Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Copy Cat
Yes, a perfect copy cat.

The author does a remarkable job in extending Doyle's portfolio; almost as cleverly as Doyle could have himself.

I ran across another book in which the author employs the analysis and deduction techniques that lifted Sherlock Holmes to the top of his game in solving a real life Vatican murder. The Vatican Murders: The Life...
Published 8 months ago by Roman Chamberlain

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful to see Wilde, but flagging a little.
I'm a huge fan of the series, and this book is much the same as what has come before.

It is still an absolute pleasure to see the characterisation of Oscar Wilde, as charming as ever, and this book has the happy advantage of making more of his relationship with Arthur Conan Doyle, as the writer still attempts to flee from the success of his Sherlock Holmes...
Published on 16 Mar 2012 by L. Williams


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Copy Cat, 16 Jan 2014
This review is from: Oscar Wilde and the Vatican Murders (Oscar Wilde Mystery) (Paperback)
Yes, a perfect copy cat.

The author does a remarkable job in extending Doyle's portfolio; almost as cleverly as Doyle could have himself.

I ran across another book in which the author employs the analysis and deduction techniques that lifted Sherlock Holmes to the top of his game in solving a real life Vatican murder. The Vatican Murders: The Life and Death of John Paul I proves the conspiracy that planned the 'Great Vatican Bank Scandal' was the same conspiracy that plotted the 'Murder of Pope John Paul I' Too, as well as Doyle could have himself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 26 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oscar Wilde and the Vatican Murders (Oscar Wilde Mystery) (Paperback)
This whole series of books are outstanding. Gyles Brandreth can appear to be one of the most irritating personalities on the TV, however, none of this comes across in his writing and these stories are well too, historically accurate and GRIPPING to the very end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very easy and enjoyable read, 22 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oscar Wilde and the Vatican Murders (Oscar Wilde Mystery) (Paperback)
Having read all of the previous Oscar Wilde books, I knew that this would be an easy and enjoyable read. Gyles Brandreth seems to have the knack of telling some really good stories just as though Oscar Wilde was speaking them. I am looking forward to the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another triumph by Giles Branreth!, 16 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I had read the first four Oscar Wilde mysteries so I knew what to expect. I wasn't disappointed. For me, one of the best things about this series is that you learn so much about the period and its personalities whilst reading a highly-entertaining mystery story. This time, the setting of the Vatican worked brilliantly well, especially for anyone who has visited Rome. I read this in two sittings and found it to be a very easy, enjoyable read. If like me you have enjoyed any of the other stories in the series then you are sure to enjoy this one too. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Two severed thumbs up, 11 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have enjoyed every one of the books in this series, but this one felt like returning to old friends. It flows so easily into the narrative. My only criticism is some of the motivation and plotting feels a tad bit coincidental. But, having said that, a truly enjoyable read from start to finish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Just have fun and count the quotes, 8 Jun 2013
By 
Martin A. Chambers (U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Oscar Wilde and the Vatican Murders (Oscar Wilde Mystery) (Paperback)
Some people take themselves too seriously, that it their fault; others also take those same people too seriously, that is their misfortune. I fear there is a great deal of false scholarship in Brandreth's book, that said it is, as is printed on the cover "Amusing and entertaining". Just so long as you remember that it is fiction you will enjoy this book. I found the need to shoehorn Wilde's lines into the plot tiresome to the extent that I was always looking out for them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Vatican Murders, 22 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An enjoyable read more a guide to Rome's tourist trail .When tracing the murderer it seemed to be done in a rush lacked build_up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wilde leaps from the page, 2 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oscar Wilde and the Vatican Murders (Oscar Wilde Mystery) (Paperback)
Although, to me, this is light reading I absolutely loved this book. Gilles Brandreth has certainly done his research. As a Catholic with a son who was a pupil at Stonyhurst College it was super interesting to me. Well done also on his character portrayal.....Wilde leaps from the page. Very entertaining read .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gyles Brandreth, 8 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fast and efficient service from Amazon as usual. I love Gyles Brandreth and Oscar Wilde so a very good combination!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another good book in the Oscar Wilde series, 31 Jan 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oscar Wilde and the Vatican Murders (Oscar Wilde Mystery) (Paperback)
I look forward to these stories; well plotted and well written. They evoke a real sense of being there - we want more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Oscar Wilde and the Vatican Murders (Oscar Wilde Mystery)
Oscar Wilde and the Vatican Murders (Oscar Wilde Mystery) by Gyles Brandreth (Paperback - 2 Feb 2012)
5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews