Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The power of less
I originally was looking for a different book in a local bookshop when I came across this and it really caught my eye. the author breaks down the art of being more organised into small steps so it doesn't feel so overwhelming which is my problem. I often struggle with procrastination but this book gives a helping hand in knowing where to start. A good read.
Published on 21 Dec 2009 by J. Ingram

versus
20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars LESS than I expected
With all the grand promises this book makes I was expecting something quite profound, but it basically comes down to a single bit of advice - if you want to achieve more, concentrate on one thing at a time. No, really - that's all it says. There is also some rather predictable advice on simplifying and eliminating the non-essential, personally I will start by eliminating...
Published on 21 May 2012 by john_m


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The power of less, 21 Dec 2009
By 
J. Ingram (Leicester, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Power of Less (Paperback)
I originally was looking for a different book in a local bookshop when I came across this and it really caught my eye. the author breaks down the art of being more organised into small steps so it doesn't feel so overwhelming which is my problem. I often struggle with procrastination but this book gives a helping hand in knowing where to start. A good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simple, clear and concise., 1 Feb 2010
By 
May Kasahara (Central London) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Power of Less (Paperback)
I really like this book, let's get this straight, this is not rocket science, it's all common sense advice that you've heard before but the fact that it's all in one place and communicated so simply is where the book adds value. Be warned, there are no magic solutions you will have to exercise some discipline to put the advice into practice.

The order and layout are very good and allow you to understand one concept before moving on to the next. It's written in very plain english - no buzzwords - which is also appealing. I've implemented some of the very practical advice and it's already working for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Before Buying, Check Out the Blog to See If You Need More Information, 27 Jan 2009
By 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 124,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Increasingly, popular bloggers turn their free online product into books and products that people need to buy. Unlike a blog, a book integrates individual ideas together better. If you seek that integrated approach, you may like this book better than the blog it is based on. But be sure you check out the blog first to see if you like Mr. Babauta's approach.

If you have read other books about simplifying life, you won't find anything here you haven't read before. But you probably won't find the ideas expressed as simply and briefly as here. That's the main advantage of The Power of Less over its competitors.

Most of the good books I've read on this subject didn't pay enough attention to dealing with the Internet, BlackBerry, and cell phone. I was pleased to see that Mr. Babauta paid lots of attention to keeping e-mails under control. However, he could have done more with reducing intrusions from your BlackBerry or your cell phone.

Mr. Baubauta is at his best when he is talking about breaking bad habits and building better ones. Conversely, he isn't an expert on many of the habit-making areas so his suggestions are at the modest end of what's possible.

As an example, a great way to get more done in less time and with less strain is to do tasks in ways that they serve many purposes while remaining a simple task. Here's an example: You might want to spend more time with your children, get lots of fix-up projects done at home, and learn some new skills. By picking the right fix-up project and organizing it to involve your children and some new learning, you can learn together and accomplish something that will endure and remind you of a good experience.

Aware of this limitation in the book, Mr. Babauta recommends that you seek out specialized information in the areas where you want to improve. I second that suggestion.

He also favors making lots of little improvements, focusing on one at a time, rather than making a breakthrough in one area and then not needing to change very much else. For instance, some entrepreneurs design business models that require only a few minutes a day of their time. As a result, they can have simple, stress-free lives in everything else they do. That seems like a better solution than simply getting a little bit better at a lot of things after months and years of reforming yourself.

As a result, this book is best for someone who wants to make a lot of little changes in many different areas, breaking lots of bad habits over time.

The book has one design quirk that bothered me. He addresses how to get work done in a simpler way before looking into looking into improving your personal life. When I teach people about simplification, I find that it works better to start with their values and goals for a whole life and simplify work and personal life at the same time in complementary ways.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, highly recommended, 16 Dec 2010
This review is from: The Power of Less (Paperback)
Brilliantly simple yet effective. Babauta takes his own advice with the book, his delivery is powerful yet easy to digest. The essence of his book boils down to two things: Firstly, identifying the essential; and secondly, eliminating the rest. Babauta bases his book on these two key points, and builds on them as the chapters go on, both in theory but more importantly in practical application. An easy read, this book is highly recommended to people of all ages, this extremely up to date book covers most areas of life, and would be appropriate for anyone from a 15 year-old student to a 50 year old caught up in the corporate rat race. The "Power of Less" is basically about making time for the things you love and cutting out the things that you don't. Read it today!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 35 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Life changing, 23 Nov 2009
By 
A customer (Asturias) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Power of Less (Paperback)
This is a simple and easy to read book on how simplifying your life can lead to more productivity, doing more things and being happier. This book provides the basics of time management.

How can do less can increase productivity?

There lies the rub .The book explains that concentrating in an important task and dealing with it until it is finish will free more time and resources for more tasks and so on.

There multiple tricks and tips on how to do thing more efficiently, namely e-mail and internet use, eating and exercise.

The book lives to its title and is short to the point, practical and easy to read.

If your life is a bit unorganized and would like to do more things or increase productivity this book will be very helpful.

4 1/2 stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars LESS than I expected, 21 May 2012
This review is from: The Power of Less (Paperback)
With all the grand promises this book makes I was expecting something quite profound, but it basically comes down to a single bit of advice - if you want to achieve more, concentrate on one thing at a time. No, really - that's all it says. There is also some rather predictable advice on simplifying and eliminating the non-essential, personally I will start by eliminating this book from my collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Top book ..., 10 April 2011
This review is from: The Power of Less (Paperback)
With the few exceptions of timeless classics such as Alan Lakein "How to Get Control of Your Time and Your Life", the vast majority of popular books on time management are what they are ... In my opinion, this one is different.
By reading diagonally others in bookstores, they remind me of those seminars in which there are still always some interesting ideas to integrate, but 80% of the rest of the content is of no value. And It is precisely what " The power of Less" it all about : a very interesting angle of approach of the famous Pareto 80/20 principle.

Unlike "methods" in vogue as GTD, ( which certainly have advantages too ) , Leo Babauta main idea does not consist on proposing tools to control the excess of constant task and information flows we are all trying to better manage.
Instead, he proposes to focus on reducing the flows at their bases. An as subtle as powerful difference. Of course, to focus on the tasks and information that make a real difference regarding our goal is not a new idea. But to reduce their number to minimalism seems to me to be a very pragmatic enrichment of the basic concept. Apart from this, this straight to the point book with an unpretentious style that contrasts with the content is a pleasure to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Useful reminder to keep things simple, 17 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Power of Less (Paperback)
A useful reminder to keep things simple. Easy to read and digest. Nothing earth-shattering but very useful as a refresher course in mental de-cluttering.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 19 July 2011
This review is from: The Power of Less (Paperback)
Such an accessible read, with practical tips you can easily put into place immediately. The whole book is full of common sense ideas, but sometimes we all get caught up in the rush of our lives, we forget to apply common sense! This book doesn't patronise the reader, it's been an inspiring read - one that I've recommended to several people in the last week.

If life is too full on, and you're losing yourself in everything you 'have' to do - this is the book for you.

Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars small book with big punch, 24 July 2010
By 
R. Vigor (Sheffield UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Power of Less (Paperback)
While it's possible to read this book in a short space of time I recommend reading it gradually, letting one section sink in before moving on to the next. The power of less applies to the book as well as the content - each sentence contains as much meaning and value as a page would in another book. You can apply the techniques in this book to any area of your life and gain positive change - by prioritising, relaxing and aiming to do less you end up doing more of what's important, more of what you want. I'd recommend this book to anyone who wants a more peaceful and more productive life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Power of Less
The Power of Less by Leo Babauta (Paperback - 6 July 2009)
£6.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews