Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book could change your life and your thinking
This book has so many potentially life changing tools in it, but you really do need to be flexible in how you use it. It is not a self-help book just to be read, you really do need to read each of the exercises and put them into practise and then find the ones that you can relate to and then make them part of your daily or weekly routine.

I would say, stick...
Published on 12 Oct 2009 by Ms. Anne M. Thorn

versus
4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A mishmash of existing coaching tools
The "book" is a selection of her previous blogs added together,some of which work and others which seem not to fit with the overall theme.If you're brand new to coaching,you might find some of the techniques a useful start,otherwise all the material is already in existence and borrowed from other people.At least the author doesn't claim that her ideas are original...
Published on 7 Oct 2009 by Amazon Customer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book could change your life and your thinking, 12 Oct 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Big Peace: Find Yourself Without Going Anywhere (Paperback)
This book has so many potentially life changing tools in it, but you really do need to be flexible in how you use it. It is not a self-help book just to be read, you really do need to read each of the exercises and put them into practise and then find the ones that you can relate to and then make them part of your daily or weekly routine.

I would say, stick with it and it will transform your life on some level. To say it is a mish mash of existing tools is unfair as the author has gone to great lengths to research current thinking and find methods that when linked together can bring peace and contentment and initiate a change in thinking and behaviour that can have long lasting effect on inner contentment.

I have only been using the methods for a few weeks and can already see a change in my thinking and in my relationships. Just reading all the inspiring quotes alone can inspire you.

So my summary would be - this is a great book, but you have to apply the exercises, find the ones that work for you and stick with it. I would be very surprised to find anyone that had actually done this, that could then say that nothing in the book helped them find peace and contentment.

There is something in there that will resonate with everyone - you just have to dig a bit deeper to find it.

I highly recommend this book if you really want to find peace and contentment without making major life or personality changes.

The focus of this book is how to love yourself just the way you are, stop beating yourself up and learn how to love your inner pessimist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars On the Road to Finding Big Peace!, 25 Nov 2009
This review is from: The Big Peace: Find Yourself Without Going Anywhere (Paperback)
There are millions of self books out there but this book is fabulously thought provoking and dynamic! I am only half way through it but I am already so much more aware of my thoughts than before and subsequently the impact they have on my life. We all need a bit more Peace in our minds and our lives and this book is a great tool to enable us to do that. Clearly you have to apply the tips to make it work and I find that if I need to ponder on a tip for longer than a day I do. Lets face it if its making you stop and think thats a good thing in mid of the chaos- anything for a bit of Peace right? There is a lot of powerful stuff in there and lots to think about. Also really enjoyed and recommend Suzy Greaves first book The Big Leap.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My favourite book at bed time, 12 Oct 2009
By 
C. Rawlinson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Big Peace: Find Yourself Without Going Anywhere (Paperback)
This is the perfect book to dip in and out of anytime you feel out of balance. Unlike other self help books I've read, which have often left me feeling overwhelmed, I found the book's style of biteszie chunks totally managable. I also really enjoyed the collective wisdom of many gurus, writers, and poets which filled the books pages. Totally inspiring - I highly recommend this book, it's my favourite book at bedtime.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good for stress, 18 July 2014
By 
Mrs. E. Shonfeld "egirl" (Thames Ditton GB) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Big Peace: Find Yourself Without Going Anywhere (Paperback)
My daughter is finding this. Very useful in controlling stress. Borrowed it from library then bought it for her. Book is broken into sections and is very well written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A mishmash of existing coaching tools, 7 Oct 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Big Peace: Find Yourself Without Going Anywhere (Paperback)
The "book" is a selection of her previous blogs added together,some of which work and others which seem not to fit with the overall theme.If you're brand new to coaching,you might find some of the techniques a useful start,otherwise all the material is already in existence and borrowed from other people.At least the author doesn't claim that her ideas are original.
The other limiting factor is the old "90 day" programme formula where every day you are supposed to read a tip and implement it.In real life,it takes most of us much longer to reflect ,then implement then measure your progress.
Only invest in this if you are totally new to the field of coaching and self-development and treat it a beginner's guide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not so peaceful for everyone, 3 Oct 2009
By 
newtricks (united kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Big Peace: Find Yourself Without Going Anywhere (Paperback)
this book is ok but not the one for me. I was expecting more relaxing things from it. it appears and s supposed to be some sort of self help book? depends what your looking for I felt the title is misleading for the actual content of the book sorry not what I expected.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Big Peace: Find Yourself Without Going Anywhere
The Big Peace: Find Yourself Without Going Anywhere by Suzy Greaves (Paperback - 7 Sep 2009)
£6.35
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews