Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars A Haunting Deconstruction of 'The Hero'
This is the movie that broke all the rules of what a 'comic-book movie' should be. And aren't we glad it did... This was a film that was unafraid to defy convention. The shackles of the 'superhero' genre that were carefully loosened with Begins, are utterly splintered with The Dark Knight. Nolan crafted a work that didn't merely make us root for our hero in idle...
Published 22 months ago by Blistered Eyeballs

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars An Obvious Rush Job
I'm about seven chapters in and I've gotta say this book is abysmal. It's poorly written, shallow and feels rushed. A lot of the subtle moments are totally removed; the tone of the Jokers voice, his walk, just how terrifying he is for example, all these details add up to make a mental picture in your mind which is part of what reading fiction is all about. O'Neil...
Published on 29 July 2008 by Dr Eagle G


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars An Obvious Rush Job, 29 July 2008
By 
This review is from: The Dark Knight (Batman) (Paperback)
I'm about seven chapters in and I've gotta say this book is abysmal. It's poorly written, shallow and feels rushed. A lot of the subtle moments are totally removed; the tone of the Jokers voice, his walk, just how terrifying he is for example, all these details add up to make a mental picture in your mind which is part of what reading fiction is all about. O'Neil describes none of them, the Joker could be a postman for all the info we get.

We recieve no inclination about how the characters are feeling, or how they do things - much of the dialogue from the film is reported with litltle emotion and it feels as if Denny O Neil was rushing his way through the Nolan script in order to meet a tight deadline. The action scenes are dull and overall the writing just feels stale, it doesn't jump off the page at all.

A sample of the turgid writing; he describes Comissioner Leob's death as '...he made a few gurgling sounds and within seconds was dead.' Talk about sucking the drama out of the scene.

There's also page after page of boring exposition. Fair enough, the story of what Crane got up to after 'Begins' is a neat inclusion, but it bogs down the book and gets in the way of the actual TDK story. O' Neil seems to do this for more than one of the characters, even the infodump for Bruce Wayne is annoying. The events of the film don't begin until you're a quater of the way through the book, the first couple of chapters should've been called 'In case you haven't read Batman Begins...'

Very poor. Only earns a star because I'm a Batman fanatic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Haunting Deconstruction of 'The Hero', 15 Sept. 2013
This review is from: The Dark Knight (Batman) (Paperback)
This is the movie that broke all the rules of what a 'comic-book movie' should be. And aren't we glad it did... This was a film that was unafraid to defy convention. The shackles of the 'superhero' genre that were carefully loosened with Begins, are utterly splintered with The Dark Knight. Nolan crafted a work that didn't merely make us root for our hero in idle passiveness, rather it made us question & scrutinize him... Genius.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars OK - but more like a children's adaptation, 17 Aug. 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Dark Knight (Batman) (Paperback)
This book is the official 'novelisation' of the new film "The Dark Knight". Accordingly, the story of the book follows the plot of the film. In this sense, it's a good story - as the movie is well written and action packed. However, in every other sense this is a poor novel.

There is very little character development, and the overall style and tone of the book feels as if it were written for very young adults (age 11 to 14). But this is not the intended readership - as there is a children's novelisation, quite distinct from this book.

Like a different reviewer, I agree this book reads as if its writer were rushed. I say this because I've read other books by the same writer - Denny O'Neill. In fact, he wrote the novelisation for the film "Batman Begins" - which was a better book (3 stars).

Even so, in my view O'Neill should not have been asked to write this book (or any other Batman novel, regardless of whether they are slightly better than this) - because he's simply not a "great" fiction writer in terms of full-length novels. He is good in terms of comic books, but that's very different from novels.

The story of Batman's origins, as well as his first few years, has never been well presented in conventional book format. The story needs to be handled by a great writer - which O'Neill is not.

If you are a big fan, or a young reader, this will be ok - otherwise avoid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Movie is better, 9 Feb. 2009
This review is from: The Dark Knight (Batman) (Paperback)
Honestly... this felt a little flat. Its very rare that the movie is actually better than the book. In this case it is.

:(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A constant debate - do I like it, or not?, 2 Sept. 2008
By 
Ms. M. L. Warwick "Jokeress" (Wirral, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Dark Knight (Batman) (Paperback)
I recieved the book earlier today and began to read with anticipiation..., but I'm afraid a few of the chapters did not capture or enlighten me.

With this said, I didn't enjoy chapter one much-- the description was mediocre and it had little point to it. I continued to read nevertheless, and found that some of the description was a bit flakey. Overall, it describes the movie reasonably well, with other outlooks on characters such as Lucius Fox, but description does lack occasionally and I find myself skipping pages to reach a more interesting part. Re-written, I think the novelization would be more of a hit than it's currently deemed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Batman - the Joker - and Harvey Dent makes three, 31 July 2008
By 
Bryan (uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Dark Knight (Batman) (Paperback)
In keeping with previous novel adaptations of blockbuster movies, The Dark Knight written by Dennis O'Neill Batman: The Dark Knight (movie novelisation)does not fail to grip the reader and enthrall him on every page. The descriptions are spot on and as you read the text spoken by the Joker, you can almost feel the manic maniac is looking over your shoulder with that evil grin plastered across his face. Even if you have been lucky to see the movie already, the book is well worth a read and the atmosphere of a dark and moody Gotham City are perfectly captured. At such an incredibly low price offered by Amazon it has to be one of the best bargains around at the moment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 7 Jan. 2009
By 
M. Oxford - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Dark Knight (Batman) (Paperback)
I don't agree with the other reviews here, the book dosn't seem rushed to me. It's a great read even if you've seen the film. If you've read O'Neill's excellent novelization of Batman Begins then you will no doubt enjoy this as well. At this price it's an absolute bargain!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Dark Knight (Batman)
The Dark Knight (Batman) by David S Goyer (Paperback - 21 July 2008)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews