Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply amazing
This book is quite simply stunning. Dan Wallace and Jason Fry among many other contributers have produced an amazing resource that is interesting to read and provides for long time fans answers to the locations of many planets and sectors. The book is much more than an atlas but it is not simply a retelling of The Essential Chronology and is vastly superior to the old...
Published on 6 Sep 2009 by Jampump

versus
10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A massive undertaking ... that just falls short of greatness
Star Wars: The Essential Atlas is a vast undertaking. The sheer ambition required to even sit down and consider writing such a volume is breathtaking. Either that, or the authors didn't know what they were getting themselves into. For me, this is a good book though sadly not a great one. I've been trying to think why it falls short for me.

Well, it's not the...
Published on 7 Nov 2009 by G. Allison


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A massive undertaking ... that just falls short of greatness, 7 Nov 2009
By 
G. Allison (Glasgow UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Star Wars: Essential Atlas (Paperback)
Star Wars: The Essential Atlas is a vast undertaking. The sheer ambition required to even sit down and consider writing such a volume is breathtaking. Either that, or the authors didn't know what they were getting themselves into. For me, this is a good book though sadly not a great one. I've been trying to think why it falls short for me.

Well, it's not the maps - these are quite beautiful, actually. If I have one criticism about them it's that they are sometimes a bit too busy. Trying to follow some of the timelines (have a look at The Mandalorian Wars, for example) is really quite difficult. But that aside, I can't complain.

There are two main sections to the text - one discussing the various regions and territories, and the other a history of galactic events. Both are good, but inevitably sketchy. I found myself reading a section and wanting more information. I also found it difficult to follow the events described in the text with the maps, having to constantly look up the index to find a planet on the map. Frustrating. Also frustrating were sections like "A Closer Look: Tatooine, Geonosis and the Arkanis Sector." You would think this would tell you everything you wanted to know about Tatooine and Geonosis. No, it refers you to another page altogether!

The third part of the book is the one most easily recognisable to Role-Playing Gamers, which outlines many of the main planets in the Star Wars universe. I found this the least interesting bit - the summaries of the worlds are brief - but I suppose do contain information that isn't found elsewhere in the book.

All this aside, though, the book is not bad at all. I would forgive all if an index was included that allowed the reader to look up a planet and go straight to the page to read about it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply amazing, 6 Sep 2009
This review is from: Star Wars: Essential Atlas (Paperback)
This book is quite simply stunning. Dan Wallace and Jason Fry among many other contributers have produced an amazing resource that is interesting to read and provides for long time fans answers to the locations of many planets and sectors. The book is much more than an atlas but it is not simply a retelling of The Essential Chronology and is vastly superior to the old Essential Guide to Planets and Moons in every way. It is split into three main sections the first explains the composition of the galaxy and the various regions contained within it, second is a large section focusing on individual planets and third is a section taking you though chronologicaly the key events in the Star Wars timeline with the aid of highly detailed galaxy maps showing goverments, fleets, character movements etc. The third section is interesting as the events of the six Star Wsrs films are plotted out which was something I had not though of before reading the book. I found it fascinating to see the events of the filsm mapped out like that. The next time I watch them I will have the book open following along.

The art in the book is great especially the amazing detail found in the maps but also in the potraits and depiction of events which are handled by Chris Trevas whose work can be seen in The Essential Guide to the Force. I can not recommend this book highly enough it is without question a must buy for any Star Wars fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Must have book for hardcore Star Wars fans, 12 Mar 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Wars: Essential Atlas (Paperback)
The amount of work that went into making this book must have been simply staggering. For fans who've not just seen the films but read the novels and comics this has huge amounts of information on the Star Wars Universe backed up with large quanties of maps and pictures. The only thing that lets it down sightly is that it contains no information on more recent Star Wars projects like the Old Republic era and the Knight Errant era. That said it is still a brillant reference book for any big Star Wars fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 26 Dec 2013
By 
This review is from: Star Wars: Essential Atlas (Paperback)
This was a Christmas present for my son. It arrived very quickly, in perfect condition. He was delighted with it on Xmas morning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant book., 15 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Wars: Essential Atlas (Paperback)
Just what i expected. lots of info and pictures and easy to find what you're looking for quickly, though reading it cover to cover would be a long slog.
I would recommend this book to all Star Wars fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Amazing achievement - packed with detail, 27 July 2013
By 
Mr. M. Jones "Jonesmz" (Chester, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Star Wars: Essential Atlas (Paperback)
This book is 240 pages but feels a lot bigger with three main sections - the beginning is an overview of the the different sections of the star wars galaxy which inevitably focuses on the history of the galaxy because it was settled in a series of expansions. The history is interspersed with sections detailing particular personalities or races (e.g. the Hutts) and particular issues (e.g. hyperspace lanes, politics, population density) as well as highly detailed maps of each section. Interestingly, almost half the galaxy is unexplored (due to lack of cleared hyperspace lanes) so there is room for story expansion.

The second part focuses on a planet a page detailing its history, solar system and all about its population. Again the detail is amazing

The last part takes every era of history - expanded universe and films - and follows the movements involved in the stories, system to system, with an accompanying map with lines following the character movements.

Throughout, the diagrams and pictures are bright, easy to follow and detailed and make the book attractive. My only criticism would be that for someone who is not familiar with the books, and over time this will increase, there is no cross referencing of systems with books, so if a planet sparks your interest you will have to do research yourself to read about it, and without a knowledge and interest in the Expanded Universe the book has limited use. Also, the Universe and films will continue to expand so the book will become out of date.

From a mapping point of view, I'm fascinated by how to map a galaxy, and this book is probably a good as you will get. There is a similar book based in the Star Trek galaxy (Star Trek Star Charts) which is more diagram based but less detailed and more confusing. This book definitely has it beat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great work, 14 Mar 2013
By 
C. Norris "the ancient mariner" (bucks, uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Wars: Essential Atlas (Paperback)
If you are in to the whole Star Wars scene (like me!) then you'll love this book.
It really does tie-in all the weird and wonderful locations mentioned in the multitude of books, comics, films and TV series that make up the Star Wars canon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Do NASA know?! ..., 31 May 2012
This review is from: Star Wars: Essential Atlas (Paperback)
Goodness, some people really do live on a different planet! Fortunately, my son is one of those children who absolutely LOVE the whole Star Wars universe so, he also loves this book. It's well written & laid out & full of 'interesting' facts / fiction (if you like that sort of thing).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars As it says - essential, 3 Oct 2011
By 
Mark Shakespeare (Windsor, Berkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Star Wars: Essential Atlas (Paperback)
Pretty much the most exhaustive work on the Star Wars series' planets - not only does it cover the best-known worlds, you can find entries on the more obscure planets too. It also has some excellent maps which makes the relationships between the worlds a lot clearer. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Here it is. Coruscant., 25 May 2000
By A Customer
What can I say. This is a really cool book with all the planets of the Star Wars Universe. From Anoth to the sand waste lands of Tatooine. this is a really cool book. GET IT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Star Wars: Essential Atlas
Star Wars: Essential Atlas by Jason Fry (Paperback - 28 Aug 2009)
15.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews