Customer Reviews


67 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A lush & burlesque tale of survival!
I bought this after reading good things about it, and I am so happy I did. This is a wonderful story, filled with emotion, colour and poetic description of even the worst mentionalble fact. Filled to the rim with love, despair, friends and foes, it paints a different picture of the Berlin, and it's two devestating wars, than I knew before. And it has made me want to...
Published on 30 Mar 2009 by Whimsical Witch

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Quite a sad story but well written
The book is not the best that I have read but the title is definitely appropriate! It does depict the luminous life of Lilly Aphrodite.

It is a rather sad story of a girl who became orphaned at a very young age during the war in Germany. Her struggles through life. No matter how bad it got, she tried her best and was a good person and it served her well to the...
Published on 10 Jun 2009 by Fan R


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book, 26 Dec 2010
This review is from: The Luminous Life of Lilly Aphrodite (Paperback)
I really enjoyed this book, found the characters engaging, and a great storyline. Fantastic writing and a really gripping story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great novel, 11 Dec 2010
By 
This review is from: The Luminous Life of Lilly Aphrodite (Paperback)
Really enjoyed this book. Would recommend it highly - fascinaing story, the writing draws you in and creates a world that you can picture really clearly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A book to consider, 7 Oct 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Luminous Life of Lilly Aphrodite (Paperback)
An evocative poignant, at times amusing, story of Germany pre WW11 - decadence, destruction and survival wrapped in exoticism.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A GREAT PIECE OF STORYTELLING., 13 Dec 2009
By 
ANITA "AF" (Glasgow, Scotland.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Luminous Life of Lilly Aphrodite (Paperback)
I enjoyed reading this novel immensely. I've read some of the positive reviews and don't have so much to add. I think what I particularly enjoyed about the story is how characters would disappear and then reappear later on, something which I find true to life. The descriptions of a war-ravaged Berlin are excellent...I could see myself wandering amongst the piles of recycled bricks. Highly recommended to any reader who enjoys well-researched, great storytelling. More of this please.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Easy and Enjoyable Read, 24 Oct 2009
By 
Mr. J. Goodall (Nottingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Luminous Life of Lilly Aphrodite (Paperback)
Set during WW1, story of two girls from an orphange who get separated many times but end up crossing paths. Easy read, great descriptions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good recommendation, 19 Oct 2009
By 
Jordan Paterson "A book a day!" (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Luminous Life of Lilly Aphrodite (Paperback)
A good friend of nice recommended this book as I'm glad I took her up on it. This is a story of life in World War I and what lily must go through to survive. It is based in Berlin and the challenges faced by an orphan and how her life goes through different stages and how she makes the most of the situation. A really good read that I would recommend to anyone that is interested in a different view point.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating, 13 Oct 2009
This review is from: The Luminous Life of Lilly Aphrodite (Paperback)
A wonderful tale of love and friendship blossoming in the unfortunate setting of a Berlin orphanage pre-WW1.

A fascinating tale of a star's rise to fame and the trials of life, love and relationships she encounters along the way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is literature., 4 Jun 2009
By 
Roy Brookes "roybrookes" (Hamburg, Germany) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Luminous Life of Lilly Aphrodite (Paperback)
There are books and then there is literature and this book is definitely in that category. It is so beautifully written and meticulously researched, it is a work of art. Some reviewers have complained that it does not have a happy ending, but it is not "schmalzy" and you accept the ending for what it is. Life often does not have a nice, clean happy ending.

The atmosphere and ambience of Berlin before, during and after the First World War is brilliantly captured, as are the rise of Nazism and the glory days of German cinema. You live through it with Lilly. Some of the writing is so good you have to stop and read it again - it is literally breathtaking. Images will stay with you long after you have finished the book. There are echoes of Dickens and other great writers but this is Ms Colin's own work in her own words and it is a masterpiece. I can not recommend it highly enough. If you enjoy good writing, buy it, borrow it or steal it. You will love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Luminous life indeed, 23 Mar 2009
This review is from: The Luminous Life of Lilly Aphrodite (Paperback)
I read this book as I enjoy books set within war time.This book had me unable to turn my light off at night and getting up was hard for several days. It was spellbinding as I couldnt quite work out if she had a happy ending..but you will have to read that for yourself!!! Lily went from rags to riches and back again several times within war torn Berlin and the U.S.A.. I found it powerful in its descriptions of the hardships that befell Berliners and felt huge sympathy for their plight.
Read it and you will not be disappointed ...you will smile,wince,feel great sadness and maybe even impotent rage but most of all immense pleasure in a book well executed!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


64 of 81 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very Film-Noir, 17 April 2009
By 
Me read (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Luminous Life of Lilly Aphrodite (Paperback)
The Luminous Life of Lily Aphrodite opens with Lily's birth. Her mother could be described as Bohemian and unconventional but her homelife is soon to be replaced by the 'family' she inherits as an orphan in a Berlin orphanage. Lily eventually befriends the streetwise Hanne who shows her life outside their home. When the orphanage closes Hanne and Lily lose touch (a recurring theme) and Lily has to grow up in a hurry as she struggles to survive in a brutal, war torn Germany.

This is where the real story begins and life for Lily just seems to be one trauma to deal with after another.

Things are bleak, depressing, grim and hopeless. Through it all though, Lily seems to keep her chin up, while all around her people are dropping like flies and making poor choices. There's not a lot of luminosity in Lily's life though, despite what the title tells you. I had thought that Lily would make a name for herself as an actress and I'd be able to revel in the success she enjoyed, but mostly there isn't a lot to celebrate. Any success she has is accidental or brought about by being in the right place at the right time and I never got the impression that Lily was very instrumental in getting to where she was.

Most of her good luck stems from the fact that she was breathtakingly beautiful with haunting eyes and a voice like a caress.....at least that's how everyone else sees her, Lily herself doesn't know what the fuss is about.

I didn't hate the book, but it's difficult for me to really love a book when things are so bleak. I was hoping for the payoff at the end, where some sort of reward was waiting for Lily, to compensate for all the hardship and fight she had to contend with, but No, the end is the worst part of all.....for Lily at least.

Beautifully written, and very well researched, it's brings the German era surrounding the first world war and the Weimar rule startlingly into focus.
I suppose it's content can be best summed up by the cover artwork .... it's very Film-Noir.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Luminous Life of Lilly Aphrodite
The Luminous Life of Lilly Aphrodite by Beatrice Colin (Paperback - 8 Jan 2009)
£6.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews