Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The bond we need
Although I think the book is missing a major, if not the main, reason that western society has deteriorated (psychopaths that have risen to the top of the food chain and influenced society - read `Snakes in Suits', `Political Ponerology', and `Puzzling People' to name just a few) it does give many interesting examples that normal humans thrive in many ways in a society...
Published on 27 Mar. 2012 by M. Longaz

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit slow
Ive read quite a few books of this type and didnt find this as easy to read or immediately inspiring as say... Tolle. Still worthwhile if the writing style suits you.
Published on 24 May 2012 by Les47


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The bond we need, 27 Mar. 2012
This review is from: The Bond: Connecting Through the Space Between Us (Paperback)
Although I think the book is missing a major, if not the main, reason that western society has deteriorated (psychopaths that have risen to the top of the food chain and influenced society - read `Snakes in Suits', `Political Ponerology', and `Puzzling People' to name just a few) it does give many interesting examples that normal humans thrive in many ways in a society based on principles of sharing and mutual support and that the lack or deterioration of such a connection or bond is at the root of many ills and problems that we face as a society.

Her overall premise is that there is a bond to life that has not been fully explored that flies in the face of accepted beliefs and theories such as Darwin's evolution and Dawkin's selfish gene and I have to say that I really like her books because they open me up to new areas of thinking and research.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A crucial perspective to test for viability, 16 Sept. 2011
By 
David Dewhurst (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Bond: Connecting Through the Space Between Us (Paperback)
While Lynne McTaggart's latest will be very digestible for New Agers and self-proclaimed altruists, who will probably buy most copies, I think it should be taken seriously by those of us who have some pride in their scepticism, - even though it is endorsed by soft popularists who will provoke a 'not serious' response among harder nosed readers of popular science and sociology. The academic references I know about are solid, and the rest look pretty plausible.

The basic idea, that the whole system explains more than its elements, that we are inextricably linked - from sub-atomic particles, to individuals, to social groups, and therefore that our focus on individual identities and interests is warped, has been around for a while in some brands of mysticism, ancient philosophy and socialism (whatever the latter means - it's a word McTaggart wants to distance herself from). However McTaggart's marshalling of several hundred academic studies from physics, through biology and psychology to sociology and touches of politics and economics is an accomplished challenge to the western 'thingified' and isolated worldview which is losing utility.

The warm fuzzy conclusion, which I intellectually accept, is that we are happier, healthier and more fulfilled when we recognise our reflections in one another and act with loving altruism. But is there enough evidence to convince the naive social darwinist or game theorist who would define ultimate success as ethnically cleansing the rest of the universe and filling it with clones of oneself? Or more gently can you get the girl (or boy) without showing off or defamation?

Actually McTaggart cites theory and example from a Nobel prize winning schizophrenic to show that maybe you can. Collective co-operation, a bit like the elusive perfect market, can give everyone the best deal. It just takes more social sophistication. Making that implicit in most social interaction could be part of saving the world. And tracking the waves of interactions in most scenarios will teach us more about it. Towards that mindshift, 'The Bond' makes a good start; without it don't bet on getting (y)our selfish genes through the end of this century.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Lynne McTaggart success, 17 Sept. 2011
This review is from: The Bond: Connecting Through the Space Between Us (Paperback)
Lynne McTaggart is a gifted investigative journalist. If you've read any of her other other books - The Field; What Doctor's Dont' Tell You; The Intention Experiment - you'll know that in seeking to create a credible, usable language to further bridge selected science and faith thinking, she not only succeeds but also backs her findings up with validated research.

Never more so has this been true that in The Bond. It is overflowing with a new take on how everything exists as a micro part of a macro intelligent energy. Her siting of scores of studies from researchers, universities, scientists, medical schools and modern-day quantum physicists is a testament to her passion to draw people away from the media-hyped 'new-agey' type thinking around this topic.

What can sometimes be a bit of an intense read (the reports of experiments that substantiate McTaggarts principles are sometimes delivered in such detail that I found myself thinking 'please, just the top line') is overridden by the range of schools of thought that she manages to pull from, over 10s and 100s of years. She then links those theories over continents and generations to show that the evidence points to a single conclusion. Brilliant!

If you've read no other Lynne McTaggart, I recommend starting with The Field to understand the foundations of this subject area, then The Intention Experiment ... then Then Bond.

If you're not convinced that everything's connected and purposeful by that point ... take a beach walk or stare at the detail of an orchid flower! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a better way, 2 Oct. 2011
By 
D&D - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Bond: Connecting Through the Space Between Us (Paperback)
[Later note: "The Longevity Project" by Friedman and Martin is a groundbreaking 80-year study and overview of what is really directly linked to happiness and health. Don't miss!]

In this excellent book McTaggart has compiled together all that I had learned in my own voracious research for over a decade (probably closer to 2 decades, actually) - and much more. She started looking because she believed there must be a better way. Throughout this book she provides reams of proof that there is such a better way - and that we only need to change our focus to see how much of it can already be found in this world.

McTaggart has dedicated her life to finding a better way. Author of the exciting book "The Field" and founder of the invaluable newsletter "What Doctors Don't Tell You", which was one of the earliest of its type, in this book she pulls together a great deal of research about our deep need for connection and its wide-ranging rewards.

Myself a compulsive reader and compiler of enormous amounts of information on what research has discovered on happiness and health, I've read thousands (hundreds each year) of books varying from overcoming adversity, dealing with anger and/or fear, on forgiveness, through "true" success and all the way to optimism, gratitude and happiness. I learned to value the research-based books highly, given the numbers of self-help offerings apparently based on little but wishful thinking.

I've read about, investigated and/or experimented with so many processes, techniques and products for healing. From the mid-1990s I intensively researched nutrition, naturopathy, hands-on bodywork, energy healing and emotional healing. I spent tens of thousands on a huge variety of seminars, workshops and trainings. I'm not even going to start listing the endless spiritual books, tapes, CDs, and DVDs, including (and this is just a partial list) those by Walsch, Marciniak, King, Villoldo, Millman, Clow, Rasha, Osho, Aurobindo, Braden, Hicks, Long, Carey/Zoosh, Carroll, Hubbard, Perkins, Kybalion, Hall, Hawkins (David, not Stephen), de Mello, Redfield, Tolle, Renard and A Course in Miracles.

So I already knew a great deal of the information offered in this book about the importance of kinship, of helpfulness/giving, and of communication between living things to health, happiness and fulfillment; not just in humans but from the smallest to the largest, from plants and monkeys to planets and universes. The author has put all this information, and lots more, together in a thoughtful and insightful manner.

We have a deep need for ties, for community and for sharing - and McTaggart shares research showing, for example, that the closeness of one's social network is the major factor in prevention of heart disease, that emotions (positive and negative) are contagious, about the differences between western cultures fostering individualism and of eastern cultures' attention to context and relationship, and so much more. The author demonstrates how we are all hardwired to co-operate, rather than to compete, despite the dog-eat-dog world we are told is the natural way.

Yes indeed, there many better ways to be seen all around us. McTaggart is a leader in showing us one of these better ways.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars another good book from Lynne Mc Taggart, 12 Sept. 2011
This review is from: The Bond: Connecting Through the Space Between Us (Paperback)
After reading the authors previous works I wondered if The Bond would live up to her high standard of writing. I am not dissapointed, this is another book to relish reading and with much to learn from. It really stimulates my thinking and provides many interesting insights into how we are all connected.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The science of the compassionate human spirit., 1 Sept. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bond: Connecting Through the Space Between Us (Paperback)
This book illustrates our need as western people for the assurance of scientific evidence of the deeply profound truth (our intuition tells us just this, but we can't always hear it ) - that we thrive when we pull together; not when we compete.

Bravo Lynne - keep writing!

Jenny Connatty
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tantalisingly close to World Peace., 7 Mar. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bond: Connecting Through the Space Between Us (Paperback)
This book brings about a deep understanding of how we as a species seem to be so far from creating a World of Peace and Love, yet somehow we are so tantalisingly close.
Each chapter is full of those moments when you realise that everything makes so much more sense.
After reading this book and others such as `A New Earth' by Eckhart Tolle and `A Return to Love' by Marianne Williamson it is as though a light has been switched on after stumbling around in the dark for years.
These books and others like it help to bring about a much-needed change of heart for the World as a whole.
Q...What have the critics of these books got to offer when it comes to a change of heart for the World....'Survival of the fittest' in a `dog eat dog' World....Never! (That's my own view)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The spiritual significance of The Field, 27 Mar. 2013
By 
Dr. H. A. Jones "Howard Jones" (Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Bond: Connecting Through the Space Between Us (Paperback)
The Bond by Lynne McTaggart, Hay House, 2011, 336 ff.

McTaggart wrote a highly successful book in 2001 called The Field. In this she explained in as simple layman's terms as possible the evidence for and the significance of the quantum energy field. It sounds like a rather rarified subject, but even this earlier book, generated by numerous interviews with scientists concerned in the relevant research, McTaggart showed in her easy writing style that the quantum field has applications well beyond atomic physics.

Here, the author revisits the subject but focuses now on the personal and human significance of the quantum field energy. The idea of the universal interaction of subatomic particles through the energy field is applied as a metaphor for the interactions between individuals amongst humankind. But where interactions between particles occur whatever we do, the author makes the point that The Bond which should exist between each and all of us is in fact fractured. McTaggart says: `we are in a constant relationship with everything and everyone . . . we must share and recover wholeness in our lives if we are to survive and flourish'. This is a message we hear so often from so many people but, as the message is clearly not getting through as it should, we need as many different ways of saying the same thing from different authors until humankind is alert enough to actually care whether we continue our existence on Earth or not: `We can begin to take charge of our own destiny only when we consider the Bond in its entirety, as a superorganism, completely interrelated'.

Basically, this book is a lament for the greed and self-interest that pervade our society following an obsessive application of the Darwinian idea of `Survival of the fittest'. It has become normal practice to cheat and steal, to distort and deceive others all in the name of `progress' for one's self or one's company. Not that this book is an unending tale of woe, by any means. The author begins with some of the basic physics needed to understand the concept of the quantum field, the energy of which supplies The Bond between subatomic particles. Having described something of the fundamental particles of matter, McTaggart then goes on to explore DNA - the fundamental building block of life. She describes the fundamentals of epigenetics, calling on its historical beginnings with Lamarck and Waddington, and shows how genes can change their function in response to environment. As usual, the discoveries are engagingly told as stories in relation to their discoverers.

As psychologists tell us, our greatest human need is a sense of belonging. Our striving for continual material prosperity is so that others will consider us their equal and accept them into their social group. Citing recent research, McTaggart says that social alienation, together with poor nutrition and unhealthy lifestyle choices, is responsible for many of today's illnesses. Bonding with other people or helping them altruistically on the other hand is innate and beneficial to health. The third and final section of the book is about Restoring the Bond - thinking of ourselves as communities rather than as individuals - and includes fascinating detail about how indigenous people used intuition to forewarn them of the 2004 tsunami, related as an example of the use of our sixth sense. This is another excellent book from McTaggart. As usual with this author, there are Notes indicating original sources (23 pages), a comprehensive Bibliography (25 pages) and an Index.

Howard Jones is the author of Evolution of Consciousness

The Field: The Quest for the Secret Force of the Universe
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit slow, 24 May 2012
By 
This review is from: The Bond: Connecting Through the Space Between Us (Paperback)
Ive read quite a few books of this type and didnt find this as easy to read or immediately inspiring as say... Tolle. Still worthwhile if the writing style suits you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A way forward for everyone, 21 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bond: Connecting Through the Space Between Us (Paperback)
Lynne McTaggart has a way with words and writes for anyone who cares to read! She brings the world of science to a level that is easy to understand and points out why we are the way we are. Then she helps us to see a clear way to a better future. We can't ask for more than that. As others have praised her, I completely agree! No need to repeat their wonderful reviews. I just want to encourage people to read this book - I have it both in paperback and Kindle edition - and was regularly nodding in agreement as I read. We need to reach across to each other, through our Bond, and repair our world so that our children, grandchildren and great-grandchildren, as well as we,ourselves, will be able to live happier, more productive, lives.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Bond: Connecting Through the Space Between Us
The Bond: Connecting Through the Space Between Us by Lynne McTaggart (Paperback - 15 Aug. 2011)
Used & New from: £0.28
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews