Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars40
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 December 2009
I originally was looking for a different book in a local bookshop when I came across this and it really caught my eye. the author breaks down the art of being more organised into small steps so it doesn't feel so overwhelming which is my problem. I often struggle with procrastination but this book gives a helping hand in knowing where to start. A good read.
0Comment|26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2010
I really like this book, let's get this straight, this is not rocket science, it's all common sense advice that you've heard before but the fact that it's all in one place and communicated so simply is where the book adds value. Be warned, there are no magic solutions you will have to exercise some discipline to put the advice into practice.

The order and layout are very good and allow you to understand one concept before moving on to the next. It's written in very plain english - no buzzwords - which is also appealing. I've implemented some of the very practical advice and it's already working for me.
0Comment|31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Increasingly, popular bloggers turn their free online product into books and products that people need to buy. Unlike a blog, a book integrates individual ideas together better. If you seek that integrated approach, you may like this book better than the blog it is based on. But be sure you check out the blog first to see if you like Mr. Babauta's approach.

If you have read other books about simplifying life, you won't find anything here you haven't read before. But you probably won't find the ideas expressed as simply and briefly as here. That's the main advantage of The Power of Less over its competitors.

Most of the good books I've read on this subject didn't pay enough attention to dealing with the Internet, BlackBerry, and cell phone. I was pleased to see that Mr. Babauta paid lots of attention to keeping e-mails under control. However, he could have done more with reducing intrusions from your BlackBerry or your cell phone.

Mr. Baubauta is at his best when he is talking about breaking bad habits and building better ones. Conversely, he isn't an expert on many of the habit-making areas so his suggestions are at the modest end of what's possible.

As an example, a great way to get more done in less time and with less strain is to do tasks in ways that they serve many purposes while remaining a simple task. Here's an example: You might want to spend more time with your children, get lots of fix-up projects done at home, and learn some new skills. By picking the right fix-up project and organizing it to involve your children and some new learning, you can learn together and accomplish something that will endure and remind you of a good experience.

Aware of this limitation in the book, Mr. Babauta recommends that you seek out specialized information in the areas where you want to improve. I second that suggestion.

He also favors making lots of little improvements, focusing on one at a time, rather than making a breakthrough in one area and then not needing to change very much else. For instance, some entrepreneurs design business models that require only a few minutes a day of their time. As a result, they can have simple, stress-free lives in everything else they do. That seems like a better solution than simply getting a little bit better at a lot of things after months and years of reforming yourself.

As a result, this book is best for someone who wants to make a lot of little changes in many different areas, breaking lots of bad habits over time.

The book has one design quirk that bothered me. He addresses how to get work done in a simpler way before looking into looking into improving your personal life. When I teach people about simplification, I find that it works better to start with their values and goals for a whole life and simplify work and personal life at the same time in complementary ways.
0Comment|35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2011
With the few exceptions of timeless classics such as Alan Lakein "How to Get Control of Your Time and Your Life", the vast majority of popular books on time management are what they are ... In my opinion, this one is different.
By reading diagonally others in bookstores, they remind me of those seminars in which there are still always some interesting ideas to integrate, but 80% of the rest of the content is of no value. And It is precisely what " The power of Less" it all about : a very interesting angle of approach of the famous Pareto 80/20 principle.

Unlike "methods" in vogue as GTD, ( which certainly have advantages too ) , Leo Babauta main idea does not consist on proposing tools to control the excess of constant task and information flows we are all trying to better manage.
Instead, he proposes to focus on reducing the flows at their bases. An as subtle as powerful difference. Of course, to focus on the tasks and information that make a real difference regarding our goal is not a new idea. But to reduce their number to minimalism seems to me to be a very pragmatic enrichment of the basic concept. Apart from this, this straight to the point book with an unpretentious style that contrasts with the content is a pleasure to read.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 23 November 2009
This is a simple and easy to read book on how simplifying your life can lead to more productivity, doing more things and being happier. This book provides the basics of time management.

How can do less can increase productivity?

There lies the rub .The book explains that concentrating in an important task and dealing with it until it is finish will free more time and resources for more tasks and so on.

There multiple tricks and tips on how to do thing more efficiently, namely e-mail and internet use, eating and exercise.

The book lives to its title and is short to the point, practical and easy to read.

If your life is a bit unorganized and would like to do more things or increase productivity this book will be very helpful.

4 1/2 stars
22 comments|32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2012
With all the grand promises this book makes I was expecting something quite profound, but it basically comes down to a single bit of advice - if you want to achieve more, concentrate on one thing at a time. No, really - that's all it says. There is also some rather predictable advice on simplifying and eliminating the non-essential, personally I will start by eliminating this book from my collection.
22 comments|21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 December 2010
Brilliantly simple yet effective. Babauta takes his own advice with the book, his delivery is powerful yet easy to digest. The essence of his book boils down to two things: Firstly, identifying the essential; and secondly, eliminating the rest. Babauta bases his book on these two key points, and builds on them as the chapters go on, both in theory but more importantly in practical application. An easy read, this book is highly recommended to people of all ages, this extremely up to date book covers most areas of life, and would be appropriate for anyone from a 15 year-old student to a 50 year old caught up in the corporate rat race. The "Power of Less" is basically about making time for the things you love and cutting out the things that you don't. Read it today!
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 July 2010
While it's possible to read this book in a short space of time I recommend reading it gradually, letting one section sink in before moving on to the next. The power of less applies to the book as well as the content - each sentence contains as much meaning and value as a page would in another book. You can apply the techniques in this book to any area of your life and gain positive change - by prioritising, relaxing and aiming to do less you end up doing more of what's important, more of what you want. I'd recommend this book to anyone who wants a more peaceful and more productive life.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2011
Such an accessible read, with practical tips you can easily put into place immediately. The whole book is full of common sense ideas, but sometimes we all get caught up in the rush of our lives, we forget to apply common sense! This book doesn't patronise the reader, it's been an inspiring read - one that I've recommended to several people in the last week.

If life is too full on, and you're losing yourself in everything you 'have' to do - this is the book for you.

Enjoy!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 26 November 2009
This is a simple ,easy to read book on how simplifing your life can lead to more productivity ,doing more things and being happier. This book provides the basics of time management.

How can do less can increase productivity ?

There lies the rub .The book explains that concentrating in an important task and dealing with it until it is finish will free more time and resources for more tasks and so on .

There multiple tricks and tips on how to do thing more efficiently , namely e-mail and internet use ,eating and exercise .

The book lives to its title and is short ,to the point ,practical and easy to read.

If your life is a bit unorganized and would like to do more things or increase productivity this book will be very helpful.

4 1/2 stars
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)