Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Place to Start
Firstly, Superman: Brainiac is a very well written novel by Geoff Johns. There is a very good blend of both action and emotion in the story which keeps the other in check with neither more prominent than the other. I would recommend reading this story before going onto the Superman: New Krypton series, simply due to the fact that it leads perfectly into the latter...
Published on 29 Aug. 2010 by A. Standen

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Font problem
I'm a big Superman fan thinking would be a good read on my tablet but every thing is so small the words are tiny you can tap the page to high light the words but this has no effect Don't waist your cash rubbish. they should let people no this
Published 18 months ago by YUBABA


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Place to Start, 29 Aug. 2010
By 
A. Standen (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Superman: Brainiac (Paperback)
Firstly, Superman: Brainiac is a very well written novel by Geoff Johns. There is a very good blend of both action and emotion in the story which keeps the other in check with neither more prominent than the other. I would recommend reading this story before going onto the Superman: New Krypton series, simply due to the fact that it leads perfectly into the latter.

At only 128 pages it doesn't take too long to read which is a shame as it is a very enthralling novel. The artwork is good as well which is a plus, I particularly liked the likeness of Christopher Reeve being used for Superman.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Life can't be bottled", 7 April 2012
By 
Sam Quixote - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Brainiac is out in the universe gobbling up cultures, destroying worlds and putting cities, like Krypton's Kandor, in bottles so Superman heads off to stop him once and for all.

Brainiac is the ultimate control freak/collector who lives only for his collection of bottled cities and collected knowledge. He's like an internet of one or, for Trekkies, the Borg. That makes him a pretty formidable opponent for Superman and Geoff Johns makes the most of it, showing Superman's limits when it comes to trying outsmart someone whose knowledge far surpasses his own.

It's a very well written and drawn book - artist Gary Frank draws Superman/Clark Kent exactly like Christopher Reeve so it's like reading a movie that never was and like the first two Reeve movies it's awesome (unlike the last two). There's a heartfelt epilogue to a character close to Superman who passes, that was done in wordless panels - a smart artistic choice as it felt like even the reader was kept at a distance from Superman's thoughts and personal grief.

"Superman: Brainiac" is an excellent Superman book and the best Johns book I've read yet. Any Superman fan would love reading this - highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Beginning of the End, 14 Feb. 2012
By 
Pink Fluffy Bunny (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This volume collects Action Comics issues #866-870 and Superman: New Krypton Special #1. The story starts "35 years ago" on Krypton, as Zod watches helplessly as something that we know as Brainiac steals the city of Kandor. This sets the background for the story of Zod, someone we only know as a super-villain, but who has his own version of events, one that will unfold across the `New Krypton' storyline that appears to begin here (but possibly began with the earlier `Superman and the Legion of Superheroes' storyline...). Meanwhile, "today" a Brainiac probe arrives on earth and encounters Superman. That information is relayed back to the mothership, and attempt #242 to locate earth is instigated. Apparently, although Brainiac has encountered Superman before, it has always happened `remotely', and Brainiac doesn't yet know the location of Earth. [Note - without a reference book to hand, `242' sounds remarkably like the issue number of Action Comics that first featured Brainiac.] After reviewing history files from krypton, Superman goes looking for Brainiac, and finds him, and also the chamber of cities in his mothership; but Brainiac also finds Earth, and steals Metropolis...

This is an excellent adventure, tidying up the history of Brainiac, Krypton, Kandor and Argo City, while moving ahead with the current world of Metropolis, and also beginning the `final' storyline before the `New 52' reset of the DC Universe - think of Alan Moore's finale to the Silver Age Superman series - this is the beginning of the end of the `Iron Age' Superman, and it is just as good - if rather longer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another great outing for the Man of Steel, 6 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Superman: Brainiac (Paperback)
A great book, if a little short, seeing Superman face off against Brainiac. Brainiac is an interesting foe for the Man of Steel, it's always good to see Supes have to fight back from a disadvantage, in this case that the baddie is just so powerful at times. Artwork was great, and some shots clearly based on the Reeves/Kidder Clark/Lois, which is no bad thing IMO.

I enjoyed this more than "Last Son" but preferred "Red Son" and "Earth One".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful!, 11 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this as a first graphic novel for my 9 year old son who, like most boys, is Superman mad. The artwork is stunning. I kind of want a copy for myself to sit securely on a shelf well out of the way of little hands. It's probably a little too graphic for him in some ways. Not so much with violence but with female curves on display...but it kind of goes over his head. He has read it and re read it many times. Can't recommend it highly enough...for boys of all ages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Geoff Johns' Action Comics run: part 2, 11 April 2009
By 
Mr. B. A. Jones "bennyfongtorres" (Bath, Somerset) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
'Superman: Brainiac' collects the next six issues of Action Comics following on from 'Superman and The Legion of Superheroes', making it volume 2 of Geoff Johns' long awaited run on the comic. the story is part of a reboot of Superman following Infinite Crisis and can be confusing if you watch too much of the animated series, or have only sporadically read superman comics up to this point.
Brainiac is partly a Coluan, partly a computer- Superman's faced off with him loads before- but has he really? he also now DOESN'T know about the bottle city of Kandor or the origins of Supergirl. so a few things different, just like LOSH, but Johns is good at exactly this- taking a familiar character and reinventing him and reinventing all his villians too. Superman so far isn't as good as his run on Green Lantern but that's irrelevent- his work is better than all other DC writers even on a bad day so who cares? the story has plenty of excellent cliffhangers and shocking revelations, great action pieces and, as you might expect from Johns, ties loads of his own work, in particular; 'Superman: Last Son' which he wrote with Richard Donner and which is often disregarded in terms of Superman cannon but the Zod and Ursa are the same ones from his origin story in Last Son without a doubt.
the artwork is again by Gary Frank, just as in LOSH, and again works perfectly with the open, simple storytelling. Frank draws superman to look a bit like Christopher Reeve as well (another nod to Richard Donner i think)and in this one i couldn't help but see a definite resemblance with his Lois to the original movie Lois.
overall an excellent addition to any Geoff Johns library but unfortunately makes you badly want the next one- New Krypton!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great story, 28 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great story it introduce Brainiac rather well enabling those with little knowledge of Supes to follow easily. The story is great the only downfall is its very short!! You can easily read it within an hour...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars From past to present, 16 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A range of Superman tales ranging from the Golden Age of Comics right up to the present day. We can easily see the evolution of Brainiac throughout the ages ending up with the present day. Good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best!, 25 Aug. 2012
By 
Duncan Bennett (Putney) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
One of the best Superman books I have ever read, as part of the overall series or as a one off. If you love Superman you have already got it, but any comic book fan should have this brilliant book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Welcome back to the Superman Universe Geoff Johns - You arrived in the Nick of Time!, 26 Jan. 2010
By 
Mr. S. W. Steel "stephensteel" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This a great return for Geoff Johns to the Dc universe, and a graphic novel that i read in one sitting - and was totally gripped by.
As the title suggests, the story is all about Braniac and his attempts to catalogue and then destroy civilizations across the universe. There is a very nice piece at the start of the book that shows Braniacs stealing the city of Kandor (the famous bottle city)and is notable for the cameo of Zod, Ursa and Non from the first two Superman movies starring Christopher Reeve. Throughout the book there are numerous references to the Reeve films - Superman/Clark Kent is definitely based on the look and physique of Christopher Reeve, Lois Lane is definitely modelled on Margot Kidder and the writing is really quite snappy and punchy within the Daily Planet, in sharp contrast to Superman's story. I like this a lot - i always feel that the Superman series works best when the dual identities are kept separate. This captures the spirit of the first two Reeve films, and for me, this is one of the reasons i like this graphic novel so much. Remember in Superman 2 where Lois is constantly asking for orange juice.....'freshly squeezed'? That line makes a cameo in here and put a big grin on my face. And maybe that is the best thing about this book - it is actually enjoyable, and a pleasure to read this. There is plenty of action, a well thought out plot and plenty of subtle humour in it (Ron Troupe and Cat Grant appear for these snippets).
I won't go into detail on the main plot line, as it is best if you read it yourself. But i think this is a wise choice of enemy for Superman - as Braniac has always had the conviction and believability of a worthy opponent of the Man of Steel, and it opens up the storyline for the next series by Geoff Johns, which is entitled New Krypton.
For a while the Superman titles have struggled a bit to provide the fans with great entertainment, but this is probably the best title i have read in a while. It has everything you want from a Superman graphic novel - though the ending will make you relive one of Superman's darkest days.....
The artwork should get a mention too. It is very crisp and clear throughout, and is consistent right through the book whereas others have different styles, this is top notch from the first to the last page.
If you love the Superman comic books or the Christopher Reeve films then this is definitely for you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Superman: Brainiac
Superman: Brainiac by Gary Frank (Paperback - 23 April 2010)
Used & New from: £17.57
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews