Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Visual Companion
It often riles me when I see a movie attributed to certain big-name film makers when in reality the hard work was done by some other little-known creative genius who really should have gotten most of the credit. One such genius is Henry Selick, the animation director who specialises in stop-motion films utilising 3D models and lovingly built sets. Selick's A Nightmare...
Published on 2 Oct. 2009 by Martin Greaves

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great book...Low quality print
well constructed book, with good insight into the movies creative process. The problem is however the book it self, low resolution in picture makes this a rather disappointing buy, the least i expect from a visual companion/ art of book to film is for all stills and images to be in perfect resolution with no pixelation as you would like to think as the official...
Published on 21 Jun. 2012 by Dotty Landsdown


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Visual Companion, 2 Oct. 2009
By 
This review is from: Coraline: A Visual Companion (Hardcover)
It often riles me when I see a movie attributed to certain big-name film makers when in reality the hard work was done by some other little-known creative genius who really should have gotten most of the credit. One such genius is Henry Selick, the animation director who specialises in stop-motion films utilising 3D models and lovingly built sets. Selick's A Nightmare Before Christmas was trumpeted as a Tim Burton film, but despite Burton's obvious vision being an inherent part of that wonderful film, Selick's contribution of having actually MADE the production was given scant attention by the media. Selick then went on to make a brilliant, surreal version of Roald Dahl's James and the Giant Peach, amongst other film. As if to highlight this point Henry Selick's name wasn't even offered in the list of suggested tags recommended by Amazon whilst I was writing this review!!!

This book chronicles the creation of the animated film Coraline, based on the novel by Neil Gaiman, and once again Selick's peerless animation of 3D movement, his judgement of timing and his superb storytelling facility is evident in the completed film version. Coraline, A Visual Companion is chock full of wonderful production art, on-set photographs, and Stephen Jones's informative text detailing all aspects of the film-making process. There is coverage of the various publications of the source novel (including Dave McKean's fantastic artwork done for the original book), and nuggets of info about the theatrical stagings of the novel too.

I'm particularly thankful that this book allowed me to see the wonderful design work of Tadahiro Uesugi, an illustrator who heavily defined the overall look of the film Coraline. I immediately checked out his website and was knocked out by the beauty of all of his artwork.

A small gripe about the book is that there are a handful of slightly pixelated photographs reprinted on various pages that are obviously low-res jpegs or screen grabs off the internet, including an awful full page reprint of an early Coraline teaser poster that just doesn't need to be in this book. If it had been scaled down in size then the bad quality might have been reduced but printing it on a full page only emphasises the scale of the break-up of the image. This is only a minor glitch in an otherwise splendid accompaniment to a lovely film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Coraline: A Visual Companion, 16 Oct. 2009
By 
This review is from: Coraline: A Visual Companion (Hardcover)
The Art of Coraline: A Companion to the Making of the Film

This visual companion is really amazing. It lets you enter the world of Coraline and see how each aspect was created.
From pre production right through to post production.
As a stop motion animator i loved the breakdown of each area, because it showed me different ways of dealing with ideals which i had not though of before.
This is a must for all stop motion animators and animation fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A mouth-watering delight..., 28 Feb. 2009
By 
Paul Campbell - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Coraline: A Visual Companion (Hardcover)
This movie's already out in the US, but what about us poor souls here in the UK who have to wait until May? Well, this book will certainly go a long way to sating your hunger until then.

You might not be aware, but the UK DVD release of Neil Gaiman's previous adaptation to the big screen, "Stardust", was originally to feature numerous extras, but the British Board of Film Classification - in their infinite wisdom - classified the DVD extras HIGHER than the actual movie itself (!?!). Naturally, if the producers were to retain the DVD extras they would have to reclassify the entire DVD... result? NO extras on the UK DVD release of "Stardust". For that reason I bought Stephen Jones's "Stardust: A Visual Companion", which has been an absolute joy to dip into.

Based on that experience I immediately bought "Coraline: A Visual Companion" and I'm happy to say it hasn't disappointed: a long interview with Gaiman himself peppers and illuminates much of the book, as well as a look at the various incarnations of the story itself in its varied illustrated editions and also as a comic/graphic novel. There's even a brief look at the history of puppet animation itself.

I for one hope Stephen Jones also does "The Graveyard Book: A Visual Companion" which Neil Gaiman recently announced has a director attached to it! Now THAT would be a great 'hat-trick' to have on the shelf!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful!, 4 Jun. 2009
This review is from: Coraline: A Visual Companion (Hardcover)
Having watched Coraline twice in 3D at the cinema (which is brilliant!) I felt enthused enough about the film to investigate what merchandise there would be on here (impatient to own a copy of the film itself) and bought this book without a moments hesitation.
I was not disappointed whatsoever! it is a charming book dealing with the thoughts and goings on of the creative genious's behind the project and on how it all came to be.
It is packed with stills from the film and the concept designs that first brought it in to existence along with many insightful interviews.
Definitely a worthwhile buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great book...Low quality print, 21 Jun. 2012
This review is from: Coraline: A Visual Companion (Hardcover)
well constructed book, with good insight into the movies creative process. The problem is however the book it self, low resolution in picture makes this a rather disappointing buy, the least i expect from a visual companion/ art of book to film is for all stills and images to be in perfect resolution with no pixelation as you would like to think as the official documentation for the film they'd have the best quality of images to chose from, very disappointing. The sad fact is that al most all pictures in book are low quality ether out of focus or pixelated. However the righting and interviews within are invaluable so it is worth buying of course just the imagery is not top notch which seems to be happening more often than not in the most resent art book i've seen (kong fu panda 2 art of: is similar in resolution quality) i think this is most upsetting due to the sheer beauty of the films visual and puppet making.

All in all good book, just a caution of quality in images :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good, 24 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Coraline: A Visual Companion (Hardcover)
Good book great if you are a fan of the film, they only thing that let it done is a few of the photos were blurred or pixelated :(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars loved it!, 16 July 2009
By 
S. twiddy (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Coraline: A Visual Companion (Hardcover)
loved it! as u go through the book it goes through the original story, the actors, the effects and i loved seein some of the images u saw how it was filmed. and u see the artwork for the film and some for the original book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars British edition, but printed in the US!!!! Complete shame!!!, 6 May 2011
This review is from: Coraline: A Visual Companion (Hardcover)
The only thing that really disappointed me about this book, is that even though it is a British edition it is printed in the US!!! The US edition has several pixelized images as well as this edition i've received!!! I precisely bought it in Britain because i was told that the british edition was superb, and oh great disappointment!! I believe such a beautiful movie deserves a better quality book,than this one!!! I could've printed several images from the movie with a better quality than the book i've just received :(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Coraline: A Visual Companion (Hardcover)
Excellent product and service. Many thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Coraline: A Visual Companion
Coraline: A Visual Companion by Neil Gaiman (Hardcover - 27 Feb. 2009)
Used & New from: £49.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews