Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


63 of 63 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Food for thought
I read Shelf Life by the same author and was impressed by his ability to see meaning in everyday life so I thought I would try this book. It is a collection of thoughts and observations which can be read in one minute or less. It could be read straight through but I think the reader will miss a lot by doing this. It is better to dip into it a few pages at a time and...
Published on 13 Mar 2011 by Damaskcat

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the best, not the worst.
There are lots of thing to admire about this book, valuable insights throughout.
For me, however, much of the delivery is too "sermonised". Perhaps to be expected, as the author spent many years as a Church of England minister, but, not to my taste, unfortunately.
Published 17 months ago by Mr. J. Schofield


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

63 of 63 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Food for thought, 13 Mar 2011
By 
Damaskcat (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I read Shelf Life by the same author and was impressed by his ability to see meaning in everyday life so I thought I would try this book. It is a collection of thoughts and observations which can be read in one minute or less. It could be read straight through but I think the reader will miss a lot by doing this. It is better to dip into it a few pages at a time and think about what the author is saying.

There are thoughts on anger and despair and thoughts about letting go and forgiving. If you've ever noticed how the world seems to conspire against you when you're in a bad mood then this is the book for you. I found reading a few pages and thinking about what was being said really helped me when I was feeling down or upset. The author reminds you that there are more important things in the world and that pleasure can be obtained from everyday things - a sunny day, a smile.

Well worth keeping beside you to dip into when needed or perhaps when you wake up or before you go to sleep. I shall definitely be returning to this book again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


56 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Calm, 30 April 2011
This review is from: One-Minute Mindfulness: How to Live in the Moment (Paperback)
I am currently having Counselling and my Counselor often talks about being 'mindful' but i've never really fully understood the meaning of it.

This book doesn't patronise, or lecture you. It's not one of those 'self-help' books that say the same thing over and over again...leaving you with thinking "If only it were that simple..."

It's a series of little events....of analogies and meditations that cause you to think...and apply the meaning by yourself to your own situation.

Each mini meditation is no more than a page long, so it makes it easy to commit to reading one a day at least and it helps to re-focus your mind and bring you back to the present.

If you are, like me, a big thinker and a worrier, this book certainly helps you to think in a different way, but also enables you to make the decision to think that way for yourself.

An empowering and beautiful read! Without sounding too flowery, this book is changing my life.

Thank you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent overview of 'mindfulness', 11 Aug 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One-Minute Mindfulness: How to Live in the Moment (Paperback)
A superb book and a good way to start each day. The book takes you through the process of mindfulness in short relevant vignettes with the emphasis of living in the present moment. This should be obvious to all but we frequently lose sight in the chase and minutia of every day life and it is all too easy to lose the wisdom so eloquently presented here. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Breathing for a quieter mind, 4 Feb 2011
By 
Hollyhock (South Coast, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One-Minute Mindfulness: How to Live in the Moment (Paperback)
For people who like humour as well as common sense in their meditation books, this book is for them. Simon Parke concentrates on simple breathing techniques to bring one's mind into the present moment and quieten one's thoughts; ever more necessary for most of us today. Following on from the ever popular and widely read 'One Minute Mystic' this book, too, contains thought-provoking, often moving, evocations of ways in which we confront life's joys and sorrows. I try to read a thought or two every morning to 'set myself up' for the day ahead. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 4 Jan 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One-Minute Mindfulness: How to Live in the Moment (Paperback)
Buy it. It's amazing! Dip in and out, I'm not sure who this man is but he is very wise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars mindfulness in minutes.............., 25 Oct 2012
By 
W. Aisthorpe "wendy" (U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One-Minute Mindfulness: How to Live in the Moment (Paperback)
A lovely book, enables people to just read a page a day if they wish, some people lead very busy lives and this is just one way in which 'mindfulness' can be fitted in......some very good 'teachings'.................enjoyable 'wisdom'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the best, not the worst., 4 May 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One-Minute Mindfulness: How to Live in the Moment (Paperback)
There are lots of thing to admire about this book, valuable insights throughout.
For me, however, much of the delivery is too "sermonised". Perhaps to be expected, as the author spent many years as a Church of England minister, but, not to my taste, unfortunately.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not quite what I was after., 4 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I don't think this book is a poor book, but I was looking for one with explanations of techniques or exercises use follow. Have since found one, but may return to this one at a later date.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good for a coffee or loo break., 4 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One-Minute Mindfulness: How to Live in the Moment (Paperback)
Changes your thought process asnd stops the thoughts at hand and going round and round( monkey mind). Taken with a few slow breaths, if circumstances allow, it relaxes mind and body. Can be used as a distraction technique during periods of extreame tension.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy to read dip in and out at random., 11 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One-Minute Mindfulness: How to Live in the Moment (Paperback)
Easy to read. Good value sound advice. Better than a psychiatrist in your own home.Pick up and put down at your leisure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

One-Minute Mindfulness: How to Live in the Moment
One-Minute Mindfulness: How to Live in the Moment by Simon Parke (Paperback - 3 Jan 2011)
£7.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews