Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Supernatural
This book is in excellent condition, and it is perfect for fans of the tv show- supernatural. Brilliant read and tie in with the show.
Published 1 month ago by J summers

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Heart of a hero
An original novel based on the tv show supernatural, about two brothers who hunt monsters across america. As ever with tie in fiction it tells a story that is all new and hasn't been seen on screen. This one is set during the middle of the fifth season of the tv show.

Sam and Dean, at the behest of their friend and ally the angel Castiel, head for San Francisco...
Published on 8 May 2010 by Paul Tapner


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Heart of a hero, 8 May 2010
By 
Paul Tapner (poole dorset england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Supernatural : Heart of the Dragon (Mass Market Paperback)
An original novel based on the tv show supernatural, about two brothers who hunt monsters across america. As ever with tie in fiction it tells a story that is all new and hasn't been seen on screen. This one is set during the middle of the fifth season of the tv show.

Sam and Dean, at the behest of their friend and ally the angel Castiel, head for San Francisco to deal with the heart of the dragon, a force behind a series of murders, and one that reappears every twenty years.

Thus their father fought in previously in 1989, and their grandfather did the same in 1969.

The book thus tells us the stories of both those encounters.

And there's also a prologue set in feudal japan which fills you in on the origin of the force.

It runs for three hundred and ten pages. Afer the prologue, the first third of the book details the 1969 hunt, and the next third details the 1989 one.

Whilst all this is very interesting because of the back story it fills in for characters we didn't see too much of on tv, it means that there's not as much page time for Sam and Dean as you might like. They only come into the action with a third of the book to go. And whilst the tv characters are accurately depicted by the writer, and the supporting characters of his own that he comes up with are well written and believable and three dimensional in their motivations, the force isn't quite the most interesting adversary the Winchesters have ever faced.

The way it ties everything into the continuity of the show and the ongoing story arcs is very good, but ultimately whilst this is a decent piece of writing it's not a great one and perhaps not quite as good as it could be. For fans looking to fill in some of the back story it should more than suffice though, and it passes the time easily enough whilst waiting for the next new tv episode.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Supernatural, 4 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Supernatural : Heart of the Dragon (Mass Market Paperback)
This book is in excellent condition, and it is perfect for fans of the tv show- supernatural. Brilliant read and tie in with the show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 2 Jan 2014
Brilliant A must for any Supernatural fan good read fills in some gaps between episodes loved it. Have brought other Supernatural book and they are all worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A good insight, 11 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Big supernatural fan! This book is just subscribed looking for! Nice to see a hunt from 3 generations! Good choice for all supernatural fans
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars :o, 3 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book was amazing loved it and I love the tv series as well it was worth every penny get it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars GOOD STORY, EASY READING, 9 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
NICE LITTLE WINCHESTER FIX IN BETWEEN TV SERIES - EASY READING BUT ENOUGH TO HOLD YOUR INTEREST. SOME REVIEWS SEEM TO BE TO THE CONTRARY BUT I THOUGHT THE CHARACTERS WERE IN GOOD KEEPING WITH THE ON SCREEN WINCHESTERS THAT WE KNOW AND LOVE!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Only for fans of the show..., 24 Jan 2011
By 
Lucy Felthouse (Derbyshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Supernatural : Heart of the Dragon (Mass Market Paperback)
I was a little dubious when I picked this book up. Despite the gorgeous cover, I'm always wary of TV and movie tie-in books. They're often awful. Luckily, this wasn't.

This is definitely a book for fans of the show - if you haven't watched it, you won't know who anyone is or what's going on! But for those of you familiar with the show, then this book is awesome. It spans three generations of hunters, the Campbells (Mary and her parents), John Winchester and Sam and Dean Winchester. The reason the story spans such a long period of time is because the same evil keeps coming back every twenty years. The Campbells and John Winchester only managed to banish it each time - but can Sam and Dean kill it for good?

The evil in question is being summoned each time by a guy and each time, the family of hunters must put a stop to his plans. Towards the end of the book, this becomes much more important as it becomes apparent that the spirit is important to the angels and demons as they want to use it as a weapon in their Apocalypse. So once more, it's down to Sam and Dean to save the day. Grab this book and find out how they do it...

I don't want to give too much away - but this is a seriously good read for fans of the show. It's an additional story to any seen in the show and yet it still fits in perfectly. You even get to learn more about the characters which isn't necessarily revealed in the show. If you're a bit of a Supernatural addict, like me, you'll appreciate what this book has to offer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Sadly disappointing, 24 Aug 2010
By 
Gareth Wilson - Falcata Times Blog "Falcata T... - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Supernatural : Heart of the Dragon (Mass Market Paperback)
To be honest Keith is an author who seemed to have gotten the job because of who he knew over talent. Whilst this, at times, can lead to a reasonable offering, the reader prefers that the tale that they've spent their hard earned money upon was written by an author who not only knew the characters backwards but also managed to give the readers a tale that had at least some basic research done towards it. (For example their use of Doragon instead of Ryu or Tatsu for Dragon.)

Add to this, the usual problem with this author's previous outings that he hasn't gotten a grip on the mannerisms of Sam and Dean (from what little we actually get of them in this title) and overall I felt pretty cheated. Within this offering, the brothers bicker, they unfortunately didn't mesh as the fans demand and with so much reference material available felt that the author was looking more to his bank balance rather than fulfilling the readers brief.

Whilst the overall concept was interesting alongside the depth of character history available for the author to have tapped into, the story felt slow, badly created and overall pretty lackadasical and I felt that perhaps that it might be better to run a competition for the fans to create their own Sam and Dean Tales with the chance for publication. It would be more accurate, it would get back to the original series concept and would all in, definitely be the full experience that the reader not only deserve but demand rather than an author who writes a whole tale around what could have been a reasonable novella.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An easy read., 14 April 2010
By 
Jacqueline (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Supernatural : Heart of the Dragon (Mass Market Paperback)
I was highly sceptical about reading a book based on my favourite TV show. But I read the little 'look inside' bit here and decided what the hell...
I found it was very entertaining and it added a lot of detail into the background of the characters. The storyline was quite interesting, fairly gripping. All in all a good easy read. I'm not saying you'll love it, but if you love the show (for the story not the actors) you'll def enjoy this book. I did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Supernatural at its best, 26 Mar 2010
By 
Ms. M. Smyton "M Smyton" (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Supernatural : Heart of the Dragon (Mass Market Paperback)
I love the supernatural hit show and was a bit secpital when got books but i had no need to. This book is excellent and was just like the hit show except in book form. I wud highly recommend this book to fans of supernatural fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Supernatural : Heart of the Dragon
Supernatural : Heart of the Dragon by Keith R Decandido (Mass Market Paperback - 26 Feb 2010)
5.55
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews