Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring portfolio of digital artwork.
This is a rather beautiful showcase of the work of Nicolas Bouvier, AKA. Sparth, concept designer behind several major videogames, cover illustrator of numerous sci-fi/fantasy novels and a leading digital artist in those fields.
There are about 125 pages of full colour examples of his work; texts are limited to four pages by way of introduction to the artist and a...
Published on 26 Feb 2012 by J. Mcdonald

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars its ok
All bout digital illustrate, single image through, no training, tutorial, not good for learning, but i like the Structura 2, that is a very good one for tutorial and concept ideation training.
Published 18 months ago by xiao


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring portfolio of digital artwork., 26 Feb 2012
By 
J. Mcdonald "Yelochre" (Glasgow, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Structura (Paperback)
This is a rather beautiful showcase of the work of Nicolas Bouvier, AKA. Sparth, concept designer behind several major videogames, cover illustrator of numerous sci-fi/fantasy novels and a leading digital artist in those fields.
There are about 125 pages of full colour examples of his work; texts are limited to four pages by way of introduction to the artist and a thanks page at the end.
The reproduction quality of the artwork is excellent, with a good balance of multiple and single-image pages. There are a few figure studies, concept studies for game environments, cover art and - making up the bulk of the work - imaginative vistas; cityscapes/landscapes, et al.
The only negative points are that information on each work is restricted to title alone; there are no notes on medium, techniques or software employed - as a traditionally trained artist myself, I would have liked a little insight into where the pencil ends and the computer takes over, but I suppose the portfolio presentation of this type of book doesn`t allow for that. The book is also rather small in format compared to more conventional art books; a volume of larger dimensions would have been nice, but there are no double-page spreads to crack the paperback binding, which meets with my approval, anyway.
This is an inspiring, imaginative volume well worth acquiring if you appreciate visionary art of any kind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Remarkable!, 19 July 2010
This review is from: Structura (Paperback)
Inspiring concepts, an essential reference book for any designer!
Get it before they stop printing again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book., 8 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Structura (Paperback)
I bought this for my artist boyfriend, the quality is really nice, fantastic artwork. Perhaps some more commentary would be good, but what do I know! Boyfriend loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars its ok, 17 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Structura (Paperback)
All bout digital illustrate, single image through, no training, tutorial, not good for learning, but i like the Structura 2, that is a very good one for tutorial and concept ideation training.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Master class in concept art, 12 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Structura (Paperback)
I actually got Structura 2 before this, only because it's invariably out of stock.

Unlike Sparth's second book, this one shows the progression of his style into what it is today. This one also doesn't include any tutorial steps.

I will echo previous reviewers in saying that I would have much preferred a larger book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Can't get enough!, 30 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Structura (Paperback)
Amazing digital art, with powerful atmoshpere. A real master. Not a tutorial book as such but it is a book full of inspiration and compositional ideas. i really recommend this to any sci fi artist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars smaller than expected and underwhelming, 27 April 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Structura (Paperback)
If you want a sci-fi art book, this is ok. some of the works have a great sense of scale, but up against something like 'Hardware' by Chris Foss, this is very inferior.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Structura
Structura by Sparth (Paperback - 23 April 2010)
Used & New from: £7.60
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews