Customer Reviews


111 Reviews
5 star:
 (72)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All manner of things are well
I have to admit to some trepidation when hearing that the final volume of this great trilogy was to be pieced together from the diaries and journals of PLF. I should have been reassured by the knowledge that both Colin Thubron and Artemis Cooper would be at the helm, but nerves still prevailed as I dipped in for the first time. I am sure that I am not alone in thinking...
Published 19 months ago by Mr. A. G. Liddle

versus
30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars After such a long wait, a bit of a disappointment
Don't get me wrong, much of it is in PLF's inimitable style, and frankly it's a great relief to (almost) finish the journey having been stuck in limbo at the Iron Gates for several years since reading volume 2.

But of course having been compiled by his biographer and literary executor from the notes he left behind, it's not exactly what PLF would have written...
Published 19 months ago by Michael Hill


‹ Previous | 16 7 812 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars but still an excellent, 13 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not quite of the Leigh Fermor of the previous of the trilogy, as it obviously unfinished, but still an excellent read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Beautiful and evocative descriptions of P.L. Fermour's travels before the map of Europe was changed forever by WW2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Essential reading for lovers of recent history and exquisite prose., 18 Sept. 2014
By 
Richard S. Austin (Burnham England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A minor masterpiece, that is likely still to be read in one hundred years time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars At Last!, 11 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Broken Road: From the Iron Gates to Mount Athos (Paperback)
Long awaited last book of the Trilogy--well written from PLF's notes
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 29 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Wonderful book. As described, arrived in very rapid time. Thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lovely book - but the Kindle edition...., 23 Jan. 2014
By 
W. Cartledge "The Spinneys" (Norfolk UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a lovely book witten by an extraordinary man. The books' early finished prose is classic Leigh-Fermor; the diary from Mount Athos is raw, but an easier, lighter read.
The one spoiler for the Kindle edition is that I only found 2 footnotes in the whole of the book that functioned correctly.
This isn't good enough and needs fixing for what is a relatively expensive book in the Kindle Store.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Christmas present, 6 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought as a Christmas present and has gone to a good home.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Exciting life, 12 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Broken Road: From the Iron Gates to Mount Athos (Paperback)
excellent book, what an exciting life this man had.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars worth waiting for, 3 Oct. 2013
By 
Jmm Taylor (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is an extraordinary achievement - to re-create a book that was never written. It is a worthy companion to A time of Gifts and Between woods and water
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At long last!, 3 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I loved this book! It is different from the first two volumes of `the great trudge' - in many ways more intimate. I especially enjoyed the final chapter about Mount Athos. I SO want to go there!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 16 7 812 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Broken Road: From the Iron Gates to Mount Athos
The Broken Road: From the Iron Gates to Mount Athos by Patrick Leigh Fermor (Paperback - 10 April 2014)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews