Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Torchwood:Rift War
Torchwood: Rift War
This is an Adult comic book with all the comic strips from the Torchwood magazines. Its really addictive (as are all the Torchwood books), the story lines are good, and i hope some of them make it into a book someday, but some of them could be easier to follow. The drawings are great and the classic 'BANG BANG' captions are great too. Its a good...
Published on 13 Jun. 2009 by Ms. S. J. Kinder

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not too bad.
(Review by 15-Year Old son)
Rift War features the multiple-part comic from the monthly Torchwood magazine. The contents of this book feature the ten-part "Rift War" comic.

However, with each part of the comic, there are different authors and artists. The most noticeable difference is the different artists per part. There are two main art styles...
Published 4 months ago by G. K. Griffiths


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not too bad., 29 Sept. 2014
By 
G. K. Griffiths (Wolverhampton, West Midlands UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Torchwood: Rift War (Paperback)
(Review by 15-Year Old son)
Rift War features the multiple-part comic from the monthly Torchwood magazine. The contents of this book feature the ten-part "Rift War" comic.

However, with each part of the comic, there are different authors and artists. The most noticeable difference is the different artists per part. There are two main art styles that can be identified, one that is excellent and bares a great resemblence to the characters from the original TV series. The other art style isn't exactly bad, but its nowhere near as good. Sadly, the second art style is the most common one.

In terms of the more important element, the plot, this comes out as average. The plot has to sustain itself for ten moderately-lengthed parts, and this sadly doesn't work too well. There are many parts that feel repeated and some that are just plain confusing. The plot can also feel completely different to your usual Torchwood episode, something else that can also draw me out of the experience.

Despite all this, there are elements to like and enjoy here. However, the differing art styles and the repetitive nature of the comic itself are a bit of a sad let-down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Torchwood:Rift War, 13 Jun. 2009
By 
Ms. S. J. Kinder (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Torchwood: Rift War (Paperback)
Torchwood: Rift War
This is an Adult comic book with all the comic strips from the Torchwood magazines. Its really addictive (as are all the Torchwood books), the story lines are good, and i hope some of them make it into a book someday, but some of them could be easier to follow. The drawings are great and the classic 'BANG BANG' captions are great too. Its a good edition to the Torchwood collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good stories, not so good artwork., 30 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Torchwood: Rift War (Paperback)
The stories as comics are good, however, despite the brilliant art works of the last comic in the collection, the art work in some of them was so bad the characters were unrecognisable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Torchwood Rift War, 22 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Torchwood: Rift War (Paperback)
I bought this book for my ten year old nephew who says it is great and will not put it down
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good But Inconsistent, 28 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Torchwood: Rift War (Paperback)
I liked this book but different artists and writers draw and write each 'part' which there are 10 of which can make the tone of the overall story seem a bit random as this is really a collection of several issues of the Torchwood Magazine comic. There is an overall story flowing through all 10 parts but sometimes they seem to contradict each other slightly.

I still really enjoyed reading this and it does include an extra strip 'Jetsam' which is a nice bonus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Torchwood Rift war, 20 Sept. 2009
This review is from: Torchwood: Rift War (Paperback)
I really enjoyed reading this book, even through I had read most of them from the mag: It is great to have them all together in one book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars torchwood reift war, 11 April 2010
By 
L. M. Edwards (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Torchwood: Rift War (Paperback)
I bought this as a present so only glanced through it but my 13 year old grandson who I bought it for loved it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Torchwood: Rift War
Torchwood: Rift War by Simon Furman (Paperback - 24 April 2009)
£8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews