Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


48 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 42
I originally bought this book when it was first published in 1987. It has now been revised and brought up to date to reflect Douglas Adams' more recent work and, of course, his death in May 2001.
The book, despite its title, is really a biography of Douglas Adams and not just The HitchHiker's Guide to the Galaxy (H2G2), although as this is his major work, it...
Published on 30 July 2002 by Junior Hornet

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Chumble Spuzz
It's a good book, a very lightweight read so you can zoom through it if you're not in a mood for something taxing. My only criticism is the chapter dealing with Mostly Harmless, where the book suddenly seems to run out of research and impetus. The chapters dealing with the other books etc are relatively in-depth, featuring biographical detail relevant to DNA's life at the...
Published on 1 Aug 2008 by Mr Clag


Most Helpful First | Newest First

48 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 42, 30 July 2002
By 
Junior Hornet "hornet123" (Derbyshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
I originally bought this book when it was first published in 1987. It has now been revised and brought up to date to reflect Douglas Adams' more recent work and, of course, his death in May 2001.
The book, despite its title, is really a biography of Douglas Adams and not just The HitchHiker's Guide to the Galaxy (H2G2), although as this is his major work, it obviously features quite heavily. Also covered though are other works including the Dirk Gently books and The Meaning of Liff (not to mention his early work for Monty Python!)
There is some good information on Adams' early life and works obtained through interviews with people like Simon Brett, John Lloyd (who were influential in giving Adams his break in radio) and of course, Douglas himself.
Interesting items include a copy of the original H2G2 synopsis and comparisons between the different versions i.e. books, radio, TV, stage and records. Also of interest is the first story Douglas Adams ever had published, a short story on the letters page of Eagle Magazine in 1965.
The book is well written by Neil Gaiman, better known for his novels and comic book stories.
Altogether an essential read for all fans of H2G2 and Douglas Adams.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Chumble Spuzz, 1 Aug 2008
It's a good book, a very lightweight read so you can zoom through it if you're not in a mood for something taxing. My only criticism is the chapter dealing with Mostly Harmless, where the book suddenly seems to run out of research and impetus. The chapters dealing with the other books etc are relatively in-depth, featuring biographical detail relevant to DNA's life at the time, interview quotes from editors, friends and the man himself, and so on. For the chapter on Mostly Harmless all of this very conspicuously dries up and the author has to pad-out his account of this period with a fairly pointless plot summary. Shame!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "No stars in the black night Looks like the sky fall down ", 16 Jun 2010
By 
Oliveman (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Gaiman's biography is characteristic of his style of writing and here he writes with his usual wit and dry humour. His admiration of Adams and his work shines through his well paced account. The book concentrates more on the genesis of the Hitch-hiker's and goes into Adams life only when it is needed to offer background or insight into Hitch-hiker. The later chapters are written by David k. Dickson and M.J. Simpson and this shows. Although they offer good insight their contributions do not display the same wit. A must read for all Hitch-hiker fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Last chance to see Douglas Adams, 24 Jan 2010
This review is from: Donít Panic: Douglas Adams & The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy (Paperback)
Douglas Adams and Neil Gaiman. What can you say about these two? A perfect pair of writers. It's almost poetic that Gaiman should have shouldered the mantle of writing a book that combines Douglas Adams' biography with the ongoing saga surrounding his most famous creation, "The Hitchhiker's Guide To The Galaxy". And he does it in an almost perfect Hitch-Hicker's tone that puts Eoin Colfer's recent brave effort ("And Another Thing...") to shame [No disrespect intended: Colfer had a tough act to follow and he did do a fine job.]. Just ignore me: I'm too big a fan of Adams and Gaiman to be objective. There should be statues: Adams throwing his wordprocessor across the room and Gaiman using the Key to Reality, perhaps? Anyway, the blurb tells you everything you need to know about "Don't Panic" except that it's a genuine treat for fans and readers alike. I guarantee you won't be disappointed. Go on: you know you want to :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars INDISPENSABLE!, 13 Feb 2013
By 
C G Woodhouse (Warwickshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Donít Panic: Douglas Adams & The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy (Paperback)
Apparently, one word ... INDISPENSABLE ... is not good enough for an Amazon review, so I will just say this :

If you are a fan of the late, great Douglas Adams and HHGTG ... and/or a fan of the great Neilhimself ... you need this book!
It is INDISPENSABLE!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not the best, 22 Jan 2013
By 
Ann S (Worcestershire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Donít Panic: Douglas Adams & The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy (Paperback)
I can't say I enjoyed this book very much it was just ok and bit disjointed in parts just ok
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Donít Panic: Douglas Adams & The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews