Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An amazing book !
This book is a delight of previously undiscovered treasures of the German language ! Many aspects of the Human Condition that I was unaware existed are described - for example, the German word for ' an irrational sensation of specialness on your birthday ' (or, as Schott puts it , a 'Bonus -Sausage- Day -Feeling ') . It would make a great Christmas present for those who...
Published 11 months ago by Mary V

versus
7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars It's all a lie!
Sorry to rain on the other viewers' parade! As a German I thought this would be an amusing gift for my (Scottish) husband for Christmas. Imagine my disappointment when I discovered that the majority of the words in the book are entirely made up and are not actually used in Germany. Just because you can string German words together and they then make sense, doesn't mean...
Published 9 months ago by P Gradaus


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An amazing book !, 4 Dec 2013
This review is from: Schottenfreude: German Words for the Human Condition (Hardcover)
This book is a delight of previously undiscovered treasures of the German language ! Many aspects of the Human Condition that I was unaware existed are described - for example, the German word for ' an irrational sensation of specialness on your birthday ' (or, as Schott puts it , a 'Bonus -Sausage- Day -Feeling ') . It would make a great Christmas present for those who speak both English and German , and who understand the German habit of combining words together .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How does he think of it?, 18 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Schottenfreude: German Words for the Human Condition (Hardcover)
The German words are terrific and something that's great for anybody to read, but even more impressive is Ben Schott's ability to come up with aspects of the 'human condition' that everyone will identify with even though they've never thought about them before. Eg. "taking pride in having a rare blood group". Great stuff!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wunderschön, 14 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Schottenfreude: German Words for the Human Condition (Hardcover)
Ben Scott has produced a linguistic gem. An intriguing book exploring the amusing German "untranslatables" relating to the human condition. Who would have thought there where words for "Sunday-afternoon-depression, guest-pressure or the urge to glare at bad drivers you have overtaken. My favourite has to be "Kraftfahrzeugsinnenausstattungsneugeruchsgenuss" or new-car-smell.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Elegant, witty and zany!, 18 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Schottenfreude: German Words for the Human Condition (Hardcover)
It's a rare book indeed that engages word enthusiasts, amuses folks who aren't word-nerds, and delights all with fine design.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Compounded Expressions, 26 Mar 2014
By 
Michael Baybutt (SE England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Schottenfreude: German Words for the Human Condition (Hardcover)
What can I say about this book? It plays well to the German language's prediction for compound nouns and provides hours of fun for a browser. My daughter, who teaches German, has used it to provide a little light relief in her classroom and this has gone down very well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A real treat, 23 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Schottenfreude: German Words for the Human Condition (Hardcover)
Good fun. Educational. Witty. Amusing. A wonderful way to spend a winter's evening with a glass of absinthe when the wife's deserted you. EinwunderbarerWegumeinemWinterabendmiteinemGlasAbsinthzuverbringenwenndieFrauSieverlassen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Long German Words!, 18 Jun 2014
This review is from: Schottenfreude: German Words for the Human Condition (Hardcover)
Schottenfreude: German words for the Human Condition.

The German language is fascinating and the usage of LONG words I find incredible, I wish something similar could occur in English!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent for the German enthusiast!, 1 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Schottenfreude: German Words for the Human Condition (Hardcover)
A great book...lots of original (& some very funny) words, demonstrating the versatility of the German language. One for German-lovers everywhere!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious, 23 April 2014
By 
D. Wellings "Flipside Vision" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Schottenfreude: German Words for the Human Condition (Hardcover)
Linguists and language lovers will absolutely adore this book. It's highly original, very funny and stylish-looking to boot. A great gift.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pleasure for Germanophiles, 2 Feb 2014
By 
Tomasz K. (East Midlands) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Schottenfreude: German Words for the Human Condition (Hardcover)
Full of joy book for those who fancy German language and culture.
I admire Germans for their creativity in word making.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Schottenfreude: German Words for the Human Condition
Schottenfreude: German Words for the Human Condition by Ben Schott (Hardcover - 24 Oct 2013)
£11.69
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews