Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Is that a stake in your pocket?...
A lavish coffee (or should that be coffin?) table book on the actresses that helped make Hammer's low budget British genre pictures so successful, 'Hammer Glamour' is certainly a must-buy for the studio's legion of devotees. For less devoted readers, it offers a fascinating peek at the pin-ups of yesteryear - the 'dollybirds' and 'crumpet' that raised more than a smile in...
Published on 22 Jan. 2010 by Prelati

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
Of its time.
Published 3 months ago by Kit Burberry


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Is that a stake in your pocket?..., 22 Jan. 2010
By 
This review is from: Hammer Glamour (Hardcover)
A lavish coffee (or should that be coffin?) table book on the actresses that helped make Hammer's low budget British genre pictures so successful, 'Hammer Glamour' is certainly a must-buy for the studio's legion of devotees. For less devoted readers, it offers a fascinating peek at the pin-ups of yesteryear - the 'dollybirds' and 'crumpet' that raised more than a smile in the 60s and 70s.

As so many reviews have (rightly) focused on the book's strengths, I'll suggest a few provisos. I suspect many might have preferred more focus on Hammer's 'Scream Queens' (Shelley, Pitt and Court perhaps) and less on some of the actresses whose career with the studio was brief at best. Many of the shots clearly have little do with Hammer (I understand the cover shot of Madeline Smith, charming as it is, was nothing to do with the studio). The text is secondary to the visuals (as it should be, perhaps), but anybody expecting an in-depth read will be disappointed. To take the opposite position, this is also pretty tame stuff - the author clearly favours the more suggestive approach of Hammer's earlier era.

All of which is nit-picking really. You may not learn much from this colourful volume, but if you want a beautifully produced tribute to the many talented and lovely ladies that graced the screens courtesy of Hammer films, this is difficult to fault.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Them lovely ladies..., 9 Jan. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hammer Glamour (Hardcover)
A well researched fine read. With obvious attractions to all us chaps, the book is good on biographical content and it's interesting to find out about all those lovely ladies. Who they were, where they came from and how the career blossmed etc or as in some cases simply didn't. It's a fine tribute to female beauty too. I do note Martin Beswick surprisingly disliked her 1 or 2 second nude glimpse shot in Doctor Jekyll and Sister Hyde but later happily made a couple of soft sex films elsewhere.

As no one seems to knock say Sean Connery, Brad Pit or other leading men for their looks and where it got them so I don't see why women shouldn't be equally proud or worry at all either. The book could even benefit from more saurcy shots than there are, as many fine portaits appear. The best hammer movies very vastly underated and made many happy. The books a collectable gem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I had no idea I was actually going to read it, 24 Nov. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hammer Glamour (Hardcover)
OK I'm exaggerating a little bit with the title of my review but there's some truth in it. To be honest, I bought this book guessing that I'll turn every single page of the book looking at the beautiful pictures, than put it on my shelf. Here's how it really went for me: I open the amazon package, Madeline Smith greets me with the lovely cover photo of hers, I lift the jacket to see what's inside and to my surprise, I see there's the photo of Yutte Stensgaard all over the front case cover (Barbara Shelley on the back case) very well printed. Then I begin to "look" at the first pages (Introduction) and guess what? I'm still reading... The book is very well written, the respect the Hammer Studios have for their actresses is clearly seen on the artwork design, there are a lot of interviews and informations on every actress figuring in the book. There are 50 leading actresses and in that regard, I can say the book is divided into 50 parts, at least 3 pages for every Hammer Queen. This book pays respect to all the glamourous ladies that helped Hammer grow into an internationally acclaimed film studio. To buy this book thinking there are a bunch of pictures of beautiful women in it is nothing but disrespect to the Hammer spirit. If you think the Hammer Studios brought the magic touch to the horror on screen, if the Hammer films are more than just guilty pleasures for you, then like any other Marcus Hearn book, this is a must-have. The Hammer Horror is undead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Is this some kind of bust?", 30 Dec. 2009
By 
M. Donnelly (Glasgow) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hammer Glamour (Hardcover)
A lovely little trawl through Hammer Film's bevvy of female stars.

The point of this sort of coffee-table book is the pictures. And this book does not disappoint - from the stunning cover shot of Madeline Smith through to the last glossy page there are delights to be seen here. Very much in a burlesque style, not too rude (though there are a couple of shots that might be considered NSFW), and if you love that sort of 50s/60s/70s cheesecake style as much as I do then you will love this.

Featuring women who simply are not made like that any more, the text adds up to a pretty decent history of one of the great UK movie studios.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hammer it home..., 28 Sept. 2009
By 
S. P. Ridley (Nottingham,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hammer Glamour (Hardcover)
I really enjoyed this book and if you have any love for the Hammer starlets of the past so will you.
It's a good sized volume every page has glossy well produced photo's of the girl with well laid out text on her(usually)brief career with Hammer and any information the author has sourced,interview excerpts etc on their life afterwards.It's all put together well and although i've read some of the stories on a fair number of the actresses before alot of them i haven't.Theres a few pages at the back dedicated to the actresses that didn't make the cut to the main part of the book which i wish was longer.
Amazon have this at half the publishers price at time of writing so i recommend not hanging about and pick this up now...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hammer gets the girls!, 24 Feb. 2010
This review is from: Hammer Glamour (Hardcover)
As J.R.Knott put in a previous review: You're over 40? You like Hammers? You're a man?

I qualify for all three and my wife bought me this book for Christmas. She was a little young to remember the Hammer movies but did recall the TV series and we have the Complete Collection DVDs too and have enjoyed them immensely.

This book is just a heavenly coffee table tome featuring the gorgeous girls who adorned the movies with their nubile charms. For me there were Ursula Andress, Valerie Leon, Caroline Munro, Kate O'Mara, Jacqueline Pearce, Ingrid Pitt, Madeline Smith, Yutte Stensgaard, and Raquel Welch. I also was intrigued by the others I recognised less easily or names which were familiar from other TV shows (Catherine Schell from "Space: 1999). Glorious pictures and a neat precis of their career made this easy reading and brought back many memories of the great days of Hammer movies. Mind you it also proved that The Complete Collection isn't complete by any means. Maybe a second collection could be released to compliment the first and contain more of these movie classics, both good and bad.

Have to say that, apart from the amazing Raquel, it is, like many other reviewers, Madeline Smith who really got my attention back in my younger day; a cute, innocent looking, busty and gorgeous young girl. And even she acknowledges that despite her feelings at the time she was "a lucky little bunny". Madeline, so were lots of men then and now, and I'm sure in the future young men who see your films will think the same, Corrrr!

All in all a phenomenal book which is (as far as I can tell) far more a complete collection of the beauties from Hammer than the DVD collection is proved to be by the listed movies beside each actress's name.

So back to the quote Like Hammers? Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A walk down memory lane., 25 July 2010
By 
David H. Osborne (Mandurah West Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hammer Glamour (Hardcover)
Being middle aged and a life long film fan I spent a lot of my film watching youth going to watch the Hammer made movies. One of the perks of these great films were the beautiful women they had in them. Valerie Leon and Madeline Smith being favourites.Now in the days of dvds I have a section of my collection dedeicated to Hammer films. The book was a "must have." Nice to see all the girls again and some info about them in the book.A very happy walk down movie memory lane. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Beautiful Book & What A Cover Shot, 27 Nov. 2009
This review is from: Hammer Glamour (Hardcover)
This book is way over due I have been wondering if there would ever be such a publication at last its here, it has been put together with great love and care, what it states on the cover is it so get it NOW its way worth every penny, the details are amazing and so is the Beautiful Photography not to be missed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful book, 11 Sept. 2009
This review is from: Hammer Glamour (Hardcover)
A fantastic collection of photos many of which I hadn't seen before all on excellent quality glossy paper. There is also plenty of writing but it could be some time before I get around to that!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hammer with Glamour with Affection, 3 Dec. 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hammer Glamour (Hardcover)
It's nothing new to say that much of the popularity of the Hammer films can be attributed to the Hammer Girls. This is doubly so for males of my generation - those who grew up in the 70's. If truth be told, those insatiably curious about the female form would need only tune in to the Friday night creature feature double bill shown on the BBC.

There was a fair chance that you would see the mammarilly gifted Maddie Smith in various states of undress (pictured on the cover), or Polish bombshell Ingrid Pitt sinking her teeth into some unsuspecting virginal prep school girl.

The book cover leaves little to the imagination, but putting the titillation appeal aside, this is a great book - and goes some way to filling in many of the blanks left in the absence of those beautiful faces. It's interesting, for some, appearing in a Hammer film was to be the peak of their career - whilst others went onto greater things.

The audience attitude of these films has changed over time. What was seen as titillation has now changed to real affection and appreciation. It seems we are catching up with those actors involved in making them. As the book says, many felt that one hadn't 'made it' until one had played in a 'Hammer'.

A must for Hammer fans...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hammer Glamour
Hammer Glamour by Marcus Hearn (Hardcover - 25 Sept. 2009)
£24.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews