Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

43 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 9 Sep 2010
This review is from: Feeding Your Demons: Ancient Wisdom for Resolving Inner Conflict (Paperback)
This book is amazing. It's the first book I've found that actually WORKS. I've read many, many books on spirituality and also on depression, my frustration has been that they tell you to change your thinking but don't actually tell you clearly HOW. This book does, simply and very effectively.

The author is kind enough to give the steps early on in the book, not right at the end, so you can start working very quickly. Then discovering the different types of demon you can identify which you need to work with. It's well written, sensitive and I would say the best practical spiritual book I have ever read. I feel liberated :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ancient wisdom cooked up in order to transform our demons, 1 May 2010
By 
Marguy Krier - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Feeding Your Demons: Ancient Wisdom for Resolving Inner Conflict (Paperback)
A fascinating book combining elements of psychodrama with Buddhist Ancient Wisdom. Not only that Tsultrim Allione teaches us not to fight our demons, she explains us how to accept them, give them a form and feel their very deep needs in order to transform them into allies, helping us thus to surmount our own dramas, old or new, surpass our fears, for the benefit of ourselves and all sentient beings. With astonishing effect. A book to be kept :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Our inner demons are always with us, 30 Jan 2010
By 
Ms. Claire Murphy (Hertfordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Feeding Your Demons: Ancient Wisdom for Resolving Inner Conflict (Paperback)
Tsultrim Allione has written a superb piece on a very ancient practice and has made it very accessible to us here in the West.
I particularly enjoyed reading of her background and how her life related to her own journey through the practice of Chod, which is what the book relates to - the 5 step way of dealing with your demons.
Very thought provoking, but by no means too heavy-going either.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Demons beware, 26 Sep 2010
This review is from: Feeding Your Demons: Ancient Wisdom for Resolving Inner Conflict (Paperback)
I would really recommend this book. Initially I didn't think I would enjoy it that much and I found all the case studies a bit tedious but the biographical detail of Tsultrim Allione herself is very interesting, as it was in Women of Wisdom. I think the Five Steps are really practical and helpful and it's quite a brilliant adaptation of the Chod practise for 21st century. Whether you are Buddhist or not this simple practise can really release alot of problems and tensions in your life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Profound teaching from a realised teacher, 28 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Feeding Your Demons: Ancient Wisdom for Resolving Inner Conflict (Paperback)
To read this is a rare opportunity because the writer has been recognised as an Emanation of Machig Labdron on whose practice of Chod the book and technique is based. So, she is both a western woman and Lama, with deep links to the practice, which she has then been able to re-word for modern times for any one needing the help the practice can give- an outstanding achievement.
This book, and the writer, are "The Real Thing" as you might say. She was recognised by authentic Tibetan teachers as a manifestation of this lineage and for carrying its teachings forward.
What is so impressive is the way she makes the benefits available to anyone without a background of Tibetan Buddhism in such a simple and direct manner. It is an extraordinary book and will I suspect become a classic of spiritual literature. Her Motivation is the key factor behind the book and it is that that elevates it into a different place from a 'self-help' book as the benefits will be profound. The last chapter is probably the most important when you realise how much the modern word could benefit from applying the insights within the book.
She gives the 5 step process very clearly early on in the book and the examples of how others were helped by it it are very useful. There is a useful brief summary of it at the back you can turn to when working with it. She covers many problems and the likelihood is you well have been affected by one or some of them and could gain benefit from addressing the problem, moving through it and out the other side to a new strength by using the effective process given in the book.

If you are interested in knowing more about the original practice of Chod it is explained in Chapter 5 of Words of My Perfect Teacher by Patrul Rinpoche-"The kusali's accumulation:destroying the four demons at a single stroke" (perhaps a better translation than 'destroying' in the light of Lama Tsultrim's insights would be transforming maybe.) If you want to know about the actual Tibetan Buddhist practice Patrul Rinpoche's is the most authentic explanation of the actual practice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 11 May 2011
This review is from: Feeding Your Demons: Ancient Wisdom for Resolving Inner Conflict (Paperback)
This book is fantastic! Not only is it written in an easy to follow, informative way, it also has just the right amount of case histories and personal experiences from the author. No need to have a Buddhist perspective here as Tsultrim Allione has expertly blended Eastern wisdom with Western cultural understanding. What's more the practice really works! I know, I've tried it!! And if you get the chance to attend a workshop, it's a life changing experience...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Supporting your truth in a clearing and shifting process , tool for life, 6 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Feeding Your Demons: Ancient Wisdom for Resolving Inner Conflict (Paperback)
Fantastic understanding of how to deal and live with life's processes that come up through the path of self discovery
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A new take on an ancient practice, 7 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Feeding Your Demons: Ancient Wisdom for Resolving Inner Conflict (Paperback)
This book is an interesting take on the ancient Tibetan meditation practice called Chöd from an accomplished teacher of the traditional form. However, this book does not present Chöd as it is traditionally done by Tibetan Buddhists. That usually involves ritual instruments, complex visualizations, chanting in Tibetan and initial empowerment by a recognized teacher.
Instead Lama Tsultrim has taken the core principle of Chöd, that of "feeding our demons" - or working in compassionate way with our neuroses, and created a practice that can be done by non-Buddhists. Although the practice presented here is not Buddhist in form, practitioners of the traditional Chöd forms may also find it interesting for the light it sheds on the key psychological processes that underpin traditional forms and the deep understanding of the practice that the author clearly has. Yes, it can be a bit "self-helpy" in places which may put off some more traditional Chöd practitioners, but bear with it, as there are some really interesting insights too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Good Book, 22 Nov 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Feeding Your Demons: Ancient Wisdom for Resolving Inner Conflict (Paperback)
[[ASIN:1848501730 Feeding Your Demons: Ancient Wisdom for Resolving Inner Conflict] Feeding the Demon is a wonderful book, I would recommend it for anyone who wants to resolve conflict and understand what life really all about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Self-help tool for getting rid of difficult emotions. Works!, 21 April 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Feeding Your Demons: Ancient Wisdom for Resolving Inner Conflict (Paperback)
We have a habit of making a 'self' out of whatever type of emotions we feel. Sometimes we are suffering from a mix of strange and difficult emotions and thoughts, related to many things, that we don't even remember anymore. This modernized and very easy to approach "chöd" practice is useful and definitely works. I tried it at least 10 times. Very mysterious, because of the images it brings up from the subconscious mind, when you ask your mind to personify the "demon". What one is left after completing the practice, is an empty, still mind with a positive attitude and a relaxed body. This is a self-help tool, and a very useful one too. It works! But don't start thinking that the "demons" here are real living entities outside your mind and body. All thoughts and emotions come from, and are related to You. They are like your employees. The mind is always seeking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Feeding Your Demons: Ancient Wisdom for Resolving Inner Conflict
Feeding Your Demons: Ancient Wisdom for Resolving Inner Conflict by Tsultrim Allione (Paperback - 2 Nov 2009)
9.09
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews