Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Delightfully dotty wedding memoir
This isn't really a guide to getting married, it's an affectionate look back at how it was for Lucy, starting with the first time she met her husband-to-be and ending back at the hotel immediately after the wedding.

Along the way there are myriad trials and tribulations. Neither Lucy or Christopher, her fiance, are particularly conventional or well-organised...
Published on 11 July 2010 by Love Books

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Wedding mania
This is a very open, honest, and amusing story of one woman's quest down the aisle, from the incredibly unlikely Prince Charming to her mother and sister's hyper-organisation complete with crises, mishaps and eventual wedded bliss (sort of).

What kept me laughing was that despite the ridiculous running around and occasionally farcical nature of the whole thing,...
Published on 8 July 2010 by H


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Delightfully dotty wedding memoir, 11 July 2010
By 
Love Books "Jessie" (Durham, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Reluctant Bride: One Woman's Journey (Kicking and Screaming) Down the Aisle (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This isn't really a guide to getting married, it's an affectionate look back at how it was for Lucy, starting with the first time she met her husband-to-be and ending back at the hotel immediately after the wedding.

Along the way there are myriad trials and tribulations. Neither Lucy or Christopher, her fiance, are particularly conventional or well-organised and although they've been to plenty of weddings, don't really know where to start. What follows is a mostly witty and entertaining account of the journey from the proposal to the altar.

I love Lucy Mangan's Guardian column and feel like I already know her family so I was thrilled to get the chance to read and review this book through Vine. And it is a good book, it's an easy read and very funny in places. But I did find the whole, slightly-self consciously clever dialogue began to grate after a while. Every time Christopher spoke (in the book) I couldn't help thinking of Boris Johnson who is the only person I've ever heard actually talk like that.

The best parts are Lucy's lovely descriptions of her gorgeous, gentle father whose mind is always elsewhere, her controlling, but still adorable mother and her truly delightful sister - and her best friend Gillian who I loved too.

I thoroughly enjoyed this book. As Lucy's dad said when his early morning peace and quiet was about to be disturbed by his guests getting up: "Ah well, it was lovely while it lasted."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great chick-lit; buy it for brides, 5 Aug 2010
By 
Beansmummy (Oxfordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Reluctant Bride: One Woman's Journey (Kicking and Screaming) Down the Aisle (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I enyoyed this. It is certainly not "great literature", and for me, not the sort of book I'll want to re-read repeatedly, but its a feel-good light holiday-type read, and anyone who has ever been involved in planning a wedding will find common ground with Lucy's story. (For those who are about to embark on creating their dream wedding, it may provide you with a bit of useful insight and maybe a sense of perspective, and should probably be on any recently-engaged woman's reading list!)

It is the based-on-true-life story of Lucy's wedding preparation, as she juggles the chaos of managing cupcakes, bridesmaids and dress fittings while pacifying relatives and co-ordinating her guest list and venue. It is witty and fun, well written and compelling.

So, don't expect Shakespeare, but enjoy an entertaining and wry smile-inducing read, pass it round to all your girlfriends for their fortnights on the beach, and buy new copies as engagement presents!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gentle British Wit, 15 May 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Reluctant Bride: One Woman's Journey (Kicking and Screaming) Down the Aisle (Paperback)
Lucy Mangham is witty. You can smirk all the way through this book. At the beginning of the book she decides to pretend that she works in shops and begins with a supermarket, but by the end she has forgotten about this pretence and admits to having been a lawyer whose friends are barristers and doctors like you might expect. It looks like an editing mistake because the book was pushed out in a hurry. In fact the editor should be shot as Uncle Alan is obliged to coast down every hill to save petrol twice on page 60. Never mind the sloppy editing, who needs perfection when you have so much to enjoy? It starts out as fiction and ends up as probably non-fiction. Maybe that's why it makes you laugh initially and then cry at the end, because reader, she really does love him. The wit is brittle British wit, never far from vulnerability, tragedy cloaked in irony and never that far from tears, except we manage, most of the time to veer towards laughter.

I think Lucy Mangham has a lot to tell the middle classes who they are and she does it as wittily and as gently as EF Benson (Mapp and Lucia) and EM Delafield (Diary of a Provincial Lady) and like them our life and times are described without mercy and yet with affection. They wrote in the 30's and we have had to wait until now to see their like again.

Don't call this chick lit, it is more affectionate and less affected, and don't call it holiday reading, because you'll want to read it more than once. I like to imagine that underneath all her entertaining banter she is really is trying to understand. Or maybe she does understand and yet she's making the reader feel clever for getting there first. Either way I think this book is a tad more complex that it pretends to be. Or not. Anyway read it and talk about it. Its fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious!, 17 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought this for the wife to read on holiday as she loves Lucy Mangan's columns in the Graun. She alternately snorted, whinnied, chuckled and full on belly laughed out loud while reading it and pronounced it brilliant after she finished it in one sitting (about four hours). Job well done!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Salt and Sweet., 15 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
She is a warm [in spite of herself] acerbic and funny original voice, sometimes laugh aloud funny, it's a difficult balance but she manages it with lightfooted grace. She is always surprising and underneath the wit you can sense the sharp legal mind but she also makes you feel part of her "family" and her world and I am very fond of all them. More please.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Funny and apt., 26 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Her style of writing and sense of humour make me laugh out loud. It brought back memories of planning my own wedding years ago. We also learn that Toryboy's name is actually Christopher.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant read for lovers of Lucy Mangan or those planning a wedding, 21 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Reluctant Bride: One Woman's Journey (Kicking and Screaming) Down the Aisle (Paperback)
I've lost count of the number of people I've lent this to. My only criticism is it is not the best title or packaging - it makes it look like trashy chick-lit, whereas I know it is also enjoyed by future grooms (read at home rather than on the train because of the cover...)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just love the writing style . . ., 20 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Have always been a fan of Lucy's column in the Guardian - was slightly anxious that a full book may not read the same. Fear not - it had me laughing out loud and adopting some of the more choice expletives - loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The reluctant bride, 19 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very funny, very good read. Can't wait for the baby book to add to what I've read in the Guardian
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It's Lucy Mangan, 13 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Reluctant Bride: One Woman's Journey (Kicking and Screaming) Down the Aisle (Paperback)
Do I need to say more? She is intelligant and funny and writes so brilliantly that I can't imagine who wouldn't enjoy her books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Reluctant Bride: One Woman's Journey (Kicking and Screaming) Down the Aisle
8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews