Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars9
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: PaperbackChange
Price:£10.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 March 2015
Thought this was a fascinating and incitefull book, picked this up a number of years ago. The book piqued my interest and have since picked up his second and third volumes of his travelling in the footsteps of ibn Battuta and also his translation of ibn Battuta's work which he picked up in book stall in the middle east. Having a fascinating guide to the medieval islamic world in ibn Battuta and such a good commentator in Tim Mcintosh Smith who has an infectious love for his medieval Arabic travel companion it is a match made in heaven, highly recommended. Am about to start his Yemen travels in a dictionary land looks like another excellent book.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2015
But then I am biased. I met Tim Mackintosh-Smith while I was working at the British Embassy in Sana'a in 1990. We became good friends. This book is about one extraordinary man - IB as I call him. Travelling more than 75,000 miles on his Rihla (spiritual journey) he eclipsed the travels of Marco Polo and yet so little is known or spoken of him. In this book Tim transports you the would be traveller back to a time without railways, aircraft and modern communication, back to a far simpler time when we spent time talking with each other, learning about people and not meeting them via social media. Anyone with even a hint of interest in Syria, China, the Arabian Peninsular and many other lands can;t help but be captivated by this extraordinary work. I commend it to you.. [this is my second copy - someone took a fancy to my original one and 'borrowed' it...]
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2012
I can usually read a book quite quickly but this one is so dense and interesting I'm deliberately reading slowly to extract as much enjoyment as possible.
It makes you realise too how much travel took place, whether intentionally or by people displacements in the first millenium.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2015
An utterly absorbing book which demands to be read slowly, in small doses. Not a page-turner, but something to be savoured. The author is clearly a master of his field, and his knowledge shines through on every page. But this is no dry erudite tome either there is much humour, which sometimes made me laugh out loud. A truly fascinating tbook on two levels: an exploration of the region today and a deeper examination of Ibn Battuta's fourteenth century periple. A real delight for those interested in such things!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2013
Literary, chatty, humorous by turns, this evoked an era we know little about in the West and quite delightfully. Recommended.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2002
This was a pleasure to read, from cover to cover. Tim Mackintosh-Smith packs every page with scholarly analysis, pithy observations on human nature and a clear sense of deep enjoyment of his journey (even in adversity). His Sana'a home must contain an extraordinary library; the entire book is peppered with insights from across the centuries. Perhaps the most vivid memory - TM-S sighing with contentment as he relaxes to await his next transport with all the true\desert-dweller needs for a happy life: shade, tobacco and cool water. A sage indeed. I can't recommend this too highly.
0Comment14 of 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2013
Excellent, fascinating book - recommended by a friend. Enjoying the high quality of writing and study on a little known world-traveller
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2015
what a great traila nd travel through countries and time with this knowledgeable author.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2011
good book. A bit too heavy on a lot of trivial detail which slows the narrative. But well written and enjoyable
0Comment1 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.