Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Star Trek: Countdown
A fine prequel to the movie. The story fits in with events in the film (take that as you will if you feel as I do about Red Matter), although the art work is perhaps a little pedestrian.
Published on 7 Aug 2010 by P. Shillito

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Solidly average
After having seen the excellent 2009 Star Trek movie I was pleased to discover this prequel comic written by the movie's screen writers.

Whilst the movie set the bar very high, this graphic novel hits a solid average. Given the characters on offer, including TNG favourites, I was expecting more. It's not quite good enough to rate 4 stars.

The artwork...
Published on 5 July 2009 by Olly


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Solidly average, 5 July 2009
This review is from: Star Trek: Countdown (Movie Prequel) (Paperback)
After having seen the excellent 2009 Star Trek movie I was pleased to discover this prequel comic written by the movie's screen writers.

Whilst the movie set the bar very high, this graphic novel hits a solid average. Given the characters on offer, including TNG favourites, I was expecting more. It's not quite good enough to rate 4 stars.

The artwork is reasonable and the plot pacing is generally good. Some elements however, do not gel as well as they could. It is in parts a little slow and lacks the pep present in the movie it preceeds. Also the origins of the Narada, Nero's ship, are not adequately explained and we are left feeling that the Authors just glossed over that rather large plot point. Nonetheless, some interesting back story is revealed that gives the reader a fuller appreciation of the film. And the inclusion of Next Generation characters in the plot is welcome.

To Sum up: An essential purchase for dedicated Trek fans but only worth borrowing from a friend if you're an occasional fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Star Trek: Countdown, 7 Aug 2010
By 
P. Shillito (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek: Countdown (Movie Prequel) (Paperback)
A fine prequel to the movie. The story fits in with events in the film (take that as you will if you feel as I do about Red Matter), although the art work is perhaps a little pedestrian.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Review point, 27 Jan 2010
By 
Mr. C. G. Mardle "Mardroid" (Andromeda) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Star Trek: Countdown (Movie Prequel) (Paperback)
Okay, I haven't read this book yet. I just wanted to make a point about one of the reviews here.

I mean this politely, so please take this criticism in that spirit.

When you create a review on here please don't describe the entire plot! People read reviews to find out people's opinions and decide whether or not to purchase the item. By all means state your opinion but please don't spoil the story!

Okay, in this case, if we've seen the film (and not everyone buying this book will have) we have a good idea what will happen, this being a prequel and there is still way too much detail in one of these reviews.

So, be warned anyone reading the following reviews. One gives a lot away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The way the future was, 9 April 2014
By 
Gareth Simon (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Star Trek: Countdown (Movie Prequel) (Paperback)
The story running through the four-issue mini-series of `Star Trek - Countdown' is collected as Star Trek: Countdown (Movie Prequel). This fills in the story leading up to the first of the new Star Trek films. The `story' - but not the scripting of the comic - is provided by the writers of the film, and the art and scripting are excellent, and fit in with the tone of the film itself. They get the voices and speech patterns perfect for all the well-known characters.

The story starts with a Romulan mining vessel in the Hobus system, whose star is starting to fluctuate before going nova. The ship is our old friend the Narada, but still just a mere mining vessel. Captain Nero manages to get his crew and ship out of harm's way, but only just, and later on Romulus, he is present when Ambassador Spock addresses the Romulan Senate and offers to get the Vulcans to manufacture Red Matter to stop the nova in exchange for the minerals required in the processing. The Senate are not willing, despite Nero's urging, so he offers to take Spock to mine the minerals himself. This leads on to the Enterprise under her latest captain rescuing them from Reman pirates, a visit to Vulcan, where the federation Ambassador is another former Federation starship captain... and the recruiting of retired engineer LaForge to provide the ship needed to deliver the payload. Unfortunately, they are too late, and Romulus is destroyed, just as Nemo arrives to join in the evacuation. He is not happy with this outcome and vows vengeance on Spock and Vulcan, who he now believes intended to let Romulus be destroyed before using the Red Matter to save themselves... He accesses the surviving Romulan arsenal to outfit the Narada with Borg-derived technology and goes on a rampage, which brings him into conflict with the Klingons, whose fleet is commanded by General Worf. Eventually, the Enterprise and the Narada meet, as Spock makes his suicide run into the nova, followed by the Narada...

As I said above, the art and scripting are both excellent, and capture the tone of the film perfectly. This, like all of this current series of Star Trek comics, is not just a spin-off, but, thanks to the collaboration of the film's writers and producers, is an integral part of the story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant story in so few pages!, 19 July 2009
This review is from: Star Trek: Countdown (Movie Prequel) (Paperback)
I watched the film before reading Countdown, but I don't think it really matters which you view first. I read this because I wanted to know about my favourite character, Nero and I heard that Countdown made things a little clearer about his past. As a big fan of The Next Generation, Countdown really hit the mark and really finalised the series (I'm a little sad that there will be no more TNG films). I was extremely happy, if not a little puzzled at first to see Data as captain of the Enterprise E and even more so when Picard appeared now as an Ambassador!

So, Countdown starts with Nero witnessing the power of a solar flare from the Hobus star. He warns the Romulan Senate about it, but they all appear to not trust this information, because Spock is a Vulcan. So Nero sides with Spock to mine some Decalithium for him to create Red Matter that can make an artificial singularity... (yeah, this is real physics, honestly!) Nero leaves his wife, who is pregnant at the time, to do this task, hoping to bring back a weapon that can save his beloved Empire. By this point, I have already warmed up to Nero (but then again, I liked him anyway!). The Vulcans ultimately refuse to share the technology with the Romulans and Nero, enraged by this betrayal, returns home with a threat to destroy Vulcan if Romulus should die.

As well all know, Nero doesn't make it in time and he watches everything burn before his eyes, and I'm almost prepared to admit I cried more than he did! Nero gradually turns into the villain, mad with his grief and plans to destroy Vulcan. He takes the Narada to the Vault, where she is fitted with Borg tech, explaining why the mining ship from the film is so darn powerful (and shiny)! This is the part where Worf shows up, and even though I like Worf, I still get a bit of satisfaction when Nero uses a weird spiky bit of the ship to impale him. So, Nero goes after Spock to take his revenge, but he is too late. The supernova was destroyed and Nero too travels through the black hole, followed by Spock... to be continued on screen!

My final thoughts, this is a sad story! The parts told from Nero's point of view as the tattoos are painted onto his skin is almost soul destroyingly sad. From my perspective, Spock could almost be seen as the villain and Nero as the hero trying to avenge the deaths of everything he ever loved. Nero had his trust betrayed and the galaxy was saved at the expense of his people and his home. I think that anyone who dares to say Nero's motives were silly needs to read this story, canon or not! Nero is really a tragic villain who certainly deserves more credit than he gets, and I'm truely looking forwards to the Star Trek:Nero series coming out this autumn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaf5afa2c)

This product

Star Trek: Countdown (Movie Prequel)
Star Trek: Countdown (Movie Prequel) by Tony Messina (Paperback - 8 May 2009)
9.20
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews