Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars e-ffrindiau, 13 Mar 2010
By 
R. Chamberlain "Bex" (Surrey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: E-Ffrindiau (Paperback)
This book is a must for any learner of the welsh language. There are very few books aimed at welsh learners and it was so nice to be able to read something in Welsh that I understood! The book has a series of e-mails written between 2 welsh speakers (one in Wales, one in Australia)and uses vocabulary you learn in the first few years of wlesh learning. Each page has a vocabulary section to translate any trickier words/phrases that have been used. Well worth buying if you want another resource to support your learning!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ffantastig! An excellent resource for Welsh learners., 15 Sep 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: E-Ffrindiau (Paperback)
This is a truly oustanding supplementary resource for students of Welsh at the beginner's level. It is a story presented in the form of email correspondence between two Welsh learners. The language is carefully graded, the story is entertaining and interesting, and the vocabulary introduced is all very practical and natural. I would highly recommend this to anyone in the beginning stages of Welsh study.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A bit 'My First Welsh Book', 18 April 2012
This review is from: E-Ffrindiau (Paperback)
I would absolutely recommend this to another learner as their first Welsh book. It starts of simply with short sentences and slowly gets more complicated towards the end (but even then, not very). If you're wondering what book to read to kick-start your reading, this is it.

It is also, however, really quite boring. This is probably inevitable considering its audience and the average limited vocabulary of a learner. The enjoyment of this book comes not from the plot or story but rather that feeling of 'Bloody hell, I'm reading a book that's not written in English!' I got through it quite easily, but I'm sure I'd have got through it quicker if I'd found it more interesting. If I could, I'd have given it 3.5 stars.

Once you've finished this one I'd suggest you try the Blodwen Jones books, then one called 'Modrybedd Afradlon'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have, 1 Nov 2011
This review is from: E-Ffrindiau (Paperback)
This book is fantastic if you are learning Welsh. I was actually reading it in Welsh and understanding it without translating. It is also a really good story to follow. I haven't put it down!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Learning Welsh, 12 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: E-Ffrindiau (Paperback)
Wife loves it has helped her no end to master the language would certainly recommend it to anyone keen to learn Welsh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent additional aid for Welsh learners, 19 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: E-Ffrindiau (Paperback)
This text was recommended by my tutor as an additional help in learning Welsh. It is written as an email correspondence between two Welsh learners on opposite sides of the world, and, as would happen in practice, the constructions and vocabulary gradually become more complex as the books moves on in time. It is written in "South Wales Welsh" and there are very useful footnotes throughout the book. I thoroughly recommend this text to entry-level Welsh learners.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars E-Ffrindiau, 6 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: E-Ffrindiau (Paperback)
This is a clever book for learners of the Welsh language. The dialogue between the two friends at each end of the world gets steadily more complicated as the book progresses and the reader acquires knowledge of the two people involved and their activities.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaa481ce4)

This product

E-Ffrindiau
E-Ffrindiau by Lois Arnold (Paperback - 10 July 2009)
5.30
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews