Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars71
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£14.94+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 April 2013
I have just got in to this genre. I love it. It's one of those books you turn the tv off for. Start reading and you will realise that your stomach is growling because you have missed lunch and dinner. The pace is great and the experience is overwhelming. Nail biting and thought provoking to entire way.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2014
Well done colonel Stuart Tootal for a very refreshing,honest and truly a brutal in your face account of how it really was to fight front line action against a force who did not fight within the normal rules of engagement.Sir we salute you and the Parachute Regiment for you valour and stamina.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2016
I've read previous accounts of 3 Para's time in Helmand Province. This time it's the boss's account of things, fighting, looking after his men, and dealing with the confusing multi-national command structure. Very interesting, well written and well worth buying.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2013
This book really does explain the situations the british troops are going through in afghan, even tho its the para's who are known to get the tough job, it still shows whats going on out there. Great read and i found it hard to put it down.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2013
I thought this was intelligent, well written and meant. It shows how Helmand in 2006 was underestimated as a task. It also shows the fighting qualities of the british Army especially 3 Para. Could be renamed as against all odds.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2013
What a superb account of what life under fire is really like! I would strongly recommend that anybody who has never been shot at, read this book and gain a soldiers eye view of what living and working in a war zone is really like.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2013
i am an ex-service man and this is the best book i have read on the alfganistan war.i felt like i was taking part in the action.its the only book that has given the royal irish reg the reconation they deserve for their bravery.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2014
An amazing telling of a true story. Stuart Tootals appointment as CO of 2 Para allows for an accurate assessment of the heroics of soldiers in combat. Recently made into a public ally funded movie. Well worth a read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2014
Colonel Tootal has related his experiences with 3 para in Afghanistan with such skill & realism that I am left in awe of the guys & gals that work in Afghanistan on a daily basis, an excellent read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2013
I had the good fortune to meet the author. I was impressed with his honesty and knowledge. This book offers a unique insight into a world few of us will have to experience.....thankfully
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)