Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Hammer Glory, 29 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hammer Glamour (Hardcover)
Great book, beautifully printed and presented. Very reasonably priced. Love those Hammer Glamour Gals. How about Hammer Heroes next, yes?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars sumptuous, 2 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hammer Glamour (Hardcover)
Gorgeous book at a great price I'm a big fan of the hammer horrors and loved looking at all the lush pictures in this book and reading the bios of the actresses, it's worth buying for the stunning cover pic of Madeline Smith alone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Macus does it again!!!!!!!!!!!!!, 7 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hammer Glamour (Hardcover)
After purchasing the Marcus Hearn History of Hammer Films I just had to get this book as well.

It contains the story of many ladies who graced the screen under the banner of Hammer Films and what interesting stories they are.As in life, not every actress fulfilled her dreams and went onto movie stardom (for lots of different reasons) but not one indicated any bad feeling toward their time at Hammer.
Marcus has assembled a terrific array of pictures (many unseen before) and his text is both informative and entertaining.

A great buy for the Hammer fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Suits you sir!, 10 Jun 2013
By 
Paul Scollon (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hammer Glamour (Hardcover)
Not at all a book full of naughty pictures (well, some are) but a fantastic insight into the lives of cinema's most overlooked ladies. It's very well researched (fresh interviews were carried out with many of the actresses) and it's amazing to read how many of them went on to be actually quite well known for other things (fashion designers, models, Bond girls - quite a few Bond girls actually). The photos are fantastic too, the cover photo of the busty Madeline Smith is a perfect choice to capture the look of "Hammer Glamour" as a whole - I'll admit it was a deciding factor in my purchase too! To my surprise, my wife also enjoyed flicking through the pages and commenting on some of the lovely ladies and what they were wearing (or NOT wearing) and agreed it was great addition to my horror collection.

A fine present for anyone you know who enjoys the world of Hammer horror. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful book, 27 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hammer Glamour (Hardcover)
A great companion book to "The Art of Hammer" and "The Hammer Story" and produced to the same very high standard
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A celebration of 'Hammer Glamour', 6 May 2010
By 
Ian Armer (Lancashire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hammer Glamour (Hardcover)
Breasts. Lots of 'em too. In fact there are more tits in here than in your average field guide to the birds of Great Britain. However, let's not get hung up on the fact that this well produced book is popping out all over the place with eye catching pictures of the Hammer Glamour variety. It's also a very interesting look into the (sometimes tragic) lives of these actresses. Many you will be familiar with, others less so. But the fact that Marcus Hearn has actually bothered to celebrate these iconic starlets and provide background makes this a respectable and sincere tribute. No salacious, cheap remarks in this volume. It's a welcome follow up to the equally brilliant 'Hammer Story' and the upcoming volume celebrating the poster artwork for the Hammer films. Brilliant for Hammer fans and people that simply can't get enough of the gorgeous Madeline Smith (ie. Me)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tongue-in-cheek glamour; 60s-70s kitsch, 16 July 2012
By 
Andy_atGC (London UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Hammer Glamour (Hardcover)
Hammer horror had many fans, and to some extent, still does. It was always a 'B Movie' studio and theirs was usually never the main feature other than on those few occasions where you may have a Hammer double-bill at some venue. It was renowned for often indifferent scripts, indifferent acting, and dubious scenery but needed a number of attractive and voluptuous young starlets and actresses whom it could use as its 'poster girls' in the literal sense as well as adding some much-needed glamour to its movies. It was to horror what the 'Carry Ons' were to comedy - low budget and made as quickly as possible in order to get on with the next. Despite all the negatives, and I was not that great a fan of the studio's output although I had seen quite a few, many loved them. They were unashamedly kitsch. Unfortunately for their fans, they are only rarely seen on TV and probably only at rather late (or early) hours.

Peter Cushing, Christopher Lee and Boris Karloff often featured as the male lead or second lead and were possibly over-used, but the female leads were plentiful and varied although a few such as Ingrid Pitt appeared in several. Madeleine Smith appeared in one or two (what happened to her career?) and she was one of the most attractive and often-employed younger actresses of the time who was much better known on TV. More often than not, the starlets' costumes were as minimal or revealing as possible in order to show them to best advantage on-screen and for publicity purposes. The genre was parodied by the Carry On team in 'Carry On Screaming'.

This book contains images of most, if not all, of the Hammer starlets and younger actresses using examples of publicity photographs (whether actually used or not) from many of its films. Some of the actresses whose images appear here are almost forgotten - Madeledine Smith is a good example - and others, such as Ingrid Pitt, remembered mostly for their contribution to the Hammer movies. She did not do much otherwise.

The photography is not at all bad, apparently always on-set during, before or after filming and sometimes a little repetitive, but that is less the fault of the photographers than it is the studio or that the subject is attempting to be 'in character' and not quite succeeding. It is difficult to categorise this; it is not about portraiture as no-one is obviously being themselves but it may be film memorabilia. If the latter, it will be for the Hammer fans but I don't think many otherwise would consider it.

4-5 stars for the imagery, 3 for the kitsch factor!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 1 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hammer Glamour (Hardcover)
Hassle free purchase, how it should be. Thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fangs for the mammaries[ oops i meant memories !!!!!!], 2 Jun 2010
By 
M. J. Hampton - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hammer Glamour (Hardcover)
i have read all the reviews and so i bought this book myself. having been a hammer film fan for more than 45 years. has one studio anywhere in the world ever had such a collection of gorgeous, sexy women as hammer, i don't think so! if anyone out there knows of one , then let me know. from the lovely madeline smith to the beautiful barbara shelley. i could go through all the names, but it would take far too long. suffice it to say that they are all here.some a lot more undressed than others. but this book is not pornographic . it is tastefully done, with a bit of tittilation thrown in.all red blooded males , hammer fans or not will love it.i have looked at it several times and will continue to do so.it's the best book on glamorous film actresses i've ever seen. fangs for the memories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hammer Glamour
Hammer Glamour by Marcus Hearn (Hardcover - 25 Sep 2009)
£16.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews