Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars From ghoulies and ghosties and long-legged beasties...
The British publication of Supernatural Book of Monsters, Demons, Spirits and Ghouls is an excellent addition to any Supernatural fan's library of lore. Written from Sam and Dean's point of view, the reader is taken led through a fascinating narrative of supernatural beings. The book features both creatures shown in episodes (the Woman in White, shtriga, acheri, wendigos,...
Published on 4 Jan 2009 by Sally

versus
15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars information is interesting but ...
As a big fan of the series I preordered this book and waited for the intervening months with great anticipation - only to be let down.

On the good side the information is interesting, but it's nothing new if you're into folklore, mythology, ghost stories, etc.

However, it is printed on that porous cheap paper that deteriorates rapidly and attracts...
Published on 8 Feb 2010 by Su


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars information is interesting but ..., 8 Feb 2010
By 
Su (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Supernatural Book of Monsters, Demons, Spirits and Ghouls (Paperback)
As a big fan of the series I preordered this book and waited for the intervening months with great anticipation - only to be let down.

On the good side the information is interesting, but it's nothing new if you're into folklore, mythology, ghost stories, etc.

However, it is printed on that porous cheap paper that deteriorates rapidly and attracts weevils, because of this cannot place the book next any other books you wish to keep for posterity. If you do the other books suffer.

The book is written from the point of view of Sam Winchester, or at least the introduction was.

It appears to be a version of John Winchester's monster's and demon's Filofax. Yet it lacks any imagery of Sam, Dean and John Winchester or of the ghosts, demons, etc. Since it was based on the show, and based on an object featured in the show, it would be more appealing to fans if it had contains some of the promotional photography that is used to the series and on the cover. This is one of the biggest disappointments about the entire book.

As a Winchester fan I was looking forward to information about the spooks, ghouls and ghosts, some of the folklore that appeared in the show, along with some photographs and stills from the show. In this, the cover of the book is very misleading (and in my opinion deliberately so).

There are some black and white sketches of various spectres and spooks but no stills.

The cover is glossy and full of photographs from the series. This gives a false impression as to its contents such photographs could have been used to illustrate the various ghost, ghouls, monsters and spirits, but this is an opportunity which the publishers did not take. The blurb on the back of the book states that it "contains illustrations and other detailed descriptions" these illustrations are the black pencil drawings and sketches.

This was a book with a lot of promise that has failed to deliver by the cost-cutting and money grabbing of the publishers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars From ghoulies and ghosties and long-legged beasties..., 4 Jan 2009
This review is from: Supernatural Book of Monsters, Demons, Spirits and Ghouls (Paperback)
The British publication of Supernatural Book of Monsters, Demons, Spirits and Ghouls is an excellent addition to any Supernatural fan's library of lore. Written from Sam and Dean's point of view, the reader is taken led through a fascinating narrative of supernatural beings. The book features both creatures shown in episodes (the Woman in White, shtriga, acheri, wendigos, etc) as well as many many others. The inclusion of 16-colour pages of photographs (sadly lacking from the American edition) in particular is very nice indeed.
I highly recommend this boook to any Supernatural fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars information is interesting but it's a big disappointment, 24 Oct 2007
By 
Su (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
As a big fan of the series I preordered this book and waited for the intervening months with great anticipation - only to be let down.

On the good side the information is interesting, but it's nothing new if you're into folklore, mythology, ghost stories, etc.

However, it is printed on that porous cheap paper that deteriorates rapidly and attracts weevils, because of this cannot place the book next any other books you wish to keep for posterity. If you do the other books suffer.

The book is written from the point of view of Sam Winchester, or at least the introduction was.

It appears to be a version of John Winchester's monster's and demon's Filofax. Yet it lacks any imagery of Sam, Dean and John Winchester or of the ghosts, demons, etc. Since it was based on the show, and based on an object featured in the show, it would be more appealing to fans if it had contains some of the promotional photography that is used to the series and on the cover. This is one of the biggest disappointments about the entire book.

As a Winchester fan I was looking forward to information about the spooks, ghouls and ghosts, some of the folklore that appeared in the show, along with some photographs and stills from the show. In this, the cover of the book is very misleading (and in my opinion deliberately so).

There are some black and white sketches of various spectres and spooks but no stills.

The cover is glossy and full of photographs from the series. This gives a false impression as to its contents such photographs could have been used to illustrate the various ghost, ghouls, monsters and spirits, but this is an opportunity which the publishers did not take. The blurb on the back of the book states that it "contains illustrations and other detailed descriptions" these illustrations are the black pencil drawings and sketches.

This was a book with a lot of promise that has failed to deliver by the cost-cutting and money grabbing of the publishers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars supernatural fun, 1 Dec 2009
This review is from: Supernatural Book of Monsters, Demons, Spirits and Ghouls (Paperback)
bought my wife this as a fun prez for xmas but she found it and wont put it down now, while she watches her beloved boys Sam & Dean (Dean in particular) fight the demons etc
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lessons from our very own Winchester boys!, 20 Dec 2008
At first glance this book is pretty much what it appears to be. It is a book that defines and explains the creatures, demons, and spirits that viewers of the television series "Supernatural" encounter. A neat detail is that the UK edition has included pictures of scenes from the series, that depict some of these monsters.
The book is a quick and easy read, that most should be able to follow. The best aspect of the book, which I only discovered once I began reading, is that it is written in the Winchester brothers' voices. As you read it, try and puzzle out which brother is explaining which part. It is my opinion that you can tell by the way a paragraph is written, whether it is Sam or Dean speaking/writing.
Finally, it should be noted that the book only really covers the first two seasons (with a few "un-aired" creatures on the side). Hopefully once the series is further along or finished, a complete book will be written. This book is a very nice companion to the series, and most enjoyable if you have already watched the first two seasons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not Bad But Come On......, 4 Sep 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Supernatural Book of Monsters, Demons, Spirits and Ghouls (Paperback)
Even I spotted some of the grammatical error's in this and I'm friggin dyslexic lol!

The book is suppose to be from the bothers point of view and for the most part it is, but the author gets confused I think and quotes line's like

'when Sam got possessed he ended up hurting Dean and Jo'[not word for word but you get the idea] this would indicate that theirs a thride person narrating the story or information and NOT one of the brother's, it's a little annoying but if you can ignore it [which I do frankly] then it's an excellent read and the information is great. I'm currently undergoing an art project. I'm doing
Dean's Journal and this book is going to prove VERY helpful. it gives you information not only on the bad guy's but on weapons to use, herbolagy, symbol's and exorcisms which is great because I HATE trawling threw the net for these little bit's and pieces.

It's a good book and I do recommend it but be prepared to put up with bad grammar!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great for supernatural fans!, 19 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Supernatural Book of Monsters, Demons, Spirits and Ghouls (Paperback)
I really like this book. its full of information that i found really interesting. Not as many images as i had hoped, but some full-colour photo's from the show which is great. I would recommend this not just to supernatural fans, but to anyone interested in monsters and demons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great buy, 31 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Supernatural Book of Monsters, Demons, Spirits and Ghouls (Paperback)
Pictures in the middle, descriptions of monsters that sam and dean have faced a must have for any supernatural fan and good price for what it is
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars SPN, 11 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Supernatural Book of Monsters, Demons, Spirits and Ghouls (Paperback)
I pretty much already know everything that's said in the book but it's a good read and I liked it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, 17 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Supernatural Book of Monsters, Demons, Spirits and Ghouls (Paperback)
Another book I really enjoyed reading and very interesting. Its well written and the pictures are really awesome. Would recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Supernatural Book of Monsters, Demons, Spirits and Ghouls
Supernatural Book of Monsters, Demons, Spirits and Ghouls by Alex Irvine (Paperback - 28 Nov 2008)
6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews