Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thoroughly enjoyable
I really enjoyed this book. Having been an expat myself in some 'hardship' postings I could relate to quite a lot of it. I could tell you multiple stories from my lives abroad (only not so well) which may sound equally preposterous but are absolutely true. This book is fun. It is not a hard hitting social commentary. Enjoy it for what it is.
Published 21 months ago by snowwhite181

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Relentless glibness
Having been involved in a small part of this world myself I was delighted to find this book and found some of it very amusing and recognisable. I did find the constant amusing stories a bit wearing towards the and the book is firmly about a certain type of middle class British family abroad.
Published 22 months ago by Clare in Kent


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Relentless glibness, 22 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having been involved in a small part of this world myself I was delighted to find this book and found some of it very amusing and recognisable. I did find the constant amusing stories a bit wearing towards the and the book is firmly about a certain type of middle class British family abroad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thoroughly enjoyable, 16 Oct. 2013
This review is from: Diplomatic Incidents: Memoirs of an (Un)diplomatic Wife (Paperback)
I really enjoyed this book. Having been an expat myself in some 'hardship' postings I could relate to quite a lot of it. I could tell you multiple stories from my lives abroad (only not so well) which may sound equally preposterous but are absolutely true. This book is fun. It is not a hard hitting social commentary. Enjoy it for what it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Low level humour, 27 Sept. 2011
By 
I seldom manage to read a book in one sitting, but this one is such an easy, not-mind-challenging read, I managed it at an airport. The incidents are numerous, but I found the book to rather superficial, with the incidents coming in rapid succession and without a great deal of detail. A number of them are sometimes slightly exagerrated (a guest, who overstayed his stay, returns unannounced to retrieve some objects and finds Cherry dancing on his bed in celebration of his departure). This is the kind of book you read, give to someone with an appropriate warning, and will never miss it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An Ideal Guest room read!, 4 Oct. 2011
By 
judith verity (wiltshire uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Lightly written stories of diplomatic life, full of an excellent insight into the diplomat's family adapting to different cultures and climates. Each chapter stands on its own, thus making a good occasional read. Some very good tips on, for instance, how to empty a pomegranate of its pips. The author calls herself '(un) diplomatic', but only shows how her sense of humour helped make the life of a diplomat's family possible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A Very British Book, 21 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a very amusing book. Cherry Denman has an open mind, a ready wit and a good turn of phrase. She is an experienced traveller and has a very British outlook on life, stiff upper lip, sense of humour and love of the ridiculous.

This is a light and simple read with some good laugh out loud moments and is perfect to pop into the suitcase
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not to be read on a train or in bed with one's partner., 22 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a laugh out book , the trouble is the vision remains prompting further impromptu giggles at inappropriate times.Read it and travel to far flung outposts of the diplomatic service, but forget the glamour and be prepared for anything.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Life of a diplomat's wife, 1 Nov. 2013
By 
G. Colville (Hertford, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Diplomatic Incidents: Memoirs of an (Un)diplomatic Wife (Paperback)
I enjoyed reading this very humorous account of the life of a diplomat's wife and what goes on behind the headlines, as it were. I would recommend the book as a very enjoyable read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Querky,insightful and Bang on the Money, 24 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A great read with wonderful illustrations by the author herself - no hiding behind a diplomatic veil, she tells of diplomatic life as it is - I laughed out loud more than once !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Superficially fun, 21 Sept. 2010
I was disappointed with this book. It certainly has it's funny moments. In fact, at times, it seems to have a few too many of them. The woman who gave birth in the middle of the earthquake with the hospital staff 'propping up the doorways so they wouldn't collapse'. (Did they really?) If it were just one anecdote like this, I might think it was amusing. But a whole book of them begins to sound just a little exaggerated.

The book isn't multi-dimensional enough to enable someone who has never experienced being a diplomatic wife abroad to understand or even begin to picture the experience; yet someone who has, or who has simply travelled a lot, is left wondering whether she had any experiences in foreign countries other than cocktail parties in embassies (which she didn't enjoy, incidentally).

Cherry reassures us that 'she wouldn't have missed it for the world'. But, when her book seems to lurch from moans about the inadequacy of her maids to complaints about cockroaches, I was left wondering, why?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Diplomatic Incidents, 22 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I romped through this enjoyable book. Witty and funny, every expat will enjoy reading about her experiences.
I hope she will write some more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Diplomatic Incidents: Memoirs of an (Un)diplomatic Wife
Diplomatic Incidents: Memoirs of an (Un)diplomatic Wife by Cherry Denman (Paperback - 12 May 2011)
£8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews