Customer Reviews


83 Reviews
5 star:
 (52)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All manner of things are well
I have to admit to some trepidation when hearing that the final volume of this great trilogy was to be pieced together from the diaries and journals of PLF. I should have been reassured by the knowledge that both Colin Thubron and Artemis Cooper would be at the helm, but nerves still prevailed as I dipped in for the first time. I am sure that I am not alone in thinking...
Published 11 months ago by Mr. A. G. Liddle

versus
25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars After such a long wait, a bit of a disappointment
Don't get me wrong, much of it is in PLF's inimitable style, and frankly it's a great relief to (almost) finish the journey having been stuck in limbo at the Iron Gates for several years since reading volume 2.

But of course having been compiled by his biographer and literary executor from the notes he left behind, it's not exactly what PLF would have written...
Published 10 months ago by Michael Hill


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All manner of things are well, 25 Sep 2013
By 
Mr. A. G. Liddle "aliddle" (Norwich, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
I have to admit to some trepidation when hearing that the final volume of this great trilogy was to be pieced together from the diaries and journals of PLF. I should have been reassured by the knowledge that both Colin Thubron and Artemis Cooper would be at the helm, but nerves still prevailed as I dipped in for the first time. I am sure that I am not alone in thinking that the first two volumes of this extraordinary trilogy were the sole province of PLF and that the final "reconstruction" would somehow not live up to expectations. I was wrong!

The third volume is an absolute delight from beginning to end. PLF's voice (and what a voice) comes across loud and clear. The final chapters on Mount Athos are worth the price of entry alone. Witty, erudite, vivacious and, above all, a fitting last testament to a great writer who will be sorely missed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth the wait, 5 Oct 2013
I was initially reluctant to like this book: Artemis Cooper's recent biography had revealed aspects of PLF I didn't greatly like, and I was still sulking as a result; and the fact that the book had been patched together after the author's death made me over-sensitive to the occasional stylistic or grammatical howler. I should have been less prickly. The book is terrific. As usual, Leigh Fermor manages to combine the lyrical and the encyclopaedic in a leisurely way which never bores. Highlights for me were his slow meandering through the Balkan mountains, the bright lights and chatter of Bucharest high society, and the memorable scene in the cave on the Black Sea coast, with the dancing Greek fishermen.

Unlike some other reviewers I found the section on Mount Athos a little disappointing: monasteries are ticked off one by one, and the narrative has little space in which to breathe. I was surprised to learn that PLF apparently made several attempts to polish up the manuscript of this section, as it reads more like unreconstructed juvenilia than the earlier part of the book. Good in its way, though, and an interesting waystage in the development of the writer.

The book has an excellent jacket by the way. Ed Kluz is a worthy successor to John Craxton, who did most of PLF's covers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars After such a long wait, a bit of a disappointment, 1 Oct 2013
By 
Michael Hill (Beaconsfield, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Don't get me wrong, much of it is in PLF's inimitable style, and frankly it's a great relief to (almost) finish the journey having been stuck in limbo at the Iron Gates for several years since reading volume 2.

But of course having been compiled by his biographer and literary executor from the notes he left behind, it's not exactly what PLF would have written had he finished it himself. I was particularly disappointed by whole sections that PLF couldn't remember, and by the inclusion of quite a lot of material about what happened to Romania and Bulgaria after the impending war and from some of PLF's subsequent visits - which all feels rather like padding and an unnecessary diversion.

In my view it doesn't work as a stand-alone piece of literature, so if you haven't read the first two volumes don't start here. If you have, then it completes the journey, and the trilogy.

This book documents, in a slightly unsatisfactory manner, the final missing piece from what was, by any measure, an extraordinary life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Unbroken Record, 31 Oct 2013
By 
This is the third installment of Fermor's voyage across Europe. "The spectacular success of the first two volumes drastically increased public expectation of the third" avow Colin Thubron and Artemis Cooper in their Introduction to this book. I cannot say in all honesty that "The Broken Road" read in isolation is the best introduction to PLF, but for those already familiar with his work this book will not disappoint them.

In a way it is two books in one : the termination of his long journey to Constantinople and extensive extracts from "the Green Diary" written up at the time he was only twenty. This covers his peregrinations over the monastic state of Mount Athos, after he left Istanbul. It is therefore much simpler in style with an immediacy that he certainly tried hard to recapture in his later writing - but without the painstakingly rewritten Byzantine prose !

Perhaps one of the reasons Paddy never quite managed to get round to editing his own material for publication was that in this latter part of the journey he dissembled less and gave a more transparent picture of his own character. When he suffers from the blues trudging the Wallachian plain between Tirnovo and Rustchuk he disarmingly admits it, except that his language is different. Today some might say that he exemplifies a mild case of bi-polar disorder - only "disorder" is already too strong and too damning a word to apply to an individual so incredibly sociable and sensitive. I would rather take it as an indication that he was thoroughly normal and that his amazing ability to circumvent his low threshold of boredom could not work in every extreme circumstance !

Be that as it may this book is a pearl for the initiated, not to be by-passed on any account. Moreover, I do not believe the mystique behind the man is in any way compromised - he remains a giant of humanity whose actual seeds of greatness are hard to discern.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars P.L.F. would certainly have approved, 19 Sep 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A worthy companion to "A Time of Gifts" and "Between the Woods and the Water".We are taken seamlessly on to the end of the journey.Having waited so long for this final book,one was anxious that it might be an anti-climax to read. But no! Savour P.L.F. for the final time. You will not regret it. A wonderful tribute to the fascinating man
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A well-crafted finale to a fascinating journey, 18 Nov 2013
By 
T. D. Dawson "tdawson735" (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
To me, as to many readers, those final words - 'to be concluded' - of Between the Woods and the Water were unexpected and anti-climactic. It left the 19-year-old Patrick Leigh Fermor sitting happily on a boat in the Danube with the Romanian town of Orsova a few miles away on the north bank and the (now Serbian) town of Severin a few miles away to the south.

During the 27 years after the publication of 'Between the Woods in the Water' Patrick Leigh Fermor - Paddy to everyone who knew him - made a number of attempts to write the story of the final part of his walk from the Hook of Holland to Constantinople. Working from fragmentary diaries and an uncertain memory he was still trying to complete the manuscript when he died in 2011.

Artemis Cooper and Colin Thurbron - his editors and literary executors - faced a daunting and near-Herculean task in attempting to edit and complete the story. But they've succeeded - and in the process produced a manuscript that retains both Paddy's unique and near lyrical style of writing and his detailed knowledge of the religions, languages and customs of the various countries through which he walked.

The touches of humour in the book - particularly when, arriving late at night on outskirts of Budapest, Paddy mistakes a brothel for a down-market hotel - are delightful. Then, a few pages later whilst hiking along a stony beach-side path late at night, he manages to fall into the extremely cold sea - and is rescued by a group of near-nomadic Bulgarian fishermen. He spends some time living with them in their cave, drinking slavo and trying desperately to work out the origins of their Greek dancing...

The original manuscript ends, quite literally, in mid-sentence with Paddy still some miles outside Constantinople. Unfortunately we're told very little about his stay in the city but (although Paddy would probably have wished otherwise) Artemis Cooper and Colin Thurbron have included the diary entries of his stay, in January and February 1935, at a number of monasteries on the Orthodox Monastic State of Mount Athos. It makes an excellent finale and is an almost natural lead-in to A Time to Keep Silence, the fascinating story of the time he spent many years later living almost as a novitiate at a number of Benedictine and Cistercian monasteries in France. Well worth reading.

Why only four stars? Perhaps because, for obvious reasons, it's not quite the Patrick Leigh Fermor whose other books I've so thoroughly enjoyed.

But, before you start reading 'The Broken Road', you'll probably find it helpful to print out a map of Bulgaria which includes the southern part of Romania plus, to the south, just a little of Greece.

Read and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very enjoyable, 21 Nov 2013
A thoroughly enjoyable conclusion of Paddy's `Great Trudge'. Some reviewers have commented that it doesn't stand alone as a book. Although there's a good introduction to Paddy's walk across Europe, I think the main audience will be fans who've already been enchanted by his earlier volumes. Hence, they know that they've diving straight into the continuation of a journey. As others have noted, the text is an early draft with some revisions made in the last years of Paddy's life. It's therefore a little inconsistent, and does have some weaker portions. The Bucharest section was a little lacking for me but I loved Bulgaria. There truly are some amazingly beautiful descriptions to be found here. It's almost unbelievable that Paddy didn't see what a jewel he already had, and got down to the polishing and refining in the period between Vol. 2 and his death in 2011. There are so many memorable scenes and some of the descriptions must rank amongst his best. The unevenness of some portions is balanced by the freshness of meeting a more vulnerable, home-sick, authentic Paddy than that which emerges from his more polished Time of Gifts and Between the Woods and the Water. The cover artwork is lovely and it's a worthy conclusion to an epic trilogy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Laundered and ironed on his way...., 10 Jan 2014
By 
C. Wake (West Country) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The publicity for the book was careful to talk it down - PLF's reluctance to complete before his death, the confusion of his mss, the incomplete ending etc - but I think all this was exaggerated. The first two thirds of the story is pretty much up to the standard of "Time of Gifts" and "Woods & Water", and if there is less purple prose, and the incidents are less interesting, that is simply because Bulgaria and Roumania were less fun than Hungary, as PLF indirectly makes clear.

As before, ladies old and young swoon at first sight of him (we see this by reading between the lines to be sure) and send him provisioned, laundered and ironed on his way (and no doubt satisfied in other ways, though he is discreet about this). The liveliest section is his stay in Bucharest, which starts with a stay in a cathouse in the suburbs, and ends in the halls and salons of the aristocracy and intelligensia. PLF then walked down the coast of the Black Sea, offering en route his most purple passage, a description of a night in a sea-cave with Bulgarian goatherds and Greek fishermen, well up to his most baroque standards. Not long after this the narrative simply stops, in mid-sentence.
His editors make a mystery of why he wrote no further, and of the disappointing entries in his youthful (lately recovered) diary for his time in Istanbul, but it is surely clear enough that it was the recovery of information which choked off his flow - he was at his best, and felt at his best, when his imagination and memory had free reign.

The book ends with the section of that diary which covers his subsequent visit to Mount Athos. It not very interesting in itself (there are much better descriptions in Robert Byron's book, for example) but does illustrate his youthful limitations (everyone is a "splendid type" or a "decent chap") and some of the hardships of the journey (in his favourite monastery he rejoices in "cutlery from which one is not forced to scrape a month's coagulated slime") which he often glosses over or makes entertaining in his worked-up writing.

This volume provides a fading end to his trilogy, but is well worth the read, if you have enjoyed the first two volumes: if you have not, I would not start here, but would suggest (obviously) that you start at the beginning, with "A Time of Gifts".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superlative, 23 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is like a rare vintage wine, sip it gently and don't binge drink. Having said that the prose skips along and it is mesmeric in its way. The book offers a picture of a vanished world, but reassures us that values of adventure and friendship survive. I recommend this book unreservedly - I've read all PLF's other books and they long ago formed the basis for my own stuttering career as a hack. This book is fuel for dreamers, walkers and anyone who believes life ultimately is the greatest gift of all time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Essential reading for Fermor fans but obviously not as good as the first two volumes, 27 Nov 2013
By 
Book Reader (Zurich and Florence) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
For enthusiasts for the wonderful books of Patrick Leigh Fermor (and they are many), this third posthumous volume of the story of his walk across Europe just before WW II is essential reading. I gave it four stars rather than five because obviously it cannot be as good as it would have been if he'd finished it himself. There are a number of bravura passages that will capture new readers as well although I recommend you start with the other two volumes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Broken Road: From the Iron Gates to Mount Athos
The Broken Road: From the Iron Gates to Mount Athos by Patrick Leigh Fermor (Paperback - 10 April 2014)
6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews