Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A real five-star read
This volume is a splendid climax to the exciting and readable three-novel series covering the life of Saladin. The writing is detailed but entertaining, and carries the reader along.
The first section covers events up to the surrender of Jerusalem by Balian in 1187; readers may well find, as I did, images from the film 'Kingdom of Heaven' intruding into their...
Published 19 months ago by Mr. C. J. Nicholls

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars massey
I've enjoyed the series very much, excellent read, good descriptions of the battles involved with the series. The only criticism is I think the 3rd book runs out of steam concerning john and Salladin but I would recommend this series.
Published 16 months ago by massey


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A real five-star read, 22 May 2013
By 
Mr. C. J. Nicholls (Bristol, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This volume is a splendid climax to the exciting and readable three-novel series covering the life of Saladin. The writing is detailed but entertaining, and carries the reader along.
The first section covers events up to the surrender of Jerusalem by Balian in 1187; readers may well find, as I did, images from the film 'Kingdom of Heaven' intruding into their thoughts as the same events unfold. In the second part, Richard the Lionheart makes his entrance. Both the political and family twists and turns, as well as the battle scenes, are very well done - I didn't skip anything, which is pretty unusual for me on a first reading. Congratulations to Mr Hight for a top-notch read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Historical adventure, 21 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really enjoyed reading this book of holy conflict in foreign lands, which I finished in three days. Historically accurate
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another great episode, 19 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good storytelling and accurate period setting. A good read if at times a bit implausible vis a vis the friendship/contact between the main protagonists.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great conclusion to a great trilogy., 18 Aug 2013
By 
Mr. Noel Newman "Leon" (Cotswolds, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Using real and fictional characters to create a great story around real historical events. Great storytelling and rightly or wrongly, you feel you are getting an insight into one of histories great leaders.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Totally unexpected pleasure!, 10 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Loved this, so much so I went on to read the other two in the trilogy. Absorbing, loved the characters and descriptive writing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 22 Mar 2014
By 
Amazon Customer "Sussman" (London CA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This tome makes for an excellent ending to an enthralling to trilogy that traces Saladdin’s life. The author seems to wrap himself in dialogue; he enjoys the interaction and word play between his characters. It is nice to see the way in which the interaction is being created. At over four hundred pages this novel does take some small commitment, I would not call it a 'light read'. That said it is readable and if you like your fiction with a heavy dose of History then this is the book for you. What is also nice, in-deed more helpful is the fact that more detail and background information is available on the internet, via the book’s website. So if you wanted to know why Muslim prayer is five times a day, the Author's web page explains some rather interesting facts about this, the eye opener for this reader was the fact that some early Christian prayer and tradition showed great similarity to the way Islam prayer is performed, I am just illustrating one small thread. You do not necessarily need all these bits of information, as the book carries itself well. From my perspective all these little nuggets of information made the novel that more interesting. All in all a good series of books, for my tastes the book rated a good five stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars one of the best trilogies i've read, 30 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really enjoyed all 3 books in the Saladin trilogy, Mr Hight is a great writer and I've enjoyed his books as much as I have SJA Turney, Conn Iggulden and Ben Kane.

Thoroughly recommend this series on Saladin, a historical character who receives a lot less attention from writers than is deserved. Please feel free to correct me and recommend any other historical fiction based on this great leader.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Holy War(Saladin Trilogy), 15 Sep 2013
Tremendous read; finished the book easily within a week. A fascinating account of the war-planning/strategy/tactics, politics and man-management of soldiers and the various Kings and wanna-be(s) of that time and importantly also, friendship and loyalties. So many egos; typical of to-day as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars massey, 10 Aug 2013
I've enjoyed the series very much, excellent read, good descriptions of the battles involved with the series. The only criticism is I think the 3rd book runs out of steam concerning john and Salladin but I would recommend this series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great trilogy, well worth buying, 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I loved the Saladin Trilogy, all three books were highly enjoyable reads and give a different perspective to the time of the Crusades. I appreciate that the story of 'John' is fiction, but obviously Saladin is one of histories most remembered, and for some, revered characters. And he is shown here as a learned man, of strong principles, who could be utterly ruthless at times, but also capable of great acts of mercy and compassion. For the most part the leaders of the Crusades are shown as immoral, self aggrandizing and incompetent fools, and you have to wonder how different the world might be today, had the call to Crusade never happened. Many, if not all, of the battle scenes described are accurate and as well as being a great story the books give a fascinating insight to a period of time that, although some 900 years ago, still impact upon the world today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Holy War: 3/3 (The Saladin Trilogy)
Holy War: 3/3 (The Saladin Trilogy) by Jack Hight (Paperback - 5 Dec 2013)
£6.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews