Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars27
4.9 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£19.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 31 May 2016
Takes me back to the 1980 spent wandering around libraries and second hand book shops,stumbling upon bright depictions of alien worlds and sci-fi tech.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2016
Excellent book full of full page prints. Very inspirational.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2016
Before Chris Foss came along , science fiction visuals consisted of little more than blurry flying saucers and little green men .

Chris Foss ,pretty much single handedly through his paintings invented the modern day sci fi that we have all now grown accustomed to .

It is difficult to imagine how that particular field may evolved If Mr. Foss had not been there to show us all the way with his initial spark of genius which suddenly made these Unknown world so vividly hyper realistic .

I found this book to be a top notch effort considering what the authors had to work with . It's the most complete and comprehensive assembling of Foss art thus far . However a large number of the reproductive prints are substandard and do not come anywhere near accurately depicting Foss' original artworks .

It is not at all surprising given that many of the said scans were made back in the 1970's , right after being created and right before being lost , stolen or being bought up by the lucky few private collectors who have so far never publicly exhibited them or sold them on .
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2016
Beautiful book, my husband loved it. Pictures are really sharp and well produced. Excellent buy
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2015
Excellent book, illustrations are outstanding. Service excellent.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2015
Quality print. From early drawings to late paintings of the tireless space junk producer Chris Foss. Superb volume on the history of cover art and more.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 October 2015
This is a great book with lots of pictures; is not a how to book, more inspirational but a must for any sf artist.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2015
I remember reading books such as Peter Davison's Book of Alien Monsters and a couple of Asimov books and loving the vibrant covers. At the time I didn't know who Chris Foss was, just knew I loved it. I recently saw his work again in the Marvel's Guardians of the Galaxy: The Art of the Movie Slipcase and also found out about this book.

For any one a fan of his work, or just beautiful science fiction illustrations, don't hesitate, just buy it.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 December 2014
wonderful pictures in a huge book, well worth the money
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2014
THE definitive FOSS book, and edited by someone I used to know! Beautifully designed and giving a good insight into the artist and his awe inspiring work. And all done with real paint...!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)