Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous collection
I don't write too many reviews, but after seeing that the only reader review was a 'one star' i thought it best to actually review the product and its content - something the previous reviewer hadn't done. Amazon's product blurb was quite clear that this collection was an omnibus of two previous collections. The few new articles added are a bonus. Lots of readers buy...
Published on 20 Sept. 2011 by Mrs. M. Daly

versus
5 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A word of caution!
BEWARE! Intrepid Deborah Devonshire readers - I fell straight into this nicely packaged little trap. This is, in fact NOT a new publication but two previously published books under one, new cover. The cost of return postage has taught me to read any book information with greater care!
Published on 24 Nov. 2011 by Mr. R. Wheatley


Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous collection, 20 Sept. 2011
By 
Mrs. M. Daly - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: All in One Basket: Nest Eggs by (Hardcover)
I don't write too many reviews, but after seeing that the only reader review was a 'one star' i thought it best to actually review the product and its content - something the previous reviewer hadn't done. Amazon's product blurb was quite clear that this collection was an omnibus of two previous collections. The few new articles added are a bonus. Lots of readers buy items based on readers 'star' ratings - giving this book a 'one star' rating is misleading if the reviewer's only gripe was with the fact that he/she had read much of the material before.
Now, to the actual item: written in The Dowager Duchess' inimitable style, it is upper-class chatty and always entertaining. If you like lively, witty prose with lots of social history and incisive observations then you will love this. I certainly did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A delicious basketful, 26 Oct. 2011
By 
L O'connor (richmond, surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: All in One Basket: Nest Eggs by (Hardcover)
Deborah Devonshire has had a long and interesting life, and this is a highly enjoyable collection of articles on the many diverse subjects that interest her. There is a lot about country life of course, about animals and country people and about her beloved Chatsworth. there are articles about people she has known and places she has visited, and fascinating accounts of the inauguration of President Kennedy, and of his funeral.

There are lots of passages I could quote from this entertaining volume, but my two favourites are about books. Of her own feeling about books she writes:

'I have read very few books and I have minded finishing them so much that I have often vowed not to start another. Coming to the end of some gripping story or reaching the inevitable death of the subject of a biography is like losing a friend whom you have begun to depend upon night and day in a secret liaison with the author. It is no good saying you can read it again. It is never the same the second time.'

That is quite unlike how I feel about books myself, I can read favourite books again and again and enjoy them more than I did the first time, but it is interesting to see such a different point of view. The other quote is about her father's taste in literature:

'My father's attitude to reading was most sensible. He only ever read one book and that was White Fang. He loved it so much he never read another because nothing could ever be as good. 'Dangerous good book', he used to say 'no point in trying any more.'

That surely must be the greatest compliment any book has ever been paid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a good read, 26 Nov. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All in One Basket: Nest Eggs by (Hardcover)
from receiving this book by deborah devonshirei must admit i am not one for reading this type of book,but i had heard what a very interesting book it was,and i have so far found this to be so i have only read a few pages and i find that once you pick this book up it is very hard to put down and when you put it down you are allready thinking what is in the next chapter.marvellous book very well written ,quite a few oh i did not realise that in this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All in one basket, 10 Dec. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All in One Basket: Nest Eggs by (Hardcover)
What a wonderful book written by a wonderful lady bought it for a present and had it returned after reading so that I could enjoy it as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I read this just before the grand lady Dowager Duchess died and so glad she left this with us to enjoy, 5 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All in One Basket: Nest Eggs by (Hardcover)
Lovely collection of thoughts, history, anecdotes and a gentle but humorous wit in the retelling of these . I read this just before the grand lady Dowager Duchess died and so glad she left this with us to enjoy. We won't see the like of this generation again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars All in One Basket, 24 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All in One Basket: Nest Eggs by (Hardcover)
I thoroughly enjoyed this book - well written in an easy style. A book that can be picked up and put down at will.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Another Christmas present, 1 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All in One Basket: Nest Eggs by (Hardcover)
Again, not my kind of reading but a present that was received with great delight. What more can I say?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 Oct. 2014
By 
S. J. Brewer (England UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: All in One Basket (Paperback)
Excellent a lovely lady see my other review
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A word of caution!, 24 Nov. 2011
By 
This review is from: All in One Basket: Nest Eggs by (Hardcover)
BEWARE! Intrepid Deborah Devonshire readers - I fell straight into this nicely packaged little trap. This is, in fact NOT a new publication but two previously published books under one, new cover. The cost of return postage has taught me to read any book information with greater care!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Beware, 17 Sept. 2011
By 
Ray Grove (Barnoldswick, Lancashire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All in One Basket: Nest Eggs by (Hardcover)
Beware those of you buying this book if you already own 'Counting My Chickens' and 'Home to Roost'. 'All in One Basket' combines both of those titles plus some 'New additions'. Rip off or what!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

All in One Basket: Nest Eggs by
All in One Basket: Nest Eggs by by Deborah Devonshire (Hardcover - 15 Sept. 2011)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews