover)
oh,for those golden days when you was out and about and turned a corner and saw those billboards advertising double feature programmes showing such gems as,kiss of the vampire/paranoiac,the gorgon/the curse of the mummys tomb,dracula prince of darkness/plague of the zombies,curse of the werewolf/shadow of the cat.i was too young to see these fantastic oferrings then,i often spent time studying every little detail of these amazing posters with those thoughts of,if only i was old enough.i could not believe my eyes when one day in 1962 i came across another fantastic double bill poster for:the phantom of the opera/captain clegg,to my amazement it was an [a]certificate for both films,[most movies of this type were [x cert],i was in 7th heaven,you could see [a cert]movies if with an adult in those days,i was one very happy kid then,i still am,now i am in my late fifties,and this book is a treasure trove of happy memories,i hope we see more of its kind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Treasure Trove!, 6 Nov. 2010
This review is from: The Art of Hammer: Posters from the Archive of Hammer Films (Hardcover)
I consider myself a big Hammer horror buff but this book still managed to surprise and delight. What an incredible array of poster and promotional art! Lots I'd never seen before! Beautifully designed, it's a book to savour again and again. Author Marcus Hearn really should be applauded for gathering (and often restoring) such a comprehensive collection of Hammer art. A lurid treat!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must have book for any film lover!, 10 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Art of Hammer: Posters from the Archive of Hammer Films (Hardcover)
I had been meaning to buy this book for ages and as it was being sold at a good price decided to order a copy and I am glad I did. Beautifully and lovingly put together, containing 192 colour pages of Hammer's film posters from the 1950's up to 1979, from not only the UK but from around the world, many that I had never seen before. I also purchased 'The Hammer Vault' at the same time ( I already have 'The Hammer Story'), written by the same author Marcus Hearn which is another great book and is a part of a four book collection, the other being 'Hammer Glamour' which I will be buying soon. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars amazing!, 24 Feb. 2012
By 
Mw Brinkman "Natascha" (Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Art of Hammer: Posters from the Archive of Hammer Films (Hardcover)
this book is an amazing collectable for hammer and horror fans alike. Filled with stunning pictures of movie posters of all hammer films, it's a real must-have! Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Art Of Hammer., 27 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Art of Hammer: Posters from the Archive of Hammer Films (Hardcover)
An absolute must buy purchase for all Hammer Horror fans.I loved it.I have all the Marcus Hearn books published on the Hammer subject matter and this one was the last to complete my collection.It doesn't dissapoint.Compulsory for any Hammer Horror fans out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Under The Hammer, 3 Nov. 2010
This review is from: The Art of Hammer: Posters from the Archive of Hammer Films (Hardcover)
Nice coffee table browser. My only gripe: Marcus, why omit the original British poster for Lust for a Vampire in favour of the less than spectacular Belgian offering?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved birthday present, 19 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Art of Hammer: Posters from the Archive of Hammer Films (Hardcover)
Purchased this for my brothers birthday. Being an avid film fan, specifically this genre, he absolutely loved it. It's taken pride of place amongst his many " coffee table" books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars TERRIFIC HORROR POSTER ART, 4 Jan. 2011
This review is from: The Art of Hammer: Posters from the Archive of Hammer Films (Hardcover)
A complete and rich guide to the most popular poster art of a greatest english horror and fantastic film production. Very cool!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Art of Hammer: Posters from the Archive of Hammer Films
The Art of Hammer: Posters from the Archive of Hammer Films by Marcus Hearn (Hardcover - 22 Oct. 2010)
£24.99
Usually dispatched within 10 to 14 days
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews