Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cacophonous negativity from the Bat community!
Having read the reviews on Amazon before buying the book I expected Smith and Flanagan to really have dropped the ball with their mini-series with Smith making Batman sound like Jay and Flanagan drawing Batman as a stick man. But y'know what? It wasn't bad. I've read worse Batman books and I kind of enjoyed this.

While in Arkham, Joker is targeted by DeadShot...
Published on 15 Jun 2010 by Sam Quixote

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Wish I'd listened to the bad reviews
Honestly, I was hjoping for it to be good but halfway through I realised I didnt like anything about it. Batman is written terribly and to be honest he seems useless in this book. Just some guy appearing in a costume to fight bad guys, but pretty much losing and being careless enough to keep getting injured. The art is rubbish but I'll admit improved towards the end but...
Published on 20 Dec 2009 by Jonathan P. D. Radnidge


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cacophonous negativity from the Bat community!, 15 Jun 2010
By 
Sam Quixote - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Batman: Cacophony (Hardcover)
Having read the reviews on Amazon before buying the book I expected Smith and Flanagan to really have dropped the ball with their mini-series with Smith making Batman sound like Jay and Flanagan drawing Batman as a stick man. But y'know what? It wasn't bad. I've read worse Batman books and I kind of enjoyed this.

While in Arkham, Joker is targeted by DeadShot who is taken out by a mysterious new villain whose only utterings are the verbal sounds made by actions in comic books (Pow! Zap! Etc). Joker finds out that his joker-poison has been cut with ecstasy to become a popular party drug, "chuckles". Joker takes his revenge on Maxie Zeus, the guy who spread the drug, while Batman tries to lock up Joker and capture this new villain at the same time.

Smith's script isn't nearly as bad as some of the reviews would have you believe though there are some odd moments - "I knew your ego would trump what's left of your common sense!" says Batman to the Joker (cringe!) and "Baruch haba, scumbag!". It's not like Smith's the first Batman writer to drop howlers into his scripts - remember Frank Miller's All Star Batman - "Who am I? I'm the GODDAMN BATMAN!". Also if you're a Smith fan and listen to SModcast (his weekly podcast) you'll be familiar with his speech patterns and notice some of his own inflections in the voices of DeadShot and Joker throughout. Overall though Smith does a good job and I was interested to find out who Cacophony really was.

Flanagan meanwhile isn't Jim Lee or Andy Kubert when he comes to draw the Dark Knight but again I didn't think it was the worst depiction of Batman. What about Tim Sale's in Dark Victory? Sam Kieth's in Secrets? Even again (sorry Miller fans) Frank Miller's Strikes Again (a book seemingly written on the fly in snatched moments) ? I've seen worse and I feel Flanagan's getting better having seen recent issues of "Widening Gyre".

I'll say it's not the best Batman book out there and Smith deflates any high expectations you might have even before you've started the book with his introduction - "Enjoy the second best Batman book I've written!" - but having read a ton of Batman, it's a decent read and good fun. I really enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Wish I'd listened to the bad reviews, 20 Dec 2009
This review is from: Batman: Cacophony (Hardcover)
Honestly, I was hjoping for it to be good but halfway through I realised I didnt like anything about it. Batman is written terribly and to be honest he seems useless in this book. Just some guy appearing in a costume to fight bad guys, but pretty much losing and being careless enough to keep getting injured. The art is rubbish but I'll admit improved towards the end but teven then it wasn't great. The cover lured me in but dont let this fool you people, it looks nothing like it inside.
Still, even Kevin Smith admits its not the best so I'm intrigued on what will be done on the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars The foreword says it all, 29 Nov 2009
By 
Mr. Mark Ashmore (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Batman: Cacophony (Hardcover)
It can never be a good sign when the foreword of the book apologises for the lacklustre content. I would count myself as a huge fan of Kein Smith's work, but Batman Cacophony is a real let down.

There is a genuinely good idea for the book, sadly it is never given a chance to shine. I'm all for letting artists grow and explore their abilities, however it is clear that Walter Flanagan is punching way above his weight here and that Smith is below par. Fingers crossed for their future collaberations.

Read Alan Moore's A Killing Joke again instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good story but could be better, 15 April 2014
By 
A. Dalby (Hampshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Batman Cacophony TP (Paperback)
When I heard that Kevin Smith had written a Batman book I was hyped. As a fan of Clerks, Mallrats and even Jersey Girl; knowing that my favourite director worked on my favourite comic book character seemed like a dream come true.
Kevin Smith every week hosts a podcast where he talks with people that have worked on Batman books/films and TV shows so you would think he would be perfect for writing a great story with the character. Sadly this story doesn't go beyond good, a humorous moment here and there does not deter from the inconsistent art and okay plot.

The story is a very simple one, the Joker breaks out of Arkham Asylum with the help of a mysterious assistant and Batman must chase him down. There are numerous homages to previous story arcs and minor villains but these will go over the head of even the most hardcore DC fan. The most interesting part of the books is when the Joker is interacting with other villains and seeing him make jokes, these however only occur a couple of times in the 3 issues making this story.

The most important part of any batman book when it comes to the art is how batman looks. Sadly batman is the least impressive character in terms of how he looks. It's clear that Walter Flanagan had more of an interest in how the villains looked than how the dark knight did as his appearance is inconsistant. Batman's appearance goes back and forth throughout the book but never seems to reach that point where you say "that looks like Batman".

The best way to enjoy this book is to read it while listening to Kevin Smith's Comic Con Babble-on Theatre. These shows are like a read along with narration and character voices being done by Kevin, Ralph Garman and one episode includes well known voice actor Kyle Hebert.

If you are expecting a great batman story, there are tons of better books that you could be reading instead. This is definately something to show someone who is new to Batman comic books. If you have read most of the well known batman stories and want to see how this is because you are curious I say go for it but don't expect to be blown away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Joker with beard. What else to say ?, 30 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Batman Cacophony TP (Paperback)
I realy enyoed this Batman, becouse it's about his relationship with Joker. His love and hate. The decisions Batman must take is wery difficult.
Amaizing story, great pictures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Pure fan w*nk, 15 Mar 2014
This review is from: Batman Cacophony TP (Paperback)
Kevin smith does batman
badly
The villain who's gimmick would have been embarrassing in the adam west show
is so 2 dimensional i kept expecting him to slide in to the cracks in the pavement.
the art was odd ,i.e. from another age
like it was a silver age mod-cop of the tim burton batsuit.
very distracting and off putting.
all in all
i would not recommend not buying this lazy rubbish
try chasing dogma instead
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Great Writing, 29 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Batman Cacophony TP (Paperback)
Unfortunately, the art is absolutely awful and amateurish. Never spend money on this book, try to get a pdf online
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Cacophony of Criticsm ? Some Justified - Some Not so - Read on!, 9 April 2010
By 
Mr. S. W. Steel "stephensteel" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Batman: Cacophony (Hardcover)
This is one of those books that everyone seems to really hate, and while i can understand a lot of the criticisms hurled at this graphic novel it isn't the worst Batman graphic novel you will ever read. There are worse ones out there, trust me.....
Fundamentally, this book is flawed - and flawed on many levels.
As other people have said, the artwork isn't that great - it is not the worst you will ever see, but for a showcase author, doing a one off storyline you would expect a lot better. The one thing that has improved over the last ten or fifteen years has been the standard of artwork - and this book, puts it back by that period of time, in one fell swoop.
Secondly, the story is too short. WAY TOO SHORT. At just about 100 pages long, how can you expect to put a new slant on Batman, the Joker, Maxie Zeus and introduce a new villain? There is no depth to any of these characters, and in truth, there is no real ending or meaning to this book.
And yet, there are some good points to this book. The new villain, Onomatopoeia has some potential to be a worth Batman villain. A villain with a dual identity could really be explored to full effect and would draw great comparisons between them and Bruce Wayne. There is also a very interesting piece where an lethally injured Joker clings to life, and Batman and Commissioner Gordon debate whether to save him or not. That is the highlight of the book for me and again, this could have had more time devoted to it.
It is worth reading the introduction by Kevin Smith. As other reviewers have said, he admits to his own failings when writing this book. Where others have really criticised Smith, i take a slightly different point of view. He comes across as realising that he took a lot for granted in believing he could write a great Batman book, and that whilst this isn't what he is capable of, it has made him realise how tough it is to write a great story for Batman. I think that is pretty honest of him, and i am willing to give him the benefit of the doubt as to whether he can pull of a good, or great Batman story in the future. There is a new book on the way later this year, and i for one, hope to see a dramatic improvement in the results of Kevin Smith's work, or i will be less forgiving. But in the mean time, we need to be open minded about this book. It has some potential - some great potential - and hopefully we will see that potential shine through in his next book. And yes, it has some flaws - some really major flaws - but we have to remember this is a first attempt. Even the great writers and artists didn't get it right first time, and even now, some of those greats can't deliver absolute excellence every single time.
To sum up, this isn't a great book. It won't be in your top ten Batman books, top twenty, or quite possibly, top fifty. But it is worth a look at a price you are willing to pay, and hopefully Kevin Smith's next foray into the world of the Dark Knight will be much better...... Fingers crossed!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 11 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Batman Cacophony TP (Paperback)
If you're a Batman fan and not read this I urge you to do so now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Mixed Bag, For Sure... But HUGELY Underrated!, 18 Mar 2011
By 
D. Laurikietis "darkknight_uk" (North West England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Batman: Cacophony (Paperback)
What a fickle bunch we are in the realms of geekdom!

I have no idea why so many people have reacted so vehemently to Cacophony but I can't help thinking that if anyone other than Kevin Smith had written it there wouldn't be half the backlash against this (actually pretty solid) story.

Perhaps people's expectations were unrealistic? Does the name Kevin Smith carry with it an expectation that for many fans simply wasn't met?

Whatever the reason far too many people have judged this book for what it wasn't rather than what it was (or Phantom Menace Syndrome). Cacophany is actually a very decent Batman story with some moments that I'd actually consider classic.

That isn't to say that the book doesn't have it's flaws. It does. Nor can I say that the book holds up against Mr Smith's quintessential work on Daredevil and Green Arrow. It doesn't. But there is a great deal to like about this book.

The dialogue is... Well it's Kevin Smith dialogue. By turns it's witty and incisive but also incredibly ostentatious and self indulgent at times. Don't get me wrong I like Smith's dialogue but it's one thing to hear it coming from Jason Mewes and another to hear it coming from the Dark Knight (and yes, "Baruch Haba, scumbag!" is a pretty terrible line). But there are also some moments of dialogue that had me glued to the page. The opening dialogue between Joker and Deadshot is witty and pacy despite one or two lines that made me want to cringe. The dialogue between Bats and the Joker towards the end is superb and in a way serves as a bookend to the dialogue the characters has in The Killing Joke (which was also revisited in Sam Keith's Secrets').

The art is very good. Walter Flanagan's pencils aren't as showy as those of someone like Shane Davis or Jim Lee but they do the job with a degree of panache. The premise is interesting and I for one liked the open ending of the story.

In short I would reccommend this book to any Bat fan who has been put off by all the negative hype. You may not love it but you should certainly form your OWN opinions!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Batman: Cacophony
Batman: Cacophony by Kevin Smith (Paperback - 29 Oct 2010)
Used & New from: £10.70
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews